A Bit of Mojo


P1000393Mr. Diamond and I just returned from a fabulous two weeks in North Carolina.  My heart is still there and if you have any inkling of who I am at all you know that my dream will always be to be someplace, on a beach, in North Carolina, Kindle and iced tea in hand.

The weather on our recent trip was less than spectacular, we had a little fender bender that took out a whole day of fun in the sun and yet—-it was the perfect trip in many ways.  The day we had the accident we were 2 miles from boarding the ferry to go to Bald Head Island and I was determined to get there so on our next to last day at Oak Island we completed that task successfully.

Once we got on the island we decided to grab a bite to eat and cup of coffee to warm up before the short walk to the lighthouse and the only place available was MoJo’s on the Harbor.  It was a great choice but the best thing about the place was the “mojo” that was evident from the dollar bills that were present everywhere.

P1000387

P1000386

P1000390I asked our waitress about the bills and she told me the story behind the unique decorating style around the bar and it all began with a couple, Brooke and Nonie Williams, who were friends and their first customers on their first day of business.  Brooke signed a dollar bill and the tradition began.  Folks wanted to join in and later colorful waterproof markers were available to customers to decorate their own.

P1000392The bills are getting more and more vibrant and artistic and as our waitress related to us the reason has changed somewhat since the original dollar was signed.  Brooke passed away in September 2012 and if I understood correctly the owners will eventually donate all of the bills to a cancer charity in his honor.  What a lovely tribute to a man who obviously had a zest for life and service to others.  (You can read his obituary here).

Funny how a stop at a small place can make me appreciate life just a little bit more.

It turned my already wonderful day into a day of reflection on how a small gesture like signing a dollar bill can make a difference.

P1000397

 

 

P1060856

 

And in case you wondered—the food at Mojo’s was fabulous. From the steaming cups of coffee that she delivered in my favorite color mug to the fried pickles with ranch dressing for dipping to the mahi mahi fish tacos—-it was delightful and just the fuel we needed to complete our windy, chilly trek to the lighthouse.

Fried Pickles

Fried Pickles

Fish Tacos with Sweet Potato Fries

Fish Tacos with Sweet Potato Fries

That, my friends, is a post for another day. Stay tuned.   Have you ever experienced “mojo” in an unexpected way?

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. I would have guessed smiley faces but the heart are very pretty! What a great idea and a fun place to visit and eat. I would love to spend some time in N.C. I’ve hear so many wonderful things!

    • Yea, the yellow did not show up well so I went for hearts and a love theme. 😉 It was such a great idea and there were some really artistic bills hanging up but I am just not that great at spur of the moment artwork. 🙂

  2. Fish tacos with mango salsa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sigh…..warm summer days… There is a bar/cafe a ways outside Apache Junction (Tortilla Flats) that has a similar story to tell. We’ve left many dollars there (on the walls and in the register!!!! LOL!). Hugs…………….

  3. ok…have to say it…you are adorable!!! 🙂 I love the picture of you the most.

  4. Don’t you just get giddy when you discover a place like this with an interesting story? What a wonderful thing for the owners to eventually donate this money to charity.

  5. How fun Beth! Love the smile.. 🙂

  6. I was so interested in the bills all over the walls. I never would have thought of doing such a thing. A charity will really enjoy the bills.

  7. I don’t guess I’ve ever been to N.C., but I’d love to go — sounds like it has the best of all the states! I love the idea of framing a wall with dollar bills. Much better than framing a wall with rejection letters, ha! Glad you had such a good time; maybe next time you’ll get to stay a bit longer, in warm and sunny weather!

  8. What a great story behind those dollar bills. You just never know what you’l find when you are out exploring! The fish tacos look fabulous!!! 🙂

  9. I appreciate people like this. No wonder they have great Mojo. 🙂

  10. I spy sweet potato fries!! Yes? mmmmm…..
    my mom and I are on a quest to find the restaurant that makes the best sweet potato fries. I guess we need to head south of the border.
    Fried pickles? like dill? I love dill pickles! why has no one up here thought to fry them?
    What a wonderful gesture donating all those bills.

    • These were perfect sweet potato fries, too. I commented on that because sometimes places cook them too long but these were perfect. And yep===fried dill pickles. They are delightful even if not too healthy.

  11. What an interesting concept with the dollar bills, but if that was up north, they wouldn’t last long on the wall..

  12. Looks like a fun trip minus the fender bender. Your dollar bill looks adorable. What a clever way to “wallpaper” a place

    • It was pretty cool to see all of the artistic ones. Mine was lame compared to many of them. The fender bender–yea—could have done without that. Took out a whole day of fun!

  13. It is these type of places that “make” a trip. I love the story to go with the pictures. Thank you for sharing pieces of your vacation. 😉

  14. It does make for interesting decor.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

