Lessons Learned


sockmonkeyI am on day 8 of the NaBloPoMo challenge and having a great time doing it.  Today the BlogHer prompt is :

Tell us what you have learned so far about blogging every day.

Since I am a list maker and list lover I decided to approach it this way.  In a list.  Feel free to add yours in the comments below!

  1. Blogging every day works well if you have massive amounts of coffee to fuel you.
  2. The support and encouragement from a community who is writing along with you is vital.  (Thank you especially to YeahWrite and Nano Poblano folks who have taken the time to stop by)
  3. While there are tons of prompts out there to use as jumping off points (like this one) it is often difficult for me to write according to a prompt.  My best (IMHO) writing comes from the heart.
  4. Having preset days for Teapot Tuesday and Wordless Wednesday posts really help to take some of the pressure off so I am continuing those during the month.
  5. Having a goal is a very good incentive on Day 8.  By day 30 it might feel more like a “job”.  I don’t want blogging to be a job.  It never was meant to be anything more than fun.
  6. I have discovered that there are a zillion and two blogs out there.   There is no way I can possibly visit everyone’s blog and read it and give it a fair read so I hope that the Blogging Gods are leading me to ones that share a kindred spirit.
  7. Blogging every day has given me a bit more discipline.  I tend to waste a lot of time.  Knowing that I made this commitment is something that is holding me accountable. Even if no one notices if I miss a day—I know—and I don’t want to have that on my permanent record.
  8. Having a great Comments for a Cause recipient this month has made me feel like I need to step up my game as well.   (Read about it here if you don’t know what that is all about. )  Allison is doing a great job of recruiting folks so I feel that I need to give them something worthwhile to read.
  9.  I love my WordPress based blog and when I visit non-WordPress blogs I realize that I am on the platform that fits me and what I want to do.   I love my template and my logo and don’t want to change anything at this point.
  10. I have learned that a list needs to have 10 things even if you don’t have anything to really put on number 10.
Comments

  1. I like your number ten – I feel the same way. I have often abandoned a list because I deemed it unfinished when there was less than ten points!!! I’ve been abel to post every day as well so far and hope to be able to keep up with it. It is a challenge for sure but like you said having certain days where you do the same thing, helps so much!!!

    • The posting every day seems to be going along okay even though I didn’t do Hilary’s blog hop today. I should have planned that a bit better but I liked the prompt for today!

  2. I love list posts but often have a hard time organizing myself into lists. Jeff Bullas the blogger king blogger (well at least one of the kings) writes lists of different lengths all the time. I am starting with #1 on your list– a CUPPA.

    • A cuppa should be the first thing on about every list, IMHO. I got started on that list and decided 10 was a good number but then couldn’t quite get there! Typical.

  3. I, too, love the look of your blog. And with your assistance, perhaps we can enhance mine also.

    I agree that posts written from the heart are the easiest to write and the ones to which your readers will respond with the most enthusiasm.

    Happy blogging and happy weekend.

    • Thanks, Audrey!!! I have to have inspiration to write, I guess. The sun is warm and bright in NC and we are catching up on emails and stuff while Aaron is on calls. 🙂 See you Monday!

  4. Allison Spruill says:

    I’ve learned how valuable and generous friends, old and new, can be! Thank you to everyone for the comments! I will also plan to comment more in the future for upcoming causes.

    • Thank YOU, Allison. You sure do have a lot of folks cheering you on and it is no surprise to me!!! So glad we could “partner up” this month and raise some money for your trip!

  5. Saundra Shultz says:

    I don’t have what it takes to blog every day. Congratulations to you and others who do.

  6. The support system has been great, I agree! It’s fun to connect with other bloggers 🙂

  7. Haha I always want to have ten things on a list as well! And I totally commend you for posting daily, I failed miserably straight out the gate. It was like: Day One! *stumbles, falls facedown*

    • OH no—you are not a failure whatsoever!!! I think the challenge is just that—a challenge. If you can do it every day –great. If not–do what you can!!! I have enjoyed reading your posts!!

      • Thank you! I always think “oh I can whip that story out super fast” and then… 3 hours passes. *sigh* Keep up the good work!

        • Thanks Aussa! I know what you mean—I have good intentions also but then sometimes……I have to get posts written when I am in good form1!!!

          • I find you all inspriring! Logging into my favorite blogs and getting to know everyone who writes and stops by is very inspiring! So much going on in everyone’s lives! We all do different things and share our lives! 😀 Love my mornings with you! 😉

  8. When I did my poem every day for the month of November it was HARD. Writing itself is hard to commit to, but to actually do it in poetic form every day was a bit of a challenge to say the least. But I am glad I did it. And the final result was 30 poems that I might not have pushed myself to write in a variety of forms and topics. So it was a great accomplishment in the end.
    If you like lists and find that easy, you can always join Sasha for Monday Listicles. Just google that and you’ll find your way. 🙂

    • I would think that the poetry challenge would be difficult. Perhaps not for a poet!!! 🙂 But for me it is just a miss mash of musings, pictures, prompts and what not. I will have to check out Sasha’s listicles. I remember seeing you doing those and thought they were great.

  9. There is no way I could blog every day. PROcrastination don’t ya know but I admire people that do and the people I follow and read… I love it when they blog every day. I look forward to their posts. I don’t always have something to say but Ima reading!

  10. A wonderful list. I am also very happy with my wordpress blog. I love that you added a tenth point, it’s something I would do. Great job of posting everyday!

  11. I’ve been blogging every day for almost two years. It gets to be just part of the rhythm of live. You think of something, you write something. You post a picture. if you don’t, you feel weird, like you’re missing something important. You’ll see.

    • That is VERY impressive!!! When I started out I was just doing it to really keep in touch with the family while we were overseas but then, especially after I switched to WordPress, it became more of a “I want to do this” type of thing. 🙂

  12. I’ve been making efforts to reach outside of WordPress, but– I love the way WP sites work. I find them eminently easier on the user. 🙂 I also totally agree on #10 and #2. 😀

  13. Massive amounts of coffee. Um, yea! And definitely a sense of humor. I did the same thing for day 8 and wrote a list of what I learned.

    I’m definitely glad I decided to join because it’s led me to interacting with great bloggers like yourself. And I totally agree with you about WordPress. So much easier for commenting and interacting, among other things.

    • Thanks so much, Kim! I have loved finding others like you, too!!! IT amazes me how many blogs there are out there with really talented people behind them!

  14. Mere Frost says:

    I want to start one too…the only thing is I have so many friends on fb and my cooking club and I have my favorite bloggers that I just have to stop in to see everyday! Most of my free time is early am and in the winter! This is a great blog and I enjoy visiting!

  15. By working on NaNoWriMo, I have learned there are some days when I feel inspired & other days when I don’t. And I have to grab the inspiration when it happens & write till my fingers fall off because the more I can get done then the better. Because the next day I might only have a few hundred words in me.

    • I think you are very wise to grab inspiration when it hits!! It does not always hit me very often so I would be following in your footsteps!!!! Write while you are hot!!!

  16. I didn’t realize I was so far behind on blog reading! Nano Poblano–great name! WordPress has spoiled us, haven’t they?

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

