Teapot Tuesday—Brown with a Case of Splotches


Thrift shops are often a great place to shop for a variety of bargains. I have to admit I have purchased my fair share of teapots in thrift shops and found some fabulous finds.  The teapot featured today came from Affordables here in Mason City.  You might remember that NIVC was one of my Comments for a Cause recipients not too many months ago and they run two Affordables stores here in Mason City.  I am always pleasantly surprised when I find a great buy and can help places like this all in the same transaction.

This one caught my eye because it was different.  It is a small one with no clear markings on it which makes me think it might be a handmade one and not mass produced.  It has a undercoat of brown paint and then raised splotches of white and tan paint scattered throughout the teapot.  I love the unusual and random pattern and would like to think that someone had a great time when they created this little gem.  1

2

World-peace conferences would run more smoothly if a nice cup of tea, or indeed, a samovar, were available at the proper time.   Marlene Dietrich

 

Comments

  1. Honestly Beth Ann, I’m amazed at your collection and just wonder where you keep them all! Your cupboards and closets must be overflowing with teapots. On a whim…just how many of them have you actually used?? Love this little brown pot; reminds me of White baby’s breath blooms!

  2. I like this little teapot too.. it has a Fall-ish feel to it!

  3. I can see why you love this sweet little original teapot.

    Thrift stores have been a great source of original and affordable art for me. I love thrifting.

  4. Helen Brown says:

    I think your little teapot is so pretty .

  5. Thanks for supporting Affordables and NIVC. They really do wonderful work in North Iowa. We are indeed fortunate to have such a locally based service provider? You can also support them by occasionally having coffee at the library too.

  6. Oh, I’ve found some pretty amazing ‘finds’ in thrift shops too. This teapot sure is unique!

  7. I like the uniqueness of this one!! It has a kinda Asian inspired feel perhaps? I could totally brew some green tea and sit in the garden and write some haiku’s. 🙂

  8. How sweet!

  9. This one is so pretty. I haven’t been to affordables yet.

  10. I like it. 🙂

  11. It’s like a Jackson Pollack teapot.

  12. Love the quote. Cute little pot. I’m trying to be a better thrifter. Looking through stuff is a challenge for me. I keep waiting for a sales lady to offer to bring me another size.

  13. This teapot reminds me of a science project I had to do once where I was growing mould, sorry to say.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

