Summertime and the Living is Easy


shareasimage-4Summer is in full swing.  Vacation.  Lemonade. Sunny skies.  It’s all good, isn’t it?

What are your favorite things about summer?

Some of mine are:

  • Beautiful sunrises and sunsets.  They just seem magnified in the summer for me.  The longer days allow me to enjoy them just a little bit longer.
  • Farmer’s Markets.  In a word—yum.  So much variety and so much freshness.
  • Freshly mown grass.   I love the smell.  I love the look.  I love the lawn maintenance service that magically makes it happen.
  • A good book.  Reading in summertime is a million times better than any other time of the year.
  • Ice cream.  It’s good anytime but in summertime it is a billion times better.
  • Vacations.  Even if it is a “staycation” it is wonderful to be able to kick back and be out of the normal routine.
  • Grilling out—and letting the hubby do the cooking.  🙂
  • Fresh Iowa corn
  • Picnics
  • Iced Tea
  • Driving with the windows open and not worrying about how messed up the hair gets.
  • Eating outside (bugs not invited)
  • Hearing the ice cream truck coming through the neighborhood and racing to get change to see if you can meet it in time.
  • Flip flops in all the amazing colors and styles.
  • Flowers –daisies, black eyed susans, impatiens, geraniums—they all add color and beauty to the landscape.
  • Lightening bugs
  • Fair food—anything on a stick.
  • Summer pj’s
  • Tiki torches
  • Firepits and making s’mores.
  • Festivals and parades .
  • Sunshine
  • Bare feet on the grass.
  • The scent of suntan lotion.
  • Summer concerts held outdoors.
  • Eating alfresco at restaurants.
  • Being able to be spontaneous.
  • Summer clothes that are cute.

What about you?  What’s on your list of favorite things of summer????

Comments

  1. Virginia Pillsbury says:

    I LOVE summer! It is my favorite time of year. Well, then when Thanksgiving comes I think that is my favorite.
    I love the more relaxed atmosphere because it is summer.
    I love reading by the pool.
    I love walking on the beach.
    When my kids were young I loved watching old sitcoms on Nick at Night with them – that is where they learned to love The Brady Bunch, I Dream of Jeannie and I Love Lucy!
    I love going on a summer road trip.
    I loved being a summer mom – enjoyed every moment of having my children out of school and the relaxed schedule. I was never ready for school to start back again.
    I love the smell of the original Coppertone!
    Thanks Beth Ann for this moment of remembering!

    • Aw—I can identify with ALL of those especially being a summer mom and not wanting the kids to go back to school! There is nothing like the non routine that I found myself in in summertime ! Loved that feeling of no schedules! Love you!

  2. My additional favs are golfing (no carts allowed) and eating vegetables from my community garden.

    • Ah–those are perfect ones! I knew folks would add to this list and make it even better! Thanks so much for stopping by and joining in the fun!

  3. Cindy Keller says:

    I agree with all of yours, and want to add county fairs! I love a good county fair. Fair food, the entertainment, walking through livestock barns, the lights and screams of delight coming from the midway. Wouldn’t be summer without it.

  4. Beth Ann I think you pretty well covered it.. 🙂 Definitely grilling and all the summer FOOD and sipping wine under the oaks with friends and/or family. And the BIRDS! AND the summer days get me that much closer to my favorite time of year… FALL! CH loves summer because he hates long pants and all the layers you have to wear in winter, he lives in shorts and sandals well into November!

  5. Fried pumpkin blossoms. 🙂
    Listening to summer nights … cicadas, frogs, birds settling in with a few last songs.

  6. Lightning bugs are the best!!! I get so much joy from watching them flit around outside. And where’s that ice cream truck? I’ve yet to see one go by so far. . .

    • I think that lightening bugs are the best, too. 🙂 I haven’t heard the ice cream truck this week yet but last week he went through. Keep listening!

  7. I have many favorite parts, but on the top of my list would be beach weather, sound of children outside laughing and lightning bugs!

  8. This is a great list. I just love summertime too. I would add, spending time with grandchildren, going for walks on the beach and more reading!

  9. You’ve listed so many of the best things of summer. I love the smell of freshly-mown alfalfa.

  10. I love the colors of all the flowers that are now in bloom and watching my tomatos and cucumbers getting bigger. I also look forward to when they are ripe and ready to be eaten.

  11. What a nice comprehensive list, Beth Ann! I think you’ve totally captured the essence of summertime. I love not having to wrestle into and out of a coat every time I need to walk the dog. I love the smell outside after a good rain (though I hate mud puddles and soggy doggy fur!)

  12. The longer days for sure only our daylight actually lasts until almost midnight here, so around 10 or so we have to draw the dark curtains to help get our bodies tired.

  13. Love, love, love your list! So many things on yours would also be on mine! I just like not having to wear coats and hats and gloves and scarves…..and going barefoot anywhere that I possibly can!

  14. I was thinking of lightening bugs too! I saw a few yesterday when I was out at dusk. They really mean summer to me. I also love when the farmers market opens a few blocks from my house. An abundance of delicious produce!

  15. I caught a lightning bug in a jar while we were camping and brought it into the tent to wake up the kids so they could see it. It was so amazing — that little bugs’ butt lit up the whole tent in this beautiful green colour. they loved it. was totally worth chasing the darn thing through the forest at almost midnight! LOL
    I blame it on indulging in way too much ice cream while camping.
    I think I agree with everything on your list.

  16. What I’d give for a funnel cake right now!

  17. I always loved the first day I could wear a new pair of sandals to work. I love flip flops too, but most work places don’t allow them if you have to wear business casual. I also love sun tea, you get a big glass jar with a lid, fill it full of cold water & about 10 tea bags, let it steep in the sun for the afternoon (or until it’s the color you desire). Add a bit of sweetener, a splash of lemon & serve over a glass full of ice!

    • We used to make sun tea all the time growing up but I have gotten out of the habit of making it ever since I got one of those iced tea makers. My grandma made THE best iced tea ever. I can never seem to duplicate hers.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

