Swing Deinrd


I have been having some crazy dreams lately.  Crazier than usual and that is saying something. The other night I woke up from a sound sleep and had this fabulous idea for something to write about.  I grabbed my phone, opened the notes section and wrote down the idea that was going to change my writing into what I always dreamed it would be.  IMG_2087

I am sure it made perfect sense at the time I wrote it but upon further review it makes very little sense to me.  I remember thinking “I have to write this down—-this is too good to forget.  It is going to make a great theme in a book or at the very least a blog post.  I must write it down.”

The more I think about it the more I think that my late night thoughts probably are not the stuff that books are written about.  What do you think?  When do your best ideas come to you and how do you remember them ?

Comments

  1. My best ideas, of course, come to me when I’m working or otherwise busy and can’t get to the writing of them! I love this snapshot. And SO curious as to what it means! 🙂

  2. I think my best ideas come to me in the early morning. Like for blogging, but then PROcrastination takes over. That is a very interesting note to yourself Beth Ann.. 🙂

  3. I bet it will come to you when you’re not thinking about it. Or sometimes, when I meditate, those elusive insights resurface. It’s all there in our subconscious, isn’t it? I get my best thoughts when I’m walking or when I first wake up. And I keep a dream journal because if I don’t write those dreams down right away, and I mean right away, upon awakening – they’re gone.

  4. This is hilarious! I can’t decipher my night notes a lot of the time, either.
    Carol
    http://www.carolcassara.com

  5. You must call in the dream translators. Yes, that’s it.

    I am most creative in the morning.

    I remember shortly before Amber’s wedding how stressed I was about assuring every detail was taken care of. There was more than one night when I awoke with a “I need to remember to do this or check on this.” Stress.

    I seldom recall my dreams. What does that mean?

    • I think dreams are just so interesting and I always seem to have vivid dreams that are far out. Whatever that means! I tell Chris when I wake up and he just shakes his head. I dreamed I killed someone last night and we were trying to figure out how to hide that fact. Not that was a DREAM! 🙂

  6. My best ideas ( or at least what I think are great ideas.) always come to me in the shower!!! And by the time I get out they are usually gone… If I do remember to jot something down I sometimes have a hard time remembering what it is I wanted to say! So yeah, I can totally relate. 🙂

    • Oh yea—in the shower is a great place to think of things. I really do have to write things down right away because if I don’t they disappear out of my head in a flash!

  7. OK, I have to laugh at this: First because you woke up from a sound sleep at 11:50 p.m. I’m just getting my second wind at midnight! Second because I can’t help but wonder what in the world you were dreaming about to leave yourself such a note. I get my best ideas for writing in the moments after I turn out the light from reading & I fall asleep. Somehow they mostly stick with me until I wake up the next day so I can write them down somewhere. This is also the time when if I’m going to get a premonition, it will happen then for me too. There is something about the time just on the edge of sleep to connect me to my most creative & sensitive side.

  8. This is too familiar! I’ve often gotten “some brilliant idea” just before falling asleep (or while in the shower!) and written it down exactly as I remembered it — only to look my notes over in the light of day and find they make absolutely NO SENSE at all!! And I can’t see myself stopping because of the hope that some day, I’ll have that perfect idea and it WILL make sense!

  9. Lots of my ideas come when I’m driving to and from work. I try to concentrate on them pretty hard until I get home and jot them down. I have had some ideas come out of dreams, and a few of my blog posts actually ARE the dreams. The news radio (listened to while commuting) also provides lots of topics.

  10. LOL – I have totally done that! I suspect it is that darn Auto Correct that sneaks up on you in the dark while you are typing half asleep. I actually have woken up, I think, and written entire posts….only to read them the next morning and just go…What the ever loving craze came over my brain last night? I keep them. Hey, you never know – I might run out of sane ideas one day and need to blog. ha

  11. I usually have pretty good ideas and plan ahead in the morning, just woke up, still lying in bed (next to still sleeping husband), but not wanting to get up yet. Maybe I should have my phone next to me to take notes…

  12. Well, this is so weird, but I get some great ideas when I’m getting to go somewhere and am in a hurry. I’ve thought of some great (or so I think) ideas when I’m getting ready to go to church on Sunday morning, but there’s no time to write them down when we’re all trying to head out.

  13. Ha, ha! I’ve been having crazy dreams lately, also. However, my best ideas come to me early in the morning, and I have to write them down on paper to remember them.

    Hope you are having a great weekend, and staying WARM!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  14. Wow, Beth Ann, it looks like you dreamt up a really profound, meaningful idea. Too bad you didn’t write it down in, I don’t know, human language?

    I had a dream recently that was quite interesting, but also very disturbing. Might have to blog about it. Thanks for the reminder!

  15. I also woke up from a dream in the middle of the night. I thought it would be a wonderful story and wrote it down right away. When I got up and read it the next morning I found the paper I wrote on and wondered what in the world did it mean? I am glad to find out I am not the only person that has had the same problem.

    • I think it might be more common than we think but at the time I was sure that it was a fabulous story line and would make the best thing I ever wrote. I guess I was wrong!

  16. Since I put a book by the bed to write in, I’ve not had any dreams to write about!

  17. I love this. Usually I get ideas while playing fetch with Miles in the park. I can’t stop and write stuff down since Miles doesn’t give a crap that an idea struck me.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

