Slightly Savory Saturday


A new feature  on It’s Just Life this week is Slightly Savory Saturday where I will occasionally share a tasty recipe that I have tried that is one worth passing along.  Today’s is a knock off of a favorite that I get when I visit Olive Garden restaurants—-it is a great one to have when the temperatures drop as low as they have been this week and I am happy to share my adapted version of it today.  Enjoy

soupZuppa Toscana Soup

  • 1 1/2 cups sweet turkey sausage (You can use any kind of sausage but turkey is the healthier choice0
    8 slices turkey bacon (optional)
    3/4 cups onions, diced
    1 1/2 tsp garlic, minced
    2 cups kale, chopped (I usually add more if the bunch is larger)
    1 large russet potato, quartered and sliced
     2 TBSP chicken base
    1 quart water
    1 12 oz can evaporated skim milk
    1 TBSP olive oil
    1. Saute sausage, bacon and red pepper flakes in olive oil until browned, scoop out and set aside,
    2. Add onion to pan and sauté until softened.
    3. Add garlic and cook one minute
    4. Add water, chicken base and potato.
    5. Bring to boil and simmer 15 minutes.
    6. Add kale and cook 5 more minutes.
    7. Stir in sausage, bacon and milk.
    8. Simmer 5 more minutes and serve.
    You can use spicier sausage, add more potatoes and kale and doctor it up however you want but it always works out well for a nice lunch with crusty bread! Enjoy!!!
Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. Thanks…..I was meaning to ask for this recipe since you posted about it last week!!!! Happy Weekend!!!! Hugs…………….

  2. I love soup and this sounds delish and perfect for these winter days.

  3. That is totally a recipe I will try – I love all kinds of soups and am always happy to find new recipes!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  4. I’m happy you posted this! I think I’ll try to make this soup this week. I never thought I’d miss an Olive Garden until I lived in a town without one.

    • I know what you mean, Jeni! I crave their apricot chicken but have found a pretty decent recipe that is similar to theirs. This soup is really good and easy.

  5. Thanks! I think we’ll try it if and when we can get out of the house to get to the grocery store. Roads are skating rinks now…. 😦

  6. Sounds great. I will have to get some items I do not use often and try this soup. I make soup often. Thanks for sharing.

  7. This looks so Yummy! Thank you for sharing 😉

  8. Looks wonderful. Will have to try!

  9. It is the season for soup!

  10. Going to be 60 degrees today(really)so I will wait until the next second when the weather changes yet again to colder temps and I will try this soup. It looks wonderful Beth Ann!

  11. i just love soup in the wintertime. I could eat it every day so I’m always looking for new recipes to try. Did you adapt the ingredients yourself? Thanks for sharing.

  12. One question: Did Queenie like it?

    • She oversaw the entire process of soup making from start to finish with her perch on top of my Keurig carousel but she did not sample. I think she approved, though.

  13. Sounds like a wonderful soup even though I don’t like kale.

  14. WOW, THAT looks SOOOOOOO good! My Sara made chili yesterday, and it was yummy, but I’ve never seen a chili that looked sort of white. Plus, I don’t like beans, and this looks bean free!

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend, Beth Ann!

    • This one does not have beans in it so it would work for you! I do have a White Chicken Chili recipe I love that has beans in it. This one you can spice up a bit if you like it spicier.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

