Sunny Skies, Warm Sand, Rainbows and Gentle Breezes


If you are anything like me you look forward to March because it usually means that spring is on  the way.  It has been a pretty brutal winter in the Midwest and quite frankly almost everywhere so when the hubby suggested a Valentine’s Day trip to Bermuda  I jumped on the proverbial plane bandwagon and got ready to enjoy some warmth and fun in the sun.  Little did I know all the twists and turns that life would take prior to the trip.  I am often grateful that I can not see into the future.

While it was not the ideal time in our lives to be taking a trip we went with it and decided to treat this trip like the fabulous adventure that it would turn out to be.  Never mind that we white knuckled it to Minneapolis to await our flight.  Never mind that our trip to Raleigh prior to the Bermuda trip got canceled.  Never mind that our trip to the fabulous island paradise got delayed 3 additional days because of bad weather.  Never mind all of that. Because we made it.  A brief respite from what the white that is outside my window now.  It was wonderful.

We stayed in a cute little studio apartment which was part of the home of a lovely couple, Wendell and Xinia.  Wendell could read my enthusiasm about our trip through my emails and was bound and determined to make our trip happen and be a success.  We are so grateful to them both for the huge part that they played in our wonderful get away.   If you ever plan a trip to Bermuda—look them up.  You won’t be disappointed.

Xinia and Wendell Simons

Xinia and Wendell Simons

We spent a lot of our time exploring.  The island is small enough that it is fairly easy to explore the entire island in a week and do it justice and we gave it a good try.  Of course, as always, my favorite parts were the beach including the semi private beach almost outside our door to the beautiful Horseshoe Bay beach that is the subject of almost every tourist photo album from Bermuda.

Enjoy the pictures.  Bask in the beauty and know that winter is on the way out.  Click on any picture to initiate a slide show.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. Almost……yes, almost…..feels like I’m there!! Until I look out my window, that is!! LOL! Love that last larger photo!!!!!

  2. Kathy W says:

    I am a closet, homeless beach person, so these pics were a very bright start to my morning here in cold, grey PA!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Your first sentence grabbed me, I love when March comes for exactly the same reason. Your pictures make great day dreaming material

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment!!! I am so glad that you enjoyed the pictures. Outside my window now is snow, snow, snow, snow…..

  4. Wow. Spectacular beauty. And warmth. I can almost feel the warmth radiating from those stunning images. Thanks for the get-away on yet another brutally cold Minnesota morning.

  5. Do you know what is funny? I was stationed on the island for 15 months, and I don’t ever remember going to the beach!! Probably because I am not a sun and sand guy, but still, 15 months on an island and no beach time?? I question my sanity at times.. lol

    • WHAT????????? Sorry. The sad thing is that they have pulled all the bases off the island except the Warwick one, I believe, and so there has been a real downturn in their economy due to that and tourism being down. 😦

      • I didn’t know that they pulled the bases from the island, the U.S. Navy took over the air station (out St. George’s way) from the Air Force and we had an operating base at the opposite end of the island, I wonder if that is still there? (Is that the Warwick one that you were referring to?)

  6. I can practically FEEL the warmth, Beth Ann! Thanks for sharing your trip — wish I could’ve hitched a ride inside your suitcase, though, and walked on that sand in my bare feeties, too!

  7. A lovely little piece of heaven on earth! Getting away somewhere warm in February helps one get through the harsh winter months. Here’s hoping March brings spring. Great pictures!

  8. Everything looked lovely–until I saw the insects on your leg. I hope they weren’t biting!

    • Haha! They didn’t bite but they were very annoying. I tried to see how long I could not swat at them and I didn’t last long. I think it was because of all of the seaweed that had washed up on that beach. The flies were everywhere!

  9. What lovely people! I had to laugh on your picture of the flies. I was wondering what those were.

  10. Looks like paradise and your pictures are terrific. The water is so blue

  11. Miranda Gargasz says:

    The flies would have been too much for me! I’d have been hopping up and down screaming! Brave woman!

  12. If you sit quietly, close your eyes and listen, you can hear the waves lapping as they roll up onto the beach…I can just hear the roar…..love the pictures; especially the one looking through arch like rocks…thanks for brightening our winter days. Waiting on another ice/sleet storm tonight…you all get snow, we get ice! Go figure

    • Ice and snow –they can just go—-I would be happy to not see another flake but we have another round coming, too. Sigh. Thanks for stopping by, Gayle. It means a lot to have you take the time to stop by and comment.

  13. Nice pictures which you can look at and remember what a good time you had.

  14. When I was a kid people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I always said beach bum. These photos are wonderful and encourage me to chase my dream.

  15. Aah.. the beach. Great shots Beth Ann, only no flies thank you! We are out of the deep freeze today but a chance of light snow tomorrow and Saturday.. crazeeee!

    • The flies were ridiculous! 🙂 The sun is out here and I think we are up 22 degrees! How can that be?? More snow to shovel and maybe more on the way again but hey—if the sun is shining I can handle it.

  16. Beautiful! So happy that after all the trials you made it there and had a lovely time. aside from all the flies. 🙂
    my winter is far from over. 😦
    but that was a nice respite still. I swear I could hear the ocean waves and the wind in the trees.

    • I am glad you could feel the warmth through the pictures. Our winter hit with more snow last night again but they say it is going to be in the 30’s this weekend. I won’t know what to do.

  17. Glad you made it and enjoyed your time. Thanks for sharing your photos, except for the fly one – yuck! 🙂

  18. Except for the missing tree you found pics of my restful place! Looks wonderful Beth Ann!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

