Comments Pave “The Way”


P1000198

umcor

During the month of December I designated Comments for a Cause to go to UMCOR specifically directed to relief efforts for Tyhoon Haiyan in the Philippines.  I am happy to report that with your help we will be donating $234.50 to UMCOR directly for aid to continue to be given to help the folks in this disaster ravaged area.   Our family also designated this as the Christmas charity this year so it was a family effort also and I am thrilled that so much was donated to help in this extreme time of need.

One of the joys of being a parent is watching your children grow up into productive and amazing young men and women.  Chris and I have been blessed by our sons, Micah and Aaron, and know that there have been a lot of people along the way who have been mentors and advisors when we were not there to offer that wisdom.  There have been a myriad of folks who have seen things in our boys and encouraged and guided and we are so grateful for them.   Which leads me to our next Comments for a Cause for January.

Our youngest, Aaron, has had an amazing time since graduation from NCSU and beginning his career with Cisco.  He has been blessed with working with a lot of really great folks and one of them, Marian, has been a wonderful mentor and friend.  That is why is was a no brainer when Aaron sent me a text saying that Marian’s husband, Dave, was going on an “adventure” for a cause and maybe this would be a good Comments for a Cause recipient.

Dave and Marian Courtenay

Dave and Marian Courtenay

Dave Courtenay is a motivated man.   He has a goal and we are all going to be able to be a part of seeing him achieve his goal as he walks “the Camino de Santiago” in April 2014 to raise funds for cancer research as cancer has touched his life time and time again. Dave will be walking the Camino Frances which originates in France and ends in Spain. Quite a feat and one that I am thrilled to be a small part of.  In Dave’s own words from his blog at The Way–My Way

As with all things its best to start at the beginning and give you an idea of what, why and where.  I am 50 year old male born in Britain and proud of it, over the years I have lived in Northern France and Switzerland before moving to North Carolina in the USA 4+ years ago.
I love to travel and so far have visited over 20 countries, I have 4 brothers of which 3 have suffered from various forms of cancer.  Over the last 3 years I have lost two of my brothers to cancer which has been incredibly hard.  It was after my brother Gerald passed that I decided that I would do something about it.  My brothers had been diagnosed with cancer in their 50’s and now that I am 50 it was time to change my lifestyle.
I had watched the movie ‘The Way’ with Martin Sheen over a year ago and after my 2nd brother died I found the movie on Netflix so I watched it again and an idea started to form.  After talking to my wife I decided that I would walk ‘the Camino De Santiago’ also known as ‘The Way’, an 800km pilgrimage across France and Spain.  I will be walking to raise funds for Cancer research (more of which in a later blog), I plan to start my walk in April 2014 and hope to finish in around 35-36 day.  I will be walking the Camino Frances which starts at St Jean Pied De Port in France and ends at Santiago De Compostela in Spain.  My Wife plans on meeting me in Sarria in Spain and walking the last 70 miles to Santiago.

Please join me in wishing Dave well and joining in by following along on his blog at The Way–My Way and by commenting here as frequently as you can.  Remember that each legitimate comment on any post (not just those posted in January 2014) can add another 50 cents to the total sponsorship of Dave through Cancer Research Institute.  You can view his personal site here and make a donation of your own if you would like. I also believe we might be in store to see some beautiful photographs as a result as Dave is a professional photographer.

logoCRI

For more information about the pilgrimage routes please click here.

Happy 2014 to everyone!!!  May your year be filled with all of the things that you love the most!

Comments

  1. That is great! I can’t wait to start a similar Comments for a Cause program on my blog in the New Year to help other causes such as UMCOR.

    • Let me know when you get it started (in case I miss the announcement) and I will add you to my sidebar and promote the heck out of you!!! Such a great way to raise awareness for charities others may not know about!!!! Happy New Year!

  2. Allison Spruill says:

    So excited to see this new cause! Happy New Year!

    • Thanks, Allison!!! I have yet to meet Dave and Miriam in person but hopefully will soon. They have been so good to Aaron. It makes my heart happy when others see in him what we see !

  3. wow….
    this is amazing! I want to wish you a very happy and healthy new year.. May 2014 only bring great things your way!!!

  4. This is a super choice! Dave Courtenay walk on!

  5. What an amazing thing for Dave to do. such an awesome love tribute to his brothers. will definitely have to check out his blog. I have wanted to watch that Martin Sheen movie too — I did see a Canadian one called One Week with Joshua Jackson that was a similar idea. He travels by motorbike across Canada, and we get some stunning landscape shots. I imagine Dave as a photographer will be equally as impressive.
    Happy New Year to you, and may all the blessings you bestow on other be returned to you!

  6. Looking forward to leaving and reading everyone’s comments. Thanks for introducing us to Dave and his journey.

  7. Yes, it does take more than just two parents to raise successful, well-adjusted young men and women these days! Sounds like a good cause — best wishes to Dave on his walk!

