No Fooling! It’s All About the Kids!


ClappingApril 1st is here and even though it is a day for practical jokes and tom foolery that won’t be what you find on It’s Just Life because it is Comments for a Cause day!!!  I know I say this every single month but it really is my favorite day of the month because I get to share with you how much we raised for Comments for a Cause AND reveal what our next cause will be. make-a-wish-logo

March was a great month to feature Make a Wish-North Iowa as the featured charity. You can read the original post by clicking here but the goal of Make a Wish is to grant to children with life-threatening medical conditions the following types of wishes:

I wish to go..
I wish to have…
I wish to meet…
I wish to be…

What a wonderful mission this is and one that keeps all of the volunteers there very busy fulfilling all of the wishes that come in.  My readers all did their part this month and together we will be making a donation of $290.50  to the North Iowa chapter of the Make a Wish Foundation.  Thank you ALL for your comments.

myhappyplace

April will bring another local cause that benefits children in our North Iowa area.  My Happy Place is a wonderful organization that 4 local women founded in 2013.  Their mission statement is:

We are a community based, non-profit organization that focuses on the emotional well being and health of children in the Mason City, Iowa area who are under the age of 18 and are effected by illness, disease,or emotional distress.We provide a bedroom (or other space) makeover to give the child a happy and therapeutic place to recover.

When I first heard about My Happy Place I knew that it was a perfect fit for Comments for a Cause.  In the short time that they have been in existence they have already brought much happiness to several area children by creating wonderful bedrooms and spaces where they can recover.  These families have so much to deal with and what a blessing it is to them to be able to have a special place for their child .  Those who volunteer both time and materials as part of the makeover also are blessed as they become a small part of that child’s life and recovery.

One of the current projects listed on their website features a young boy of 5  years old named Noah who has pervasive developmental disorder.  You can read his entire story by clicking here.  The amazing thing is that a friend of Noah’s –a little boy named Dean—decided that for his birthday he wanted donations to be made to My Happy Place in hopes that it would be used to help sponsor  a room for Noah.  How wonderful is that?   Pretty wonderful for a 5 year old to have that much love in his heart.

My Happy Place recently had a hugely successful fundraiser–Rolling for Rooms—and I was thrilled to read that they had raised so much money to help fund room makeovers for children in the area. Our local paper, The Globe Gazette,featured an article here that tells all about their success.  We get the opportunity to add to that and for every legitimate comment made on any post during the month of April my husband and I will donate 50 cents to My Happy Place. Please feel free to share this with anyone who might be interested in being a part of this great charity.  You can also keep track of all of their news by following them on their Facebook page here.

Special thanks to this group of wonderful and caring women who saw the need, heard the call and went into action to begin a wonderful group that will make a lot of children happy.

From left to right: Deidra Rattay, Lisa Tan, Lori Rattay and Micki Fredricks

From left to right: Deidra Rattay, Lisa Tan, Lori Rattay                          and Micki Fredricks

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. What a wonderful charity! I’m honored to take part in your Comments for a Cause. So caring and generous of you to do this each month.

  2. Gosh, almost $300 is awesome! Seriously, Beth Ann, that’s a lot of money, at least in my mind. Congratulations to you. Congrats to all of us, I guess. And this month’s organization sounds great, as well.

    Sorry to have been away. I don’t know how many posts I may have missed, but it’s going to be a busy month for me–traveling to the beach, teaching a week-long workshop, having friends visit from the US, and then going home to the US myself for a week!

    As I commented on another blog, maybe all of this happening at once is appropriate, given that it’s April, after-all. When it rains,, it pours. Right?

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Thanks, Kathy! You have quite a busy month going on, don’t you? Good grief! But it is all good and amazing stuff so that puts a smile on my face as I am sure you will have!!! Traveling to the beach sounds wonderful!!! And a trip back to the US?? Wonderful!

  3. Kudos to you, your blog and your readers/commentors! The group for April is inspiring. What a neat idea they have.

  4. Yeah! Almost $300 for Make-A-Wish North Iowa is wonderful! And My Happy Place is another great group for this month. Thanks for doing this Beth Ann!

    • I am thrilled and you were the inspiration! Thanks, Val, for all that you do not only for Make a Wish but all of the other positive influences you make through your volunteerism.

  5. As you know, my eldest interned at Make A Wish, Minnesota, so I am pleased with all the monies raised for this cause in Iowa.

    April’s cause is also a great one (they all are, really). You should see if you can tour one of these made-over spaces and then blog about it. Hint, hint.

  6. What a great story. Nice to hear about it on KCMR Radio! http://www.kcmrfm.com

  7. Another great cause I’m happy to support through your comments for a cause. Well done for last month!

  8. Awesome choice Beth Ann.. And congrats to the Make A Wish Foundation for their work, and your donation..

  9. How wonderful!!

  10. Miranda Gargasz says:

    What an awesome organization! It’s amazing to me what people can come up with to help each other. Great pick, Beth Ann!

  11. What a great idea for April. Again I admire your generosity!

  12. WOW! When my partner told me listen to KCMR, I had no idea what I was going to hear! I sat there in awe hearing 2 women speak of an organization I helped create. I was humbled and so excited that you chose our organization to help raise funds for! I can’t thank you enough. The community support we receive every day never ceases to amaze us. We will continue to help very worthy kids find their very own “happy place”. Kudos to you for believing in us!

    • I am thrilled to be a baby part of My Happy Place! As you can see from some of the comments already people are very excited for this month’s cause! Come back often— I usually post 6 days a week so lots of chances to comment! Thanks for what you guys are doing!

