First Day Nerves


shareasimage-3Remember that first day of school?

Remember the first time you had to speak in front of the class?

How about your first date?

Or the first day on the very first job?

Today I am feeling some of those butterfly in the stomach emotions.

But not for me.

Mr. Diamond starts a new job today.  After 5 months of being together almost every single day we are now geographically separated. He’s in Texas. I’m in Iowa.  It’s a good thing.  Work is a very good thing.  A new job is really a very good thing.

But I have to be honest—-the separation thing—not such a good thing. We have done it before. We have made it work.  We have done what we needed to do.  And we will this time.

I am grateful for great opportunities.  I am grateful for a husband who has the drive and the integrity to put 150% into a new job.  I am grateful for new places to explore.  I am grateful for everyone who has supported us with prayers and good wishes.

My husband is in one word–amazing.  He has always supported me in all of my endeavors and continues to be my biggest cheerleader–especially when it comes to this blog.  He supports me in all ways.

Now it is my turn to support him.  From afar at times but always.  If you think about it today please send some prayers or good wishes his way—-first days are always nerve wracking even for the most self confident and self assured folks.

I am so proud of him. He is an amazing man. He is the real deal.

Comments

  1. I will keep both of you in my thoughts! I can only imagine how hard it is to be so far….

  2. Thinking of you both, Beth Ann. I hope it all works out well for you.

    • Thanks so much! I really appreciate the good thoughts—he has always worked so hard to provide a great life for me and he is really good at his job so it should be a wonderful new adventure!

  3. Patricia says:

    Best wishes for a best first day! And prayers for a wonderful day for you both! Every job I jump in is like a first day (walking into the unknown) so a lot of the time I feel like I get paid well for having the nerve to get myself there!

    • Thanks so much! I can imagine in your line of work that each job is a brand new one but you are doing such great work and having your own adventure, right?? 🙂

      • Patricia says:

        Definitely. Like a roller coaster ride! Guess ya gotta have it in your blood to love the wild days. Because I have days I just wanna quit then after a couple days of no work, I’m just thinking about going back, weird!

  4. May the first day of this new job bring you both even closer together in heart, mind and spirit!

  5. From reading your comments above … does this mean you will also move? Pig-farmer travels a lot for work. Sometimes that has its advantages (lol) but for the most part, I wish it weren’t that way. Good luck to you and Mr. Diamond! Keep us posted!

    • We have a house to sell here in Iowa and once that happens we will make the move permanent. It is going to take a while to sell but when the right buyers come along it will happen. Chris traveled every week the last half of last year bur was home on the weekends. With this latest job we will probably see each other every two weeks or so….gotta make it count, right? Thanks for you sweet words always and encouragement!

  6. Texas, hmmm? DH and I were just talking that next winter might be the perfect time for us to explore that state (we already have friends living near Corpus Christi). Keep in touch for sure!!!! Glad to hear of this new adventure…………………….

  7. Been thinking of both of you. And prayers are coming from me for both of you. Know it isn’t easy but you two will handle it well because you guys have a wonderful attitude and a great sense of humor. Good luck to Mr. Diamond and he is going to have a great first day, I can just feel it!

    • Thanks, Pix!!! I know he is going to rock this job! We had such a great weekend exploring our new area and seeing what all there is around there and people are soooo nice! Good ole’Southern hospitality.

  8. Well, as one who was raised in Iowa and eventually made the move to Texas, I’ve nothing but good things to say about it. It’s a terrifically friendly and interesting state — and no income tax!
    Best wishes as you work your way through all the complexities.

    • Thank you! Something we have in common!!! 🙂 That was the one thing I commented on after my weekend there was that folks were so friendly and nice and I have missed that southern hospitality. I know it will be a great move. Thanks for your best wishes!

  9. Lots of luck to Mr. Diamond and to you. Bet you are more nervous than he is! That’s how it usually goes with me. Xoxo

  10. I hope he has a great first week! You have weathered a lot of changes together.

  11. Becky Miracle says:

    Lifting you both up in prayer! I know Chris will do GREAT! Lots of adventures on the way for you guys, but you always handle it with such grace. I will be watching from afar and anxious to read all about it! Love you both!

    • Thanks, Becky! It is going to be great—I can feel it in my bones. My first trip there to the area showed me what kind people there are there. 🙂

  12. We have moved many times too and I always think of it as starting a new chapter!!! I think you will enjoy the winter better in Texas my friend!!! I hate the separation part and truly understand what you are going through! Prayers and Hugs today………and here’s to your next adventure!!!

    • You get it, Amy!!! I know you have been through this many times just like us. It is all part of the corporate world and we have been blessed by living in so many different places and meeting great folks like you! Thanks for the support!

  13. Virginia Pillsbury says:

    Amen. Blessings to you both – you make a great, wonderful, fabulous team!

  14. Best wishes to both of you on your new adventure..

  15. Keeping both you and Chris close in thought and prayer today! So happy for you and Chris and your new adventure. Love you.

  16. I can identify. When Bill began trucking three years ago, it was a huge endeavour. After 32+ years in manufacturing, he totally had to reinvent himself, and he did. Yes, I have always suppirted him, and him me. Always. All the best to you two.

    • Thanks so much, McGuffy Ann! I know a lot of people go though similar things and come out just fine on the other side. I have no doubt that we are no different from millions of others. But I do miss him when he is not with me so that is what I am going to have to work hard on. Any tips????

      • The main thing to stay connected: text, email, and of course, phone. Make surprises for when you get together, but try to keep things as “normal” as possible. You stay busy, so that helps, too. Hugs.

  17. Oh boy we’ve been there with the distance thing too. It’s not easy. I truly wish you both all the very best. 🙂

  18. Aw….I know he’s been on your mind all day! Hoping that he had a terrific first day on the job. And I have a feeling you’re his biggest cheerleader in return. My niece lives in Texas – not far from Houston.

  19. Oh, Beth Ann, I know this is a tough day for you. I am continuing to hold you and Chris in prayer and thoughts. Always.

    He is exactly as you say, “the real deal.”

    Many hugs.

  20. That distance thing would be hard to deal with; I sure wouldn’t like to be in that situation. Gerard and I have only spent 4 nights apart since we’ve been married. I helped with a overnight retreat for Pioneer Girls at church twice; even then I got homesick!

    • Oh my! You would not adjust well to our lifestyle at all, Karen! We have had quite a few geographical separations because of the job but it makes homecoming all that sweeter!!!

  21. I know you two will be just fine in Texas as you have moved many times and you two just seem to move in and enjoy where you are. You know you and Chris are always in my prayers. I am very thankful that my daughter and husband are a happy couple.

  22. Congratulations Mr. Diamond on your new job. He does sound amazing and you two make such a great team. I know you will manage this separation. Sending loving thoughts your way. Will you eventually move to Texas?

  23. Good Luck Mr Diamond! Don’t eat the paste and you’ll be just fine. Beth Ann you’ll hardly have time to miss him you have a lot of tea pots to pack! :-D. Count me in as part of your cheering section. OX

  24. We are going to miss you here in North Iowa, but we do know we will stay connected! You sound like a pro when it comes to moving and figuring out all of the logistics. I have no doubt you will rock this!

    • Thanks, Sara—I imagine I will be around for awhile but you are right that we are always going to be able to stay connected. I will stay an Iowa blogger until I move! 🙂

  25. I hope his first day went exceptionally well! This should be worth a whole new batch of Chrisisms. We’ve got to get you two back together, soon!

  26. Now I see what I missed by being so far behind in my reading! I would have known about Texas a whole lot earlier!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