  8. This is an amazing cause to pick. I hope Dave is able to not just meet, but exceed his fundraising goals. Happy 2014!

  9. This is another wonderful comment for a cause. I wish Dave lots of luck and can’t wait to hear how is journey goes. Happy New Year!!!

  10. I have a friend here in Cuenca who recently did the walk. She’s finishing a book about it. Though SHE was NOT raising money for any cause. This is EXCELLENT, Beth Ann.

    I’ve been away from the blogosphere for nearly two weeks. We’ve had guests from the US and have been traveling around our new home country. We are at the airport getting ready to fly from Quito to Cuenca, at which time posting should return to normal. Sorry to have missed so many posts.

    Happy New Year, my friend!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  11. Happy New Year! What a fabulous thing you do with the comments for a cause. I have only this past year heard of the Camino de Santiago. And have loved learning about it. Quite intrigued actually. Good luck to your friend and his cause.

  12. You are the best, Beth Ann, always assisting others. God has given you the most caring and giving heart and to be able to assist someone who has mentored your Aaron is a double blessing. Happy New Year, my friend! (Notice the exclamation mark.)

  13. Happy New Year!

  14. What a great cause. May this walk be both healthful and healing for Dave. Thanks for sharing.

  15. I have came across your blog now a few times, commented here and there, always admired your ‘commenting for a cause’ – I think now it is time to officially follow you, too. Being a fellow photographer I will be sure to check out Dave’s blog as well – what a sad ‘wake up call’ for him and what an awesome way for him and you to address the dreaded cancer.
    A very Happy New Year with lots of joy and health to you.

  16. Happy New Year Beth Ann & family! Another great cause!

  17. Happy New Year! I think this is another great cause!!

  18. What a perfect Comments For A Cause. I have long been an admirer of individuals who have walked the Camino de Santiago and to do so for cancer research is admirable. Happy New Year Beth!

    • There are a lot of folks who have done it or know someone who has and it is a really amazing thing to me! I am thrilled to “tag” along with Dave!

  19. Such a great initiative and a lovely way to start a New Year with. A Cause, any Cause needs to be fueled by and get aligned to your deep felt intentions. Dave Courtenay’s Cancer initiative clearly falls in this category. The challenge however is to spread the awareness amongst folks who sync with such a cause.

    Shakti

  20. Theresa Pendergast says:

    Dave is married to my cousin, and we are very proud of the work he will be undertaking this year. It is a huge feat, and i know others who have tried to tackle the length of it, but only managed a short piece, but still found it very enriching and rewarding

    I will be following Dave’s blog and wishing him well along the way

  21. Another great cause. I wish Dave well and I’ll do my best to comment often. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  22. Fantastic! Thank you for the opportunity to give back from the comfort of my desktop, truly appreciated. Go Dave – snap a picture for me please, can’t wait to hear of the journey over a bottle of wine!

    • Hey Cassie—-it is always good to have friends of the Comments for a Cause person or project join in on the fun!!! I am so excited about this —spread the word so everyone can support Dave this way!!! Thanks for stopping by! Come back anytime—I post almost daily. 🙂

  23. Deb & Rich says:

    We wish Dave the very best of luck, it’s an impressive and admirable thing he’s doing.

  24. Sam Upchurch says:

    Though I have already donated for Dave and Marian’s Walk, I still thank them for their incredible support and wish you all the blessings for a successful endeavor in your cause.

    • Sam, Thank YOU so much for taking the time to stop by and comment on Dave’s behalf!!! I am very excited about this whole adventure and know that they are going to be blessed as well as blessing us in the meantime!!! Thanks, Sam!

  25. Faye Cavalchire says:

    Marian and Dave are two of my best friends in fact they are more family to me than friend..I have been walking with Dave some to give him company on his walk and make me healthier..and I know Aaron as well from parties of Marian and Dave. Thanks for doing this..a very worthy cause!!!!

    • Oh Faye— thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! If I lived closer I would be walking with Dave, too! Such a great thing he is doing and thrilled to be a tiny part!

  26. I never knew about your “Comments for a Cause” series – how clever & awesome! I have had the privilege of being mentored and befriended by Marian as well in my career (and working with Aaron – which makes me feel pretty lucky too!). In our team, we often refer to each other as our “Cisco family”. We are a close bunch, and I am so proud to say Marian, her husband Dave, and Aaron (among others) are part of my family”.

    Thank YOU for supporting this cause. And more importantly, thanks for being a part of our family 🙂

    • Aw, Somer!!! Thanks so much for including me in the extended Cisco family. Your name is VERY familiar and Aaron has talked about you frequently. I am thrilled to be a baby part of Dave’s adventure and am so happy to “meet” you all. We are so thankful that Aaron found such a great group to be with . Thanks again, Somer, for the sweet words!

  27. Well done Marian and Dave keep up the good work

  28. Diana Thorne says:

    Beth, we have greatly benefitted from ‘Comments for a Cause’ when Lew went on his Amazon missions trip. What a blessing you are. We love Dave and Marian and are so excited for this undertaking which requires so much discipline and commitment but will reap so many rewards. We know it will be successful. Blessings.

