“Expert” Advice


P1160009I am “scarfily” challenged.   What that means is that try as I might I can never seem to make the pretty scarves that I have hanging in my closet look anything like other people make them look.  I love the look of adding a scarf to just accessorize and dress up an outfit but I have tried all of those Pinterest ideas and mine just don’t turn out looking anything like the pictures.  Until now!

I found a great You Tube video via Cinch.  If you have never heard of Cinch it is a fairly new social media app that you can use on your phone to get great advice. Once the app is installed you can set up your profile to designate different areas where you feel like you can offer good information.  I chose Arts and Crafts, Food and Cooking, Parenting, Pets and Travel.  There are a ton to choose from and once you set up your profile you are good to go.

Simple process—type in a question and soon the other “experts” in those areas will receive a query and be able to respond.  Rachel responded to my question about tying scarves and shared a You Tube video which was excellent.  I will be rocking the scarves now!

The Magic Trick Scarf

The Magic Trick Scarf

Today I recevied the following question:  “What’s the best way to cast a mold of mold made with oil clay?”   Well, William—-I have no idea.  Maybe I am going to have to change my area of expertise.   Does anyone need advice on how to wear the most cat hair in the universe as an accessory???

Comments

  1. Miranda Gargasz says:

    Dear Cat Hair Accessory Lady,

    LOL! You are too funny, Beth Ann!

  2. GREAT video, Beth Ann. I am “scarfily” challenged, as well. At least, I realize that seeing how many different ways there are to wear a scarf! Wow.

    Hope you stayed warm this weekend!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • It is fabulous, isn’ it???? I love it that now I can actually tie them!
      We got our first decent snow yesterday so today I will be shoveling sidewalks….driveway is plowed but no one but me to do the sidewalks. Baking and shoveling is on the agenda today–that will keep me warm!

  3. I can never wear scarves either.. I have to try cinch

  4. I downloaded Cinch but had not really checked it out. Guess I will now! You’ll become a scarf tying NINJA!

  5. Thanks for the tip on Cinch! I have scarf envy. I want to wear them but I can’t make them look pretty and it doesn’t take long before I am yanking them off because my neck gets all hot and claustrophobic!

  6. You crack me up. 🙂 I love scarves – I know that I don’t always get them looking perfect, but I feel naked without one in the winter – indoors or out! And naked in the winter in Minnesota is not good. 🙂

    • No…naked in winter in Minnesota is definitely not a good thing! We finally got our first snow of any depth—snowplow in the driveway at 3 am, snowplow on the roads at 4 am—-yawn. Is it spring yet?

  7. Coming soon…an original Beth Ann tutorial on scarf tying.

    Great post. I had my daughters teach me the one scarf tying option I remember from their lessons.

  8. I seem to always do the same thing with my scarves as well. Can’t wait to try some new ones!

  9. Beth Ann, I have NEVER been able to wear scarves. I always feel like I look like I’m wearing an immense napkin crammed under my chin, or one of those neck braces people wear after they’ve injured their necks! Thanks for such an interesting video — perhaps all isn’t lost and I’ll give scarves another chance. There are so many pretty ones in the stores this season!

    • Haha–that is exactly how I always felt but this video has changed my life. Well, maybe not THAT dramatic but I have worn decent looking scarves the past 3 days! Woo hoo!

  10. I got an email about Cinch the other day, but it didn’t explain it nearly as well as you just did. I might actually try it out now!!

    As far as scarves go, I have the exact same problem. Clearly I need to ask for help like you did.

    • Tracie–thanks for stopping by! I think Cinch is going to be my “go to” app now ! I was so excited by the “expert” advice and I have been able to offer mine to one other person. I am not an “expert” on anything but it is nice to feel like one for a little bit. 🙂 The scarf video is wonderful, isn’t’ it?? Thanks for commenting!

  11. I think I’m going to have to try out Cinch! Thanks for the post about it!

  12. that was truly amazing. I have some beautiful scarves that I have received as gifts, and I never wear them. maybe once or twice as the shawl because even I can manage that. But tying one? escaped me. very cool.
    no help with cat hair, sorry. 🙂

    • Get busy—try to tie some of these. I really was thrilled to be able to finally make some of these actually look right!!! I would be happy to send you some cat hair if you need some….

  13. I love the look of scarves and will have to book mark this page. I don’t really get to wear them too much because it really just gets too hot here. Thanks so much for sharing!!! 🙂

  14. I have scarf envy! Thanks for sharing the video. My daughter showed me how to tie one she wore last year, yep, I forgot how to do it.

  15. I should send you my scarves. I have some and never use them. This is nice, but just not me. I admit, I am an aging hippie (but conservative & clean),

  16. I have tried scarves and always give up and off it comes. Maybe I will try a couple of those that may fit an old lady.

  17. What a great idea! I used to ride the bus with a lady who always had the most beautifully put together outfits & usually included scarves. One day I commented on her scarf of the day & she gave me some great ideas on how to include a scarf as an accessory. But I didn’t learn how to tie a scarf & I quit working shortly after so I never really learned how or had the occasion to wear scarves after that. Kelvin isn’t too impressed if I wear a scarf with my house dress! Hahahaha!

    • Well Kelvin needs to get a clue about fashion! 🙂 Isn’t’ it funny how some women can really pull it off and make it look so perfect and easy ? And then there are those like me who just make it look ridiculous????

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

