Slightly Savory Saturday


P1150153I am longing for a bit of summer today so I am sharing one of my all time favorite summer salads.  This is one that I make all year long and absolutely LOVE!   So if you are longing for some warmth and sun today why don’t you try my take on a fabulous salad.

Tomato, Olive and Mozzarella Salad

1 can black olives (I use a large can, drain the olives and slice in half)

3 cups cherry tomatoes (This is usually about one clamshell container.  I like to mix it up if they have the yellow ones available)

1 cup fresh mozzarella ( Try to find the “pearls” as they are perfect in this.  If not available any mozzarella cut into small pieces will work)

1/2 cup Newman’s Own Olive Oil and Vinegar Dressing

1/2 cup fresh basil leaves (chopped or torn)

salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

Slice olives and cherry tomatoes in half and place in a medium size bowl.  Add mozzarella pearls and chopped basil leaves to the olives and tomatoes.   Toss lightly with the salad dressing, salt and pepper to taste and garnish with a bit of fresh basil.  YUMMY!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Comments

  1. Yummers ~ thanks for sharing!

  2. hilaryfeelingbeachie says:

    Looks delicious!

  3. Oh yeah!!!!! We all are dreaming of warmer temps this morning.. 😀 That looks summer fantastic!

  4. I want summer… and this salad!

  5. What an easy peasy recipe. And it really does sound, and look, delicious. I’ve had similar, but maybe with pasta included. Does that seem right?

    • Yep— have seen something similar with pasta in it but this is soooo easy and so yummy. My go to salad all the time when the tomatoes are in season.

  6. That does scream summer!

  7. Amy Prentice says:

    Love fresh mozzarella salads…..thanks for sharing Beth Ann….summers coming!!!

  8. I make a very similar salad throughout the year – I omit the olives and use balsamic vinegar and olive oil instead – basically a caprese salad and sometimes I even add it on top of lettuce. It is so refreshing and summery and I think, I will make some for dinner tonight!!! Thanks for the ides. 🙂

    • Yours sounds wonderful on top of greens. I love caprese salad in any shape or form and have it all the time where we eat out. Never get tired of those flavors.

  9. A great salad suggestion. Add a tin of drained chick peas and you’ve got a meal! I will be making this one.

  10. I suddenly find myself drooling…lol

  11. Looks really fresh and yummy!

  12. I do one pretty much exactly like this — the best summer salad. Love it with some bbq chicken and corn on the cob.
    Oh my gosh….hurry up summer! 🙂

  13. It sounds good to me. I will try it sometime and I am sure I will like it.

  14. So easy and delicious. This is right up my alley. Have you ever tried feta cheese instead of the mozzarella? I think that would be good also.

    • Unfortunately I despise feta cheese. I know, I know….how can I despise it? Well, I do. But yes—i am sure it would be great if you were a feta cheese lover. 🙂

  15. This sounds delicious, I like both, black and green olives which I believe could be substituted or just added for taste and color, if you get the larger pitted ones.. Thanks for sharing Beth Ann.

  16. This sounds really good. Especialy since we have been dining on so much fast food as of late! I am going to give it a try!

  17. Looks delicious except for olives – can’t stand them black or green, woof!

Trackbacks

  1. […] haven’t shared a recipe in a while and this one comes thanks to my friend Beth Ann at It’s Just Life, who gave me the idea to make my super easy but super delicious Caprese Salad this past weekend. In […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!