    • Aw— that brought a huge smile to my face! So happy to meet all of these wonderful folks along the way. There are so many amazing folks out there!!!! Thank YOU for your part!

  29. Sal Pearce says:

    This is awesome! I have had the great pleasure of working closely with both Marian and Aaron in the past and I think it’s wonderful how we are all coming together to support a cause.

    • Sal—Yay!!! Thanks so much for stopping by! I think this is one of the reasons I love Cisco so much—you are all family!!!! Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment!

  30. Please donate money for the cause!

  31. Well done Marian and Dave, best wishes form your cousins in Brickens Co. Mayo Ireland x

  32. Well done Dave and Marian we will be with you in spirit all the way

  33. great cause xx

  34. Monica & John Alianti says:

    A very big thanks to David Courtenay on his cancer initiative! We look forward to supporting his pilgrimage from France to Spain. In my immediate family, I’m the only one that has not had cancer (out of 5 people). We appreciate and believe in Dave’s very important work!!

  35. lorraine lowry says:

    I think what Dave is doing is brillant and I have no doubt he will be inspired along this beautiful route. It is a pilgrimage I have ambitions to do myself and I am looking forward to seeing some pics best of luck Dave x

  36. Brittany Lassiter says:

    Such big hearts! 🙂

  37. Thank you for doing this to show your support for my cause, The cause is now greater for me as last week my eldest brother Michael was diagnosed with a brain tumor and will undergo surgery this Saturday, I had 4 brothers and now all have had cancer of one kind or another, Its been tough getting people to comment but there is still time, Once again Thank you, The 500+ miles i will be walking will be nothing compared to what my family has gone through and hopefully the money raised will help stop others going through the same

    • Oh Dave—I am so sorry to hear about your brother and will definitely be keeping him in my prayers. Your family has really been affected with health issues and your dedication to doing something to help with research for cancer is so admirable!!! Thank YOU for being such a fabulous example! It’s been nice “meeting” a lot of your fans!

  38. In May 2014, I will also be lacing up my sneakers and walking the last 70 miles of the Camino De Santiago with Dave to raise money for the Cancer Research Institute. I wanted to take the opportunity to thank you Beth. Every donation, no matter how large or small makes a difference to someones life… So thank you again for choosing to highlight our fundraising efforts.

  39. Kim Siciliano says:

    I am a friend of Dave and his wife Marian. My husband and I admire his motivation and strong will to do this. He has a great deal of determination, and we wish him the best on his journey and great goal!! We believe he will succeed, and come back with great pride with what he accomplishes, way to go Dave!!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Kim! It has been great getting the chance to “meet” all of Dave and Marian’s friends. I know this is going to be an amazing trip .

  40. I am so very proud of Dave, he is doing an amazing thing xxx

  41. Dave so sorry to hear about your brother hope all turns out well You are great to be doing the walk good luck

  42. Marcy Courtney says:

    Good luck

  43. Mark Davies says:

    Hope your feet hold out .

  44. Wendy Ellis says:

    It has just sank in, just what a challenge you are taking on, good luck xx

    • Wendy, Thanks for stopping by! I think Dave is really going to have the adventure of a lifetime—Marian, too! So glad to have all his family and friends supporting him and stopping by!!!

  45. Lloyd Courtenay says:

    That’s my uncle, David, trying to do a good thing in memory of not only my dad but others within the familly who have suffered or are still suffering. This will help prevent people going through what any of us have had to go through and i feel incredibly proud to say that my uncle is the one doing this pilgramage. Good luck Dave, know you can do it!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Lloyd. I am so happy to be a small part of Dave’s journey this way. He has a big heart and this is an amazing thing that he is doing. We are all cheering for him, aren’t we?

  46. Lynsey Courtenay says:

    David and Marian are my auntie and uncle, my dad is one of the brothers he lost. My dad and uncle Gerald will be so proud of you xx

  47. Dave Shuman says:

    Dave & Marian are good friends and they are going to get lengths to make this a success. Dave is out walking 30 miles a day “just in preparation”! He will likely be walking this journey twice; once in preparation, once on “The Way”. He is committed, rain, shine, snow, heat and cold. He is prepared mentally and physically. Being alone walking for weeks gives one plenty of time to ponder, meditate, and consider life like few ever find time to do, as we are all so busy in our own worlds. I look forward to reading his blog as he travels through this Grand Adventure! God Speed Dave and Marian!

    • Dave, Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. What a great supporter you are! I know that we are all very excited to see and hear how the trip goes and you are right—-it is going to be quite a time for him for reflection and introspection. Thanks again for taking the time to stop by.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Courtenay for his Camino de Santiago walk to raise money for Cancer Research Institute.   You can read more about it here.  Dave is doing an amazing thing and his wife, Marian, will be joining him on the last 70 miles. […]

  2. […] in support of Dave Courtenay’s Camino De Santiago Walk.   You can read all about it by clicking on this link to take you to a separate page.  A lot of Dave’s family and friends and co-workers of his wife Marian chimed in on the […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

