Teapot Tuesday


This lovely lady was acquired on Ebay some time ago and was part of the Department 56 collection.  Hopefully this one is not offensive to anyone……it is a really pretty teapot with a lot of character.  Enjoy!

P1150114

 

P1150116

 

P1150118

 

In Ireland, you go to someone’s house, and she asks you if you want a cup of tea. You say no, thank you, you’re really just fine. She asks if you’resure. You say of course you’re sure, really, you don’t need a thing. Except they pronounce it ting. You don’t need a ting. Well, she says then, I was going to get myself some anyway, so it would be no trouble. Ah, you say, well, if you were going to get yourself some, I wouldn’t mind a spot of tea, at that, so long as it’s no trouble and I can give you a hand in the kitchen. Then you go through the whole thing all over again until you both end up in the kitchen drinking tea and chatting.

In America, someone asks you if you want a cup of tea, you say no, and then you don’t get any damned tea.

I liked the Irish way better.
― C.E. MurphyUrban Shaman

 

Comments

  1. It’s lovely, Beth Ann, and I LOVE the basket she’s sitting on. That’s cool, too.

    Hope your week has gotten off to a good start.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  2. In the second photo, it looks like she is robbing a store. “Give me all your tea!”

  3. I love that quote but, must admit, not the teapot so much. It’s just odd. I agree with TBM that the basket is pretty sweet.

    • The teapot is different, I admit. I have one that I won’t feature on my blog because it is definitely a “period piece” that is offensive but a work of art in itself. Some day if you visit I can share it! :-0 And the basket is pretty neat, huh?? A nice estate sale find on Ebay.

  4. Joanna Graham says:

    Fantastic Beth. I noticed a Longaburger basket underneath the teapot. I love all of your teapots they are so unique and colorful. Have a great day!

  5. I this one is neat but I think she needs eyes so she can see the tea she is holding.

  6. don’t see why it would be offensive?? I think it’s different – very interesting in fact.
    Love the quote – so true. In the country here, we just put the kettle on, no questions asked.

    • Well I thought maybe it looked more like a “mammy” teapot even if it was not black. Kind of. Glad you didn’t think so! And yes–put the kettle on and don’t even ask–just do it!

  7. Lovely lady and I love the Irish way myself. Sounds like me when I have people over… I will ask over and over again. 🙂

  8. Love the color and the story. My mother and I used to play out that routine over toast ever morning…and then one morning I said No thank you and she fixed her toast and sat down and ate it. I was never more incensed. We went back to the way it was the following morning!

  9. I like this teapot. It has character. I love the Irish quote. It is so funny and also so true.

  10. She makes a pretty teapot. I liked the story at the end, will have to remember that!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

