Be The Ripple


betherippleRecently I gave a little presentation at our local Social Media Breakfast entitled Be The Ripple.  I shared with the group some of the great things that have happened to me over the years through having my blog and how fabulous it has been to be a part of this big world that becomes smaller when you have access to social media and the internet.  The basic theme of my talk that morning was that we can all start a ripple of our own in a variety of ways.

I never have sought fortune and fame or even have a desire to make millions off of having a blog.  (And you know there are some who do make a lot of money blogging!) What I do here on It’s Just Life is really pretty selfish.  It is for me.  The joy that I have when I write and share little bits and pieces of my life with my readers is beyond measure.  To know that someone actually is interested enough to click on my blog and read it at all is all the praise I need.

I am truly amazed at the reactions of some of my readers and am humbled each time someone comes my way and clicks on “subscribe to posts” or takes the time to leave a comment .  I know how busy everyone is and to have people that follow me so consistently is truly a blessing. So thank you. From the bottom of my heart.

Today I wanted to let you know that I am happy that my blog has started and is making some ripples.  It is a gift to be able to share our Comments for a Cause with others and to see how a little comment can start a ripple to make a donation to a charity. But it is not just about me—it is about YOU.  Each of you has the ability to make ripples in your own way and I challenge you to do that.  It may not be doing a Comments for a Cause but something else that is uniquely your way of contributing to the world.  How wonderful is it that we are all so different but can still have an incredible impact on the world with small actions –a little ripple that reaches out.

This month not only am I supporting Movember Foundation I am part of a great group of North Iowa Bloggers that is doing a food drive this month for our local food pantries.  I would love to solicit your help in making this a huge success.  If you would like to donate please contact me either by leaving a comment or emailing me directly at beth.chiles@gmail.com.   I would totally take your money and get some goodies to donate.  Every little donation is appreciated and welcomed–even if it is only $1.  It all goes to help those who really could use some help and some healthy food.

Food bank donation

 

We have all been blessed with so much.  It’s time to make that tiny ripple a bigger ripple.  Tell me how you plan to start your own ripple in your community today in the comments.  I would love to hear how YOU are making a difference where you live!

 

 

Comments

  1. I had never thought about it, but I completely agree with your thoughts about my blog being for me….it’s never crossed my mind to use it for profit. And I love how we are so connected to our readers.
    You are such an inspiration for us to make changes in our world!

    • Thanks, Dianna. For me it is just a nice way to document, be creative and reach out . I have made some amazing friends because of my blog (you included) and am thrilled that I can do this here. It makes the big world smaller somehow!

  2. I’m excited about all of your ripples:)

  3. First, you are not selfish. You are one of the most caring and compassionate women I know. Make that “people” I know. You write from a faith-filled heart with sincerity and depth and with a great love of this life. I am beyond blessed to be your friend.

    This whole concept of ripples is a good one. I try to make a difference in others’ lives via my writing. I try, always, to be a good listener.

    Just this past weekend my bible study group decorated the angel tree at our church for a Christmas gift project we are undertaking for those in need.

  4. I agree with jenieats.. I am excited about your ripples and love reading about them!

  5. I love your heart! It is so big and wonderful! *hugs*

  6. Thank you for stirring the waters of kindness and encouraging all of your followers to become the ripple. Kindness and compassion are inherent in all of us but it is efforts like yours that reach into our souls and command our attention. So blessed to have gotten to know you and for sharing be the ripple with me and everyone else.

  7. Happy to be caught up in your ripples. 😀

  8. You are right about the ripples. We each make a difference. We’re donating to our local food bank tonight because Ford is matching v.s. waiting till the end of the year when we usually get around to it.

  9. What a difference each of us can make in someone’s life; I have so enjoyed reading your blog and getting to know you and others up north! We have our “Food for Families” this week here in central Texas. Our HEB sponsors it this time every year and it totally amazes me how much food is collected for all the pantrys in central Texas. Plus we have our Ronald McDonald House that is in need of help, so I plan to help them too. Every little bit when put all together creates a whole lot! Thanks Beth Ann for your efforts too!

  10. My sentiments, exactly. I treasure all the friends I’ve made through blogging. Our church has a food pantry and clothing closet we donate to, we hope to fill 100 baskets for needy families for Thanksgiving, another lady is putting together baskets for the shut-ins who can’t get to church, angel tree for missionaries–so many opportunities for outreach, to make a ripple.

  11. I echo your words about why you blog — that’s exactly why I do it too — and about being the ripple. That’s why we do what we do. 🙂

  12. I so love your perspective, life outlook and loving heart!! We are truly blessed to come here and share in your journey!

  13. Love the rippling. 🙂

  14. A comment is the best I can do at the moment, so I am commenting away! This year I have been doing a lot of purging & the Good Will Society has been the recipient of linens, clothes, books & assorted furniture.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