  13. Good choice, Beth Ann — hard not to donate to organizations doing good things for kids!

  14. It’s great to learn about My Happy Place.

  15. What a wonderful charity! you always seem to find just the right Cause. So wonderful that the world still has these kinds of helpers who give so graciously of their time to help those in need.

    • Isn’t it just a perfect charity? I love what they do and am so excited to highlight them. They have gotten a lot of attention lately and it is such a worthy cause. They came up with a great idea and made it happen!

  16. As the co-founder of My Happy Place, my goal was to make a difference in the life of children in this community who are struggling with health issues or grief. We knew that if we could bring a little joy to the children, that joy would extend to the entire family. Our goal was to make a difference. What we didn’t realize was how much this organization would give back to us. We have witnessed first hand the generousity and support of this great community and the amazing people in it. We have had the opportunity to meet the most amazing, humble, and deserving children and have been blessed by their ability to take up permanent residence in our heart. We have been blessed to be a very small part of the healing process of these amazing kids. So I guess my point is that we wanted to be a blessing for others but have received more than we could possibly ever give back. Your blog and radio interview today is another example of the selfless acts going on in this community and I can’t thank you enough for selecting our organization to write about and promote. Thank you from the bottom of our heart.

    • You are so very welcome! When I read about your group I knew it was a perfect fit for what I try to feature as my “comments for a cause” charity. You embrace all the things that I love and are doing such a wonderful job of reaching out into the community to those who just need a bit of sunshine. I also know my readers. They love this type of thing and will totally get behind it. The bonus is that maybe there will be some folks who had not heard about you guys before that might join in in some way. The goal is always to get folks involved beyond the comments—who knows what seeds will be planted. I wish you all the best and am thrilled to be a baby part of this !!! Thank YOU for what you are doing that is extraordinary!

  17. Sandy Evans says:

    This sounds like such a wonderful cause, and you must be an amazing person. I look forward to meeting you in Chapel Hill, in August.

  18. My Happy Place ROCKS!! Our son, Hayden received an “Under the Sea” themed room and he loves it! He actually loves it almost TOO MUCH! We barely see him anymore! LOL 🙂 Love to the MHP ladies from the Despenas Family!!

  19. Shelley says:

    We couldn’t be more proud and supportive of both Make A Wish and My Happy Place. And even more amazing to see the results when they joined forces!

  20. My Happy Place is AWESOME!! Those smiling eyes as they see their new room for the first time is beyond happiness.

    • I can just imagine!!! What a great experience for the volunteers to be able to witness each time their “dream room” appears before them!!! Fabulous!

  21. As one of the newest board members of My Happy Place, I too am in awe of how wonderful the local support is. So THANK YOU for all you are sharing not only monetarily but in getting our organization out there for other’s who may need our help.

    • Yay!!! I am thrilled to share as much as I can share. It amazes me how many great folks there are out there locally who are so willing to support things like this and who step up when needed. Here’s hoping the word continues to get out to folks who could use this wonderful organization. Thank YOU!

    • Yay! Thanks os much for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I love it when the folks who know the “cause” the best take the time to stop by to support with their comments during the month. Come back often!!!

  22. My Happy Place sounds wonderful! What a great idea!! I will be here commenting and trying to help with Comments for a Cause! Bravo on the dollars you raised for Make a Wish!

  23. What a great organization! My Happy Place truly makes a happy place for these kiddos! We are blessed to have this wonderful group here in North Iowa!

    • Victoria—-thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. We are very fortunate in North Iowa to have many great organizations that help so many. Please come back often this month!

  24. I am sure you are a dream come true for Make a Wish. The donation, of-course, and bringing awareness to their organization!
    This month sounds awesome. I am not entirely sure if kids live in this facilitate or it room that belongs to them until they go home. Need to click and learn more!

  25. Another great cause! I like that you’re able to help families in your area.

  26. Karen Monson says:

    This is an awesome organization…it’s a pleasure to “comment for My Happy Place.” Thanks for your donation!
    Karen Monson

  27. I was happy that you you gave us all the information about The Happy Place as I had never heard anything about it where I live. These children will be able to enjoy their special place and know how much they are loved.

    • You are so right!!! It is such a great thing to do for these children and everyone involved with them are blessed in the process. Thanks for the sweet words!

  28. My Happy Place is a wonderful organization! We are grateful to have such a caring group to help our kids have their own special happy place!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Thanks for playing along today. Don’t forget to leave a comment –all comments during April will go to help support My Happy Place—a local organization that helps provide specially decorated rooms and environments for children who are experiencing a crisis situation.  You can read more about it here. […]

  2. […] This was our first visit but definitely not our last.  Do you have any favorite art centers that you visit or do you have a great idea for repurposing something into a creative and maybe useful item?  I would love to hear your ideas so please feel free to comment.  Don’t forget that our Comments for a Cause this month is My Happy Place in Mason City.  For each comment made during April my husband and I will donate 50 cents to My Happy Place to help provide beautiful bedroom and other transformation for kids in crisis.  You can read more about it by clicking here. […]

  3. […] It’s the first of the month and around here at It’s Just Life that means that it is time to count the comments!  This past month I chose a local group in Mason City called My Happy Place that creates wonderful rooms for kids who have endured or are enduring some crisis in their lives.  It is a wonderful way to show these kids that people care and that they can have their own special place.  I can not say enough about this organization and the dreams that they are helping to come true.  We made a great effort this month with comments and a donation of $226.00 will be made to this great group.  Thanks to all who commented!!!  You can read the original post by clicking here. […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

