Slightly Savory Saturday


Banana bread has always been a favorite in this household and I finally have a recipe that turns out perfect every single time.  It is easy and takes little work to get mixed up and in the oven.  Next time you have some overripe bananas this is the recipe for you.

Banana Bread

Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. With a wooden spoon mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl.  Mix in the sugar, egg and vanilla.  Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix together.  Add the flour and cinnamon last and mix.  Pour mixture into a buttered 4 x 8 inch loaf pan.  Bake for 1 hour.  Cool on a wire rack, remove from pan and slice to serve.  Easiest recipe ever.  (Nuts could always be added if desired.)

If you want a yeast bread option Jeni from JeniEats offers up a great alternative on her blog.  I made it this week and it was delicious–especially toasted.  If you want to get the recipe click here and it will take you directly to the post where Jeni shares the easy recipe.  I made it in my EZ Doh manual bread maker and was thrilled with the results.  banana bread

Comments

  1. Yummy!!!!!!! How about adding chocolate chips AND nuts!!!???!!!!!

  2. I know how hard it is to find the perfect banana bread recipe! And the yeast one too! I’ll be trying both! Thank you.

  3. Yum. I like walnuts in mine.

  4. I baked banana bread last week. I love the stuff.

    Did you know that the email announcement for this post comes through as your salad recipe from last week? Don’t know how that happened. If you get fewer comments that might be why.

    Hope you all have a wonderful weekend, Beth Ann!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  5. Have I mentioned how much I love Savory Saturday posts? Thanks for the shout out! I’m happy it worked.

  6. How interesting Beth Ann, you made the batter in your EZ Doh manual bread maker? But did you cook it in your EZ Bake over? Just curious..

  7. Oven darn it , EZ Bake oven.. Ah, typos I hate typpoes.

  8. I love banana bread! Thank you so much for sharing.

  9. I like banana bread. I will look for my recepe and see if yours is the same as mine. I may try yours.

  10. Yum! I have never made it before.

  11. I love banana bread and this recipe is very similar to the one I use. I think the cinnamon is what makes it special! Fortunately I have some over ripe bananas!

  12. Ann Pillsbury says:

    Looks wonderful.

  13. Oh man what I wouldn’t give for some right now on this blasted candida diet..lol

  14. Your recipe is similar to mine and yes, I add either walnuts or pecans as it’s a must at our house I made banana bread earlier this week. Since it’s just the two of us, I’ve started baking mine in various sized muffin tins….easy to freeze that way (if needed)!. Overripe bananas keeps for long time in freezer also!

  15. Virginia says:

    Banana bread always makes me think of my mother! She made it often.

  16. Yummy. Banana bread is a favourite at our place too. Thanks for the recipe.

  17. Delicious – love this loaf!

  18. Love banana bread.. with buttah! Cream cheese too!!!

  19. Nothing as pretty as a loaf of bread!

  20. We used to make homemade banana bread in our store in the bush, so we kept the recipe & make it still here. We save up our overripe bananas by freezing them still in their skins & then thawing them when you’re ready to make bread. I love banana bread!

  21. Banana Bread is my favorite!

  22. Jennifer says:

    I love mine with nuts in it. I like to toast a piece and butter it up while it is hot. The best!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

