Idioms all Over the Place


Let Sleeping Cats Lie

Let Sleeping Cats Lie

Idioms.   Funny word but one that carries with it a lot of great images in my mind.  Today please join me as I share a few of my favorites.   Feel free to add your own in the comments—I would love to hear what your favorites are!  If you forgot what an idiom is here is what Wikipedia says is the definition:

 a combination of words that has a figurative meaning owing to its common usage.

  1.  Actions speak louder than words.
  2. Blood is thicker than water.
  3. Cut to the chase.
  4. Drastic times call for drastic measures.
  5. Elvis has left the building.
  6. Flash in the pan.
  7. Go out on a limb.
  8. Hell in a handbasket.
  9. It takes two to tango.
  10. You’re joshing me.
  11. Keep your chin up.
  12. Let the cat out of the bag.
  13. Mum’s the word.
  14. New York minute.
  15. Over my dead body.
  16. Pedal to the metal.
  17. Rule of thumb.
  18. Sitting shotgun.
  19. Till the cows come home.
  20. Under the weather.
  21. Variety is the spice of life.
  22. Water under the bridge.
  23. X marks the spot.
  24. You can’t judge a book by its cover.
  25. Zero tolerance.
Comments

  1. What a great list! I can’t think of any others though sorry! LOL

  2. I, too, love idioms, thus my art is “idiomART.” My grandmother used to say that something wasn’t “worth a hill of beans.” Great list, Beth Ann!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  3. Idioms are so much fun once you start thinking about them, “for what it’s worth”.. 😀
    Fit as a fiddle!
    Good Morning!!

  4. Oh, those sweet kitty cats…

    No idioms from me either.

  5. Colleen McRoberts says:

    Because my grandpa Loss was awesome, and I keep these ones alive to remember him:
    Colder than a well-digger’s shovel
    Useless as tits on a boar
    Slower than molasses in January
    And the one which got me in a lot of trouble when I was a sophmore in college:
    You look like you been rode hard and put away wet.

  6. “Throw a monkey wrench into the works” and “Pot calling the kettle black” are two of my favorites. I love to say, “pot meet kettle, kettle meet pot”, and I’m referring to myself at times when I catch myself being somewhat judemental.

    Love your list ~

  7. I have enjoyed all the Idioms, many I have heard, a few surprised me and now I cannot think of any. I love your pictured Idiom. They are enjoying a great nap.

  8. It takes two to tango, and two wrongs don’t make a right..

  9. Word play is fun! What a great list.
    How about “cut the tension with a knife”?

  10. How about these:
    Having your cake and eating it, too
    Being pennywise and pound foolish
    Saved by the bell
    When pigs fly
    Good list, Beth Ann!!

  11. I love researching how and where idioms came from. Like “rule of thumb” is from an old law that said you couldn’t beat your wife with anything bigger than your thumb.” nice eh?
    Or “raining cats and dogs” is because such animals used to be kept under the thatched roofs of cottages to stay warm — but in heavy rains they would fall through the thin ceilings. interesting isn’t it?
    I always wondered where “laugh one’s head off” could have possibly come from. I fear it probably is just as it sounds: someone lost their head!

  12. Two Peas in a pod (your image made me think of this)
    You can get use to hanging if you hang long enough (family favorite)
    If wishes were horses beggars would ride
    Once you practice to deceive ohhhhh what an ugly web you weave.
    A fool and his money are soon parted
    Picture paints a 1000 words
    All bark and no bite
    Close but no cigar
    Run it up the flagpole
    Go out on a limb

  13. After reading all these, my mind is blank! Maybe I can come up with one tomorrow.

  14. I have none to add, but will say that idioms don’t translate very well. I remember people looking at me like I was crazy when we lived in France and I said that I couldn’t eat anymore because I was stuffed. That thought got lost in translation!

    • Idioms don’t translate well in other languages!!! I agree!!! And I bet the French thought you were nuts when you said you were stuffed! That makes absolutely no sense whatsoever! Thanks fro stopping by!

  15. Hello Beth, How you doing?
    I always fond of reading and using idioms,
    And I always dream about idioms, I love em….
    I am regular visitor of your blog, and this time it’s something special your post for visitors like me. I guess, the above list is your favorite 25 idioms. My favorite idioms are: apple of eye and Banana republic. Thanks…

    Lilly

    • Lilly, thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and comment!!! I love that you have been a regular visitor and are commenting!! I love your idioms, too!!! They are fun, aren’t they? ALways a new one to think about !

  16. This is a great list – and after reading it, I really realized how often we use a lot of these. It took me a while to learn them and I often got confused when I first heard them…

  17. Bill and I play word games a lot. I love these!
    *hair of the dog
    *blessing in disguise
    *blue moon
    *like a lead balloon
    *stealing someone’s thunder
    *feeling blue
    These are some I grew up with. Now I’m going to have to think about it!

  18. And you made an alphabetized list of them!

  19. How’s tired as a dog? That’s how I feel!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

