Slightly Savory Saturday


A quick recipe today to serve as a yummy side to almost any meal that you want to complement. ย  Super simple with few ingredients = winner in my book.

Snappy Pea Pods

Snappy Pea Pods

Snappy Pea Pods

  • 1/2 pound sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 TBSP sesame oil
  • 3/4 pound fresh or frozen snap peas
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

In a large skillet, saute mushrooms and the onion in oil until crisp-tender. ย Add the remaining ingredients. ย Bring to a boil: cover and simmer for 2-4 minutes until peas are crisp. Serve with a slotted spoon. 4 servings of yumminess.

Snappy Pea Pods

Snappy Pea Pods

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. Yum! A bit like Moo Goo Gai Pan, which I just had Friday night.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just need to use green onions!

  2. This really sounds good to me. What makes it even better is that it does not call for 10 plus ingredients.

  3. This would be so fun to make when we can find them at the farmers market. We love snap peas, so another good one to add to our to-make list:)

    • Yep—they would be great if they were fresh! I got some at the grocery store and they were those pre packaged ones and still were pretty darn good so I can only imagine what fresh would taste like. Yummmmm!

  4. Minus onion yummy!

  5. I’ve never tried to cook snap peas and I don’t know why. I do like eating them – a lot. I may buy some this weekend and give it a go. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Yum! I love sugar snap peas!

  7. Virginia says:

    Looks yummy and I love sesame oil!

  8. Looks wonderful! You are making me hungry.

  9. A good one. I’ll just change the chicken broth to vege broth and it’s perfect for a vege meal. I love the simplicity of it.

  10. William Aiken says:

    sounds delicious, I wished I liked mushrooms, I would
    probably leave those out

  11. This looks like something I would absolutely love.

  12. Looks so delicious!

  13. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  14. Jennifer says:

    You could add chicken to this & have a complete meal ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I need to make this.

  16. This recipe looks delicious and I love Jennifer’s idea ^ about adding chicken.

  17. Ann Pillsbury says:

    Looks good!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

