It’s Fall in North Iowa, Y’all!


fallcollageI am giving in and just saying it—it’s fall.  It really is. I have been trying to live in denial but as I type this today it is totally fall weather outside.  The pictures above show my fabulous mums and pumpkins (and notice that adorable pumpkin holder!) that I got at a local small family business–Anderson’s.  Their selection was fabulous and I loved being able to support a nice local small town business.  When the mums start really opening they are going to be amazing.P1030609

Speaking of fall–this past Sunday some of the North Iowa bloggers (no—we don’t need any excuse to get together because we just love being with each other!) went on a fabulous Fresh on the Farm Franklin County Farm Crawl.  It included 3 places:  Enchanted Acres, Carlson Tree Farm and Koenig’s Acres. All three places had fabulous things to share with visitors and I am so impressed with what Franklin County, Iowa does. Of course I had to do a little collage of my day.Farm Crawl Collage

Who doesn’t love turkey, goats and chickens???    There was so much to see at each place it was hard to take it all in at times but we did our best. There were yummy foods to sample, wines to taste and vegetables, fruits, jams, flour and meat all for sale.  All in all I would say it was the perfect day with the exception of those pesky biting minuscule pirate bugs.  I don’t know who invited them but I wish they had not RSVP’ed.

When I got home I spread out some of the spoils of the day and thought you would like to see some of the great items that were for sale at the various places.

The overview:

d

Some unique and tasty jellies from Amazing Grace Milk Shoppe

c

Pumpkin Butter and some tasty dips from Enchanted Acres

bSome amazing locally grown, harvested and milled whole wheat flour from Cathy’s Country Cook’n

aThis weekend I am going to be part of the Franklin County 3rd Annual Harvest Bloggers Tour.  I am dragging Mr. Diamond along. (If you are new to the blog and don’t know who Mr. Diamond is click here)  I am so excited to be a part of this and can not wait to see what this great county has to show us this weekend.

 It is sponsored jointly by the Franklin County Farm Bureau and Franklin County Tourism (@HamptonIowa1). The weekend will include staying at Country Heritage B& B, tours of various facilities including Latham Hi-Tech Seeds, Reeve Electric Association Plant,Franklin County Historical Museum, an evening at Windsor Theater and much, much more.  Did I mention COMBINE RIDES?????  Yes!  That in and of itself is enough to make me giddy!!!

Next week I will be highlighting Franklin County, Iowa in my posts and am excited to be able to share with you all that I am going to encounter this weekend.  The added bonus is that Jeni of Jeni Eats and Donna of DonnaHup.com will be there as well so our North Iowa Bloggers group will be well represented as well as having the opportunity to meet some other bloggers.

So tune in next week and share all things Franklin County with me.  Thank you to this great county for sponsoring this and providing me with a lot of blogworthy posts!

Bonus Pictures

Picture by Jennifer Flaa

Picture by Jennifer Flaa

One of the many goats at Enchanted Acres

One of the many goats at Enchanted Acres

So you need a pumpkin?  Enchanted Acres can direct you to the perfect one!

So you need a pumpkin or gourd? Enchanted Acres can direct you to the perfect one!

Shannon Latham loves her chickens from Hoover's Hatchery (Oh  yes--I still need to do a post on THAT trip!)

Shannon Latham loves her chickens from Hoover’s Hatchery (Oh yes–I still need to do a post on THAT trip!)

Bruschetta at Carlson Tree farm made by some great young ladies!

Bruschetta at Carlson Tree farm made by some great young ladies!

More pumpkins and gourds for sale at Koenig's Acres

More pumpkins and gourds for sale at Koenig’s Acres

Comments

  1. And it looks like a fun time was had by all! The weather looked perfect, too! You all have fun there in Iowa, I must say.

  2. Awesome! Love all that is going on in this post. Can’t wait to hear more about that Farm Bureau adventure!!

    • Thanks, Marla—it is going to be so much fun. Hopefully Mr. Diamond will not get too bored with my blogger activities. I suspect he is going to love most of it, too.

  3. Looks like a great time! You captured some great photos too. Fall is my happy place. 🙂

  4. My favorites are the last photo of the pumpkins — so fancy! — and the pumpkin butter. I’m really in the mood this morning myself. We had a front roll through last night, and it’s still humid, but cool enough to open windows. At last! Maybe it will stick a bit this time.

    • Thanks! I hope to be able to get a lot of fun pictures this weekend to share next week. It has definitely taken a cold turn here the past couple of days.

  5. I can’t stop myself from singin’. “Green Acres is the place to be, farm livin’ is the life for me…”
    And now I’ll be stuck with that in my head for the entire day.. Thanks a lot Beth Ann! lol

  6. I love Fall, the looks, the smells, the colors, the crisp air!!!
    However, we are having unusually hot weather this week. Today is suppose to be 95F ;0
    So I love and envy this blog post!!!! Thanks for sharing 😉

    • I will happily share all of my fall with you, Kim. 🙂 It is supposed to warm up a bit next week but it is cold, cold, cold today and windy and maybe even some snow flakes tonight. I am not ready.

  7. Love this post, this tour, everything you shared (well, maybe not the chickens). Have a wondeful weekend with Mr. Diamond. Sounds like lots of fun tours and activities planned.

    • I even liked the chickens, Audrey! It was pretty neat to see that these babies came from Hoover’s Hatchery (that I have yet to write about) and see how fast they grow out of the chick phase. Thanks for the well wishes—I think it will be great but the weather in Texas has caused major issues at his plants so…….I suspect lots of phone time ahead. 🙂

  8. We’re a little bit behind you in getting to Fall, Beth Ann, but it’s coming. I’m one who happens to LOVE Fall, so I can hardly wait! Looks like a great time and a great haul, too!

  9. That sounds like so much fun! Can’t wait to “read all about it”!

  10. Wow you have such fun. I love your pics. 🙂

  11. Beth Ann I swear you do the most fun things!!! Love ALL the pictures!!

  12. I’m so glad you found some of our county’s. We all think it’s a pretty great place!

  13. Do I spy an owl teapot?? Looks like a fun day.

  14. I love the green and orange pumpkins!

  15. the leaves are now changing, so no use trying to deny it anymore! It’s a beautiful wash of colours though – can’t wait to get out with my camera. and get to the pumpkin patch!! one of my favourite Fall things to do.
    That’s a lot of chickens! brings back egg gathering memories. 🙂

    • There are so many wonderful things about fall—–I just wish it would last longer at times. Seems like we almost go from summer to winter sometimes.

  16. There’s one thing I love about fall–all the gorgeous food! I think I’m reading your posts out of order–ha! Oh, well. 🙂 Nice collage! Love the little chickens, too.

  17. Looks like you had a great time!

  18. Love your fall decorations! Anderson’s is a local favorite of mine, too!

  19. Fall my favorite time of year and it is rolling in gloriously. I want that goat with the floppy ears and horns. Please send him to me.

Trackbacks

  1. […] we traveled to Carlson Tree Farm in Hampton.  I had visited here the week before as part of the Franklin County Farm Crawl.  This lovely place is owned by Dennis and Cathy Carlson and not only does it boast a pretty […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

