NaBloPoMo + Amazon Smiles


NaBloPoMo_November_large

Before you think I am speaking in a foreign language let me explain.   In the month of November writers and bloggers everywhere make a pledge to write every day.   For writers the goal is to write a novel during the month.  A pretty lofty goal but what a great way to get started.   The official link for this is located here—National Novel Writing Month.  It’s a great thing.  I have dreams of writing a book but honestly—-I don’t know if that is ever going to happen.  If it does I suspect it would be a collection of my blog posts that I edit a bit.

Since I just can’t quite commit  (like Marc, Hilary’s husband of Dangled Carat fame—I have commitment issues) to a novel, I decided to link up with WordPress and BlogHer and do the NaBloPoMo challenge.  National Blog Posting Month is a great way to hone the writing skills without committing to a full out novel.   So here we go.  Every day in November I will have a post up on It’s Just Life.  No promises what they will all be about but trust me—they will be varied.   I have a list of prompts a mile long and good intentions to match that.  I am also linking up with YeahWrite –a new community I found through Rarasaur and her Nano Poblano 2013 group !  There are a bunch of great writers out there and these are some places where they shine!

The great thing is that it may just mean more Comments for a Cause donations for Allison Spruill’s mission trip to the orphanage in Honduras.   (Read my post from November 1st for more info.)   Just think.  If she and her husband come to my blog every single day and leave a comment every single day in November that would mean 30 comments each, 60 comments total, for a total donation of $30 towards her trip.  Now if she recruited 8 friends to do the same the total would rise to $150.   Did I figure that out right?  I need a calculator.  But you get the idea!  With a guaranteed post every day the sky is the limit. (Comments don’t have to be on posts written during the month to count, either.  Trust me—-I have 5 + years of archives to go through.)

To say that I am excited is to put it mildly.  I don’t have a good track record for sticking with things other than with my marriage and  keeping this blog going.  I know it won’t be easy but I am determined.

I found out about a new program through Amazon the other day and immediately signed up.   They launched a new program called Amazon Smile which allows the shopper to select a charity from a vast list to donate to.  Once you enter which charity you would like to donate to –each time you shop Amazon will donate 0.5 of whatever you spend to that charity.  You will be shopping on the same site with the same prices but your spending is going to go to help a cause of your choice.  You can change that charity at any time.  I chose UMCOR for the present but I am sure I will be spreading the love around.  Sure —it is a small amount but if  you are like me you shop on Amazon a lot  it adds up over time.   To access the portal and get started you have to go to this link SmileAmazon.com.  After the initial link up you will be directed there each time you shop if you have saved that info.   Easy peasy.   I would love for all of you who shop on Amazon to give it a try.  The list of charities is endless and if you can think of it it is probably there already!

So join me in this month of thankfulness —I am thankful for each of you who read my words, who take the time to comment and who encourage me in many ways.   NaBloPoMo !!!!nablo_13_175

Comments

  1. That’s great! Good luck!

  2. hilaryfeelingbeachie says:

    I don’t know Beth Ann – you say you can’t commit like Marc couldn’t in Dangled Carat… but in the end he did… So maybe, just maybe NaBoPoMo will be the first step of turning your book dream into reality. And when that happens I want to be your first reviewer!!! Love ya!

  3. Allison Spruill says:

    So excited for you (and for me)! Thanks again!

  4. Joanna graham says:

    You are truly an inspiration to me, so for that I am going to sincerely try and work on some sewing weather it’s hand sewing or machine sewing every day this month. Wish me luck and hopefully good things will come out of it. I will post a picture or two as I work. Woo hoo can’t wait to get started. Now I just have to motivated husband. Hummmm

    • I know good things will come out of it. You need to check out my friend, Doreen’s blog. She is the one who finished up the quilt tops for me that came from Chris’s Grandmother. Her blog is Treadlemusic http://treadlemusic.wordpress.com and she is a wonderful lady to boot. The work she did on my quilts was fabulous!!! Keep me posted as to your progress!!!

  5. I’m going to try to post every day as well. Expect a lot more photos from me though. 🙂 going to check out smile amazon later for now I’m off to enjoy some beach time with Hilary and Marc!!! 🙂

  6. heykristimiller says:

    Wow, what a generous way to allow many others to help sponsor Allison on this trip. We just got home from our fifth adoption trip, so cash is a bit tight. Thanks for allowing me to contribute in this small way. 🙂

    • Hey Kristi! So glad that you stopped by and took the time to comment. I am thrilled to meet you and yes—I can imagine after 5 adoption trips money might be a little tight. 🙂 Please come back anytime. I ramble on and on about a lot of different things! 🙂

  7. Wishing you the best of luck Beth Ann! I think I will have to come back and read this post again when my brain is firing correctly. Lots to take in there. I am not a morning person. Up early but don’t think well until after lunch.. 🙂

  8. Thanks for supporting Allison’s mission work!!!

  9. I really hope your book is done soon as I want to be around to read it. No pressure, just want to be here to enjoy it.

  10. cynthia warner says:

    This Is A Wonderful Idea!

  11. This is also the month of the poetry challenge that I did last year — but I am by passing this year. I intend to work on my novel, and I pretty much post nearly every day anyway. mostly I plan on relaxing during November before the Christmas holiday crazy begins. Sept and Nov. were crazy busy.
    Good Luck!

  12. Good luck with this! I couldn’t possible post a blog a day. I’m so impressed.

  13. How cool. I just signed up for the Amazon program. Comment for a cause is such a great gift to the person commenting and the person receiving the donation. I will see you every day! I know you will be here!

  14. I think this is AMAZING!!! Thank you SO much for your support of missions…especially for Allison…I don’t know her very well (just through the kids and school), but she seems like an wonderful person…with a wonderful family!!!

  15. Thanks for sharing about Amazon Smiles. We do the majority of our Christmas shopping through Amazon, so it would be nice to give back.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I think the Amazon Smiles program is a huge step in the right direction! We do so much shopping on Amazon and I think it will only be a good thing to be able to give back a bit while shopping.

  16. Good luck with the challenge! I’m doing it for the first time.

  17. 😀 Ha, it does sound an awful-like a foreign language! 🙂 You’re an incredibly committed and passionate person, so I have a feeling you’ll navigate this month with your normal grace. I’m so glad that you’re on Team Poblano!

  18. Good luck with the challenge!
    Thank you for sharing the Amazon smile information What a great idea!

  19. Wow, I’m so glad that you posted about the Amazon Smile site – I’ve never heard of it (and I’m addicted to Amazon.. just obsessed). What a great way to get more awareness for charities!

    Ps Good luck on NaBloPoMo – This is my first time doing it so we shall stick together!

    • First timers unite!!!! I was excited about the Amazon Smiles thing and the cool thing is how many charities are in their list that you can choose from. And that you can change it at any time!! It’s a win win!

  20. Awesome challenge. I look forward to your upcoming posts!

  21. Good luck with posting every day Beth Ann! I have committed myself to trying to stay current with your postings so my comments count for the cause even though I’m involved with NaNoWriMo.

  22. Hi, it is really nice to find your blog. I am also doing NaBloPoMo and Rarasaur left me a comment and said I would like your blog. She was right! It is so nice and positive! I will definitely be back again throughout NaBloPoMo to read more of your posts! I run a small children’s charity and think it is so nice you do things to support others, like make a donation for each comment. Wishing Allison all the best with her mission trip!

  23. Sounds like a plan!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

