What to do with a chicken sandwich & 200 pounds of cheese


I very rarely reblog anyone else’s blog here but today I felt that this one was meant to be shared. Please read what Audrey over at Minnesota Prairie Roots shared—and make sure you click on the links she posts. It will positively make your day! Enjoy.

Minnesota Prairie Roots

TYPICALLY I DON’T READ obituaries, unless I recognize the name of the deceased.

But perhaps I should.

This week, thanks to a Michigan blogger (click here), I learned about 85-year-old Mary