Wordless Wednesday


P1150725

Comments

  1. Allison Spruill says:

    Great picture! That was timed perfectly!

  2. GREAT photo, Beth Ann. Loved your referring to it as “waiting for a snack.” I suspected it might be about one of your kitties. This is ever better. Hope you have a lovely day, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • One time I saw a hawk swoop down and snatch an unsuspecting finch from the feeder when we were staying in Ohio. I was traumatized but I suspect not quite as much as that finch!!! It is all part of nature but it was hard to see!

  3. He may be “waiting for a snack,” but he is beautiful!

    • He is a beauty. I have seen him around lately and I suspect my feeders are his main attraction. I might have gotten ones finally that the deers can’t totally empty out but now I am attracting different types of “predators”. 🙂

  4. What a great shot. Taken through a clean window?

    I would be traumatized, too, by a hawk swooping up a finch.

    • I actually was able to go out the kitchen door and get this guy. I took several through the window and then he was staying around so I walked out and he posed for me!!!

  5. Glad I’m not his snack. Look at his talons and beak!

  6. About a year ago, I was on a short driveway behind work, when out of the woods came a hawk with a squirrel in its talons, flying directly at my windshield, it instinctively realized that it couldn’t get enough altitude to get over the car, it dropped the squirrel and just barely cleared my windshield.. I then circled overhead and screeched, apparently at me, as I got out of my car to check on the squirrel’s condition. One of my co-workers witnessed all this as he was walking down there at the same time. It was pretty awesome.. I also had another up close and personal meeting with a hawk a few years ago, but that’s a story for another time.

  7. I’ve seen these things swooping over the empty fields, too, but I’ve never been fast enough to get a good closeup. Glad you were able to! I suspect he/she was looking for a mouse. Or a bunny. Or even a Yorkie of some sort!

  8. I bet your yard was super quiet while this hawk shops—I bet he thinks your bird feeder is a convenience store.

  9. That is such a great picture. He looks likeli he likes to have his picture taken.

  10. wow – what a great pic! he looks so majestic just perched there.

  11. Wow, very cool bird shot!

  12. Uh oh…hunting your feeders! Beautiful hawk, though!

  13. What a handsome looking bird!

  14. What a beauty! Nice shot. Gee, I wonder where all the birdies went?

  15. A hawk! Wow that’s really cool!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

