84 and Going Strong


beth's baptismWe all have them.  Mom.  Mother. Mama.  Mommy. Momma.   There is no way that you came into the world without one.

Not all are perfect.  Not all can care for their child in the way that they deserve.

I had and still have one of the best.

She would argue that she was not and is not perfect but she did just fine, thank you very much.

I am proof positive of what a loving family can produce .  Fortunately for me I was the youngest of four children so by the time they got to me they got the kinks worked out of that whole parenting thing.

Today my mom celebrates her 84th birthday and even though I am not going to be physically with her today I will be with her in spirit and you know that a phone call will be made.

babybeth

I think we were a pretty adorable little family back then.   I am sure my mom who reads my blog religiously will cringe at seeing these photos but too bad.  Until she gets a blog of her own I will continue to sing her praises and thank her for so many memories of a childhood and adulthood that include her.

So today help me wish my mom a happy 84th—-I am sure she will feel the need to comment on how horrible these pictures are so check out her comment below which I am sure she will make!   Just look for Helen Brown–mother extraordinary.

One of my favorite pictures of my mom and me taken a few years ago.

One of my favorite pictures of my mom and me taken a few years ago.

Comments

  1. Happy Birthday to your Mom!!!
    I think your Mom did an awesome job!

    • Thank you, Lisa!!! She is quite a lady and I am so blessed to have had the two parents that I had!!! And that I still have her going strong is even better!!!

  2. Happy, happy Birthday to your mom!!! I think, she did an awesome job because you are awesome! Hope she has a wonderful day. 🙂

  3. Happy, happy birthday, Helen! Beth Ann is right on everything she wrote because she reflects the values, the morals, the everything you instilled in her. She is one of the most encouraging people I know and I expect (I mean, know) that comes from loving parents.

    May God bless and keep you on your birthday, Helen!

    As for the photos, they are fabulous.

  4. hilaryfeelingbeachie says:

    OMG! Your mom and I share a birthday! Love it! I hope your mom has an amazing birthday!

    I love the pictures of you guys (past and present)

  5. Happy Birthday Mrs. B.

  6. Happy Birthday to your Mom! How blessed you both are to have each other ~ and to know how blessed you are! Beautiful photos ~ such happiness radiating from you both! May all of your wishes come true Mom (and Beth Ann!)

  7. Happy Birthday to your Mom Beth! May she have a wonderful day!!

  8. Happy Birthday Helen Brown! Wishing you a wonderful day. You have a very special daughter who makes friends werever she goes. My Mom will be 85 next month. Here’s to all the wonderful mothers who paved the way for us by setting a good example.Thanks Beth for sharing these adorable pictures. I love the last one especially which shows how much you love each other.

  9. Happy Birthday to your mom! I love love the pictures. so wonderful to have those memories captured.
    And you did good Mom!! You raised a daughter who is happy, has a great sense of humour, and with a heart of compassion and love who reaches out to others: what more could any of us ask?

    • Thanks, Les! She has not seen the blog post yet so she did not “chide” me for posting those pics! I am blessed beyond belief with the parents I had. And you are so sweet to say all those nice things. Blush blush.

  10. Happy Birthday to your Momma! My father will be 80 in a couple weeks. It seems like there are a few of us bloggers with parents turning 80ish this month!

  11. A million happy birthday wishes to your mama! Here’s to many more years of health and happiness!

  12. Allison Spruill says:

    Happy birthday to your mom! Love the pics!

  13. Saundra Shultz says:

    Make me miss my Mama so much today.

  14. I have 4 wonderful children and yes, Beth was the last one and we took it much easier with her as we had learned through the years. They had a great father who was busy but took time to be with them as much as possible. I had a great mother and I learned a lot from her by the way she was with me. I will not comment on the pictures.

  15. Happy birthday!

  16. Happy birthday to your mom!

  17. Happy birthday, Beth’s Mama!

  18. Aww, I missed it… but… happy birthday to your mom!! 🙂 That last pic is adorable!

  19. heykristimiller says:

    Happy, happy 84 years young to your mom! What a sweet tribute to the woman who shaped you into who you are today!

  20. Beautiful!

  21. 84 is quite the milestone. I hope she spent her special day with lots of good company.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

