Slightly Savory Saturday


It is soup weather in our house and I am whipping up all kinds of yumminess whenever I can in the form of soup. This recipe is probably the easiest one ever because it uses prepackaged ravioli and takes very little time to prepare.  P1000609

Quick Ravioli and Spinach Soup

Boil 1 9 ounce package refrigerated small cheese ravioli in 2 – 32 ounce cartons of chicken broth with 1/4 tsp onion powder and a dash of pepper for 7 – 10 minutes.  Add 4 cups chopped fresh spinach and 3 cups shredded cooked chicken during last 3 minutes of cooking. Serve with grated Parmesan cheese.   (I used thawed frozen ravioli and canned chicken breasts—it all works! Smaller ravioli would probably work a bit better, also.   You can also add more seasonings to your liking but this version is very tasty.)

Did you notice that awesome bowl holder?  When I visited Audrey of Minnesota Prairie Roots fame we visited some shops in downtown Faribault, MN.  AMong one of those was The Crafty Maven where I found these fabulous little quilted hot bowl holders.  Since we are famous for reheating leftovers and oatmeal and the likes in the microwave these are the perfect thing to protect our little hands from hot bowls coming right out.   If you are ever in Faribault make sure you stop in to see Dee at The Crafty Maven.  The shop has all kinds of fabulous items.

If you are a sewer, Doreen over at Treadlemusic did a little tutorial awhile back on how to make some of these little hot bowl cozies on her blog. Click here to go to that blog post in a new window. 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. Cool invention, those bowl-holders. I know exactly what you mean about the microwave. I may have to try this recipe. Looks good.

    • The bowl hiders are a fabulous invention! The soup is so quick and easy and yummy. I used large ravioli but it is probably better with the small size.

  2. Sounds tasty. I’ve been putting Parmesan on soup and salads lately.

  3. Sounds delish and easy! Thank you!!

  4. A stack of those microwave bowl holders is next to my mic, too! DH loves ’em for his oatmeal! The soup looks awesome!!!! Thanks…………………

  5. Hmmm good…looks delicious. Soup to warm the inner soul! Love the bowl holders as they sure are becoming popular.

  6. Thanks for the shout out about my blog and The Crafty Maven in Faribault. You are so sweet.

    That soup recipe sounds delish and easy, which I like. I love soup. Unfortunately, I don’t think I could get the hubby to eat this soup because of the spinach. He doesn’t know what goodness he’s missing.

    • You know I loved the Crafty Maven! 🙂 I added Doreen’s link to her tutorial later—I totally forgot about her having that on her blog.
      Randy doesn’t know what he is missing with the spinach. Yum.

  7. I love your slightly savory saturdays! This looks simple and delicious. Plus that is a unique bowl holder. Now I want to make soup.

  8. The soup sounds good. I make soup a lot since it is usually easy to make and good for you.

  9. Looks wonderful! Love the bowl holders too!

  10. This is such a great quick and easy recipe! My boyfriend and I make a similar soup with frozen tortellini and frozen peas or corn. If we’re ambitious that day we add beans. I haven’t thought to add spinach, that sounds delicious. The boy won’t eat spinach, but I can make it when he isn’t around!

  11. Love the little bowl holders and how wonderful for you to have visited Audrey! We love Audrey. When I make ravioli I often have enough for a few bags in the freezer, this would be a perfect way to use them.. thank you.. c

  12. Looks yummy. I had never heard of a bowl holder. What a great idea! Hope you are staying warm today!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  13. Love the hot bowl holders! Kelvin is always heating up bowls in the microwave & then “ooching” & “ouching” as he tries to move the bowls around!

  14. The bowl holders are really fun and so clever.

  15. A bowl holder! How practical, and pretty, too!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

