From World Race to Local—-Comments for a Cause is Everywhere!


You know what day it is!!!   I usually don’t do a post on Sunday (my day of rest, ya’ll) but today is different because it is the 1st!!!!  Comments for a Cause!!!!   I can hardly believe that I started this fabulous feature on my blog way back in April 2011.  From the very beginning you guys have been with me and supported my blog by commenting.  Thank you!world-race

This past month we featured the lovely and talented Leslie Oxford and her upcoming World Race mission trip.  11countries in 11 months!   You can read more about it by clicking on the post where she was first introduced to you.  I am THRILLED to announce that together we raised $352  and Mr. Diamond and I will be making a donation to her fundraising in this amount.  Way to go, Leslie. Be sure to stay in touch and keep us posted on your progress as you are able.  We all want to come along for the ride.

So where do we go from here?  I decided to go local and support one of my favorite places in the Mason City area.logo-cropped-300

NIVC Services, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization providing employment training and support to people with disabilities. What they are able to do is amazing and they are such a gift in our area that I can’t help but get a smile on my face when I think that your comments in June will help folks locally get training and work.   It is definitely a great organization and I support all that they do to help their folks in their efforts to live full and fulfilling lives within our community.

Their mission is simple:

 

Our talented teams of people at NIVC Services Inc. empower individuals with disabilities to achieve competitive employment through a strong commitment to business and training opportunities.

 

Values

 

NIVC (E-M-P-O-W-E-R-S)

 

  • Encourage

  • Motivate

  • Prepare

  • Opportunity

  • Work

  • Equality

  • Respect

  • Sefl-sufficiency

java-works-logo

Perhaps my favorite part of what NIVC offers is Java Works which is a lovely little coffee shop located in the Mason City Public Library.  JavaWorks is the third coffee shop to have the space in the library since the remodel and I love that they are here.  I can count on a sunny smile from any of the baristas and love being able to support them in their business.

You can find NIVC employees at various places around the community including Affordables–a thrift resale store with 2 locations, doing assembly, recycling and various jobs in manufacturing plants in the area as well as staffing my favorite JavaWorks coffee shop.   Always ready with a smile. Always helpful.  Always striving to do their best.

So even without wonderful pictures of people at work (you can go here to their website to see those actual pictures) I think that you can agree that this is another great cause for us to support in June.   I will do my part and write a lot of posts.  You do your part and click on comment and leave a nice comment.  Remember—for each legitimate comment during June (more than a “hi” or “sweet”) I will make a 50 cent donation to NIVC .

Ready, set, go!!!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. Here’s your first comment for June! Rabbit Rabbit ~ may you earn much for this special cause! I love what you do! Keep shining! ♥

  2. what a great cause! You are amazing!

  3. I always love the first of any month; it feels like a fresh start when I flip my calendars over. You (and Mr. Diamond) have given me a new reason to enjoy the first. Happy Sunday!

  4. How terrific that you were able to donate so much to Leslie’s trip! Way to go!

    Thank you for introducing us to NIVC. That sounds like a great organization. My company works with a third party group that employs people with disabilities. We send them work when we need to outsource certain projects . A win-win situation for everyone.

    • It is a win win, isn’ it???? I love supporting them at the coffee shop and always have such a great time talking to them. When Chris was in charge of a plant here they used their services for cleaning and he always loved that they were able to do that. I just get a kick out of the barristers—-they take their job very seriously. 🙂

  5. Such a worthy cause, Beth Ann. It seems that those with disabilities are some of the best workers you’ll find. I hope you’ll get lots of comments this month!!

  6. As someone on disability I love this. 🙂

  7. Patricia says:

    Glad I’m getting more of your posts! Am inspired, Beth!

  8. Whoo Hoo. Great job in May and you’ve picked out a wonderful cause for June. Supporting people that are doing their best to support themselves is a win-win in my book.

  9. This is a wonderful service to your community and as an employment counsellor, a cause dear to my heart. I am very happy to support this cause and will comment as much as possible.

    • Thanks, Darlene. I just love these folks. They definitely fill a need here in our community and their clients are so inspiring. They definitely make a difference.

  10. Another great cause. I’m not a coffee drinker (unless you count french vanilla instant cappuccino), but I love that idea of a coffee shop in the library. Is this common in other communities? And the fact that it employs disabled folks makes it even better.

  11. What a wonderful cause to help the disabled people be able to work and feel good about themselves.

  12. All I could think of is that Carlton would love these people.. Again I want to say what a great job you did last month and I believe you’ll do even better this month..

  13. Very nice that this is a local cause! I am ready to start commenting.. 🙂 Hope Java Works does well in the library and NIVC is a great idea. Good Morning Beth Ann!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Don’t you just love her?   I know I do!  Now for the fun part—-I will be giving away a signed copy of “Home” and you have a chance to win.  Just leave a comment on this post telling me what book you are reading right now and you will be entered in the giveaway.  Easy!  I will pick a random winner and will announce the winner here on the blog on June 27th.  That gives you a week or so to get your comments in.  Feel free to share with your friends.  Tell the world.  The bonus is that each comment will also go to benefit NIVC as my Comments for a Cause this month. […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

