KitTea Anyone?


I am going to come clean.  I am a cat lover.  I know it is a shock to all of you, isn’t it?  Because I NEVER post pictures of my cats Buddy and Holly.  buddyandhollyI found a fabulous concept that I am thinking might become all the rage.  You know there are a lot of places where dogs are welcome.  Many restaurants cater to dog owners and allow their customers to bring their dogs along with them with designated (usually outdoor ) areas where those folks can dine with their doggie companions.  I think it is great.

You can imagine my excitement (cue the music) when I discovered KitTea—San Francisco’s first Cat Tea House.  YES!!!! It combines 2 of my favorite things. 2 things that make me smile. 2 things that complete my life.  All in one location.  Amazing.

The concept is fabulous, in my humble opinion.  Their mission:

Create a zen retreat where humans and cats can hang out to the benefit of both species.
Facilitate more adoptions by partnering with local cat rescues. So if you fall in love, you can take ’em home!

So what exactly is a cat tea house?

KitTea will be a relaxing tea house where you can sip on exotic blends, sustainably sourced from around the world. Lounge alongside some furry felines: they form the foundation of a space full of harmony, purity, respect, and tranquility.

Believe it or not, cat cafés are increasingly popular throughout the world — Tokyo has more than one hundred! It’s time we take this concept to the United States.

What are the benefits, you may ask? Taken from their crowd funding page they state the following:

Our patrons will enjoy all the benefits that cats provide, from their entertaining playtime activities to their ability to improve our health and reduce stress.

Our mission is as much about serving cats as it is people. We’re building a home from the ground up, made expressly for cats. All the kitties at KitTea will be adoptable.

We’re planning to initially have kittens at the tea house. Why?

We want the cats to be happy and not stressed. From research, it will be easier for kittens to get used to the space and each other.

71% of cats in shelters are euthanized, many of them kittens (according to the Humane Society). Sources tell us that, in the Central Valley, kitten euthanasia rates are even higher.

We love adult cats too, and will make sure they are well represented as we bring in new cats.

It is a win win in my opinion!  Plus they have a cute logo.KitTea

If you want to follow along with their progress there are several places to follow them.  Their Crowdfunding page is here, Facebook page, and Twitter.     They have already exceeded their goal for fundraising but I am sure they would not turn down further donations.  Yes, I donated.  Do I live near San Francisco?  No.  But if I have learned anything from life it is to never rule anything out.   Ever.

Tell me what you think of this idea—thumbs up? Or thumbs down?   

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. I think it’s a great idea!! Here in Canada, animals are not normally allowed in establishments that serve food — against Health Codes. But they are starting to relax a bit on this – I think it depends on each city bylaws. Service requirement dogs of course being the exception.
    But I have not heard of one single place for cats/kitties. I think it would be great – animals offer a relaxing vibe that seems suited to a coffee of tea house. I’d definitely go – although I’d be tempted to leave with more than just some take home chai in my purse! 🙂

  2. I think this is an awesome idea! I’ve seen video of similar places, I think the one I saw was in Japan. We don’t have cats these days, but, gosh, I LOVE them–sometimes even more than dogs. Thanks for sharing this, Beth Ann.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. Holy hell, what a brilliant idea! I would love that here in Australia.
    Probably would come home with a fair amount of felines though. :-/

  4. Helen Brown says:

    It would be OK with me as long as they behaved themselves. I enjoy cats even more than dogs because cats have a mind of their own and not as needy as some dogs.

  5. I like to eat places where pets are welcome about as much as I enjoy dining after 7pm next to a table with toddlers. However, the adoption option is nice! The logo is cute. And I have to smile at “cat tea house.” I imagine that descriptions brings out the curiosity in people.

  6. So, I was at my sister’s briefly and her cat jumps onto my lap. Now this is one cute cat. But I happen to know that this cat bites my sister. Often. And I did not trust Cozzie because cat teeth are sharp. The cat was sniffing my shoes, my arms, my legs, etc. My sister told me Cozzie liked me and just to let her sniff me. So when her whiskers are tickling my arms as she’s sniffing, all I can think are “sharp cat teeth.”

    That’s my cat story.

    • 🙂 Sometimes cats sense the folks that are really not cat lovers or those that could just do without them and that is who they target. That could have been the case here—you think? Glad it did not bite you!!!! 🙂

  7. Being a kitty lover, I’m all for anything to help more of them be adopted!

  8. Great concept although for me who’s allergic to some cats, it’s not a place that I would go. I love that they are working with the shelters 🙂

  9. Hmm, I’ve often thought Dallas would be a model diner, but I’ve never been any place that welcomed him that way. A cat tea house? Well, I do love the logo, but it wouldn’t be a place I’d frequent (I’m a dog-person, and cats kind of scare me!)

  10. That idea is very therapeutic. I would totally go! I almost booked a night in the Anderson House Hotel in Wabasha, Minnesota where you can “book” a cat in your room if you’d like. I was so excited about that, but ended up canceling for some reason. I see it went out of business in 2009.

    An article: http://1389blog.com/2010/08/14/caturday-remembering-minnesotas-only-legal-cat-house/

    • What a great idea!!!! Too bad it went out of business. 😦 That would have been such a neat thing for travelers who were missing their cats. I hope that this one makes it because it really seems like a great way to get cats adopted out and provide a safe place for them in the meantime.

  11. What a cute idea. I’m not sure my cat, Monkey, would be happy having tea anywhere but at home with us. She does love snuggling with us while we have our tea. Cats (or any pets) can be therapeutic and are now being allowed to visit in hospitals so why not in a tea house.

    • I know—I think it is genius and the bonus is that they are for adoption so that is a win win. I don’t think my kitties would be good travelers to a tea house, either!

  12. First of all, your cats are beautiful and I think you should post about them more often. As far as the KitTea goes, it would certainly make me more likely to go there than a tea house without cats. Since I don’t drink tea, I’d go just to visit with the cats!

  13. Oh what a neat idea. I can just imagine the hilarious goings on with kittens. I’m sure I’d be just like others and couldn’t resist taking one home. My two cats (both girls) are tight buds most of time. Always laying and sleeping together. By the way, my Libby looks a lot like your Holly! Love, love, love my cats.

  14. I like the idea! Thumbs up!!

  15. Well, you know where I am on this issue: with the KitTeas! In fact I have tea with cats every day!

  16. Since I am highly allergic to cats, this would not be the place for me! I hope it’s a success for those who like cats.

    • I would not want you near it!!! Yikes!!! That would be horrible. So many people are allergic to cats . That would make me sad but I guess I would have to have another pet then.

  17. That’s a pretty cool idea. I’m all for kitties having loving homes. I don’t think my allergic hubby will be visiting one any time soon. That is a great logo.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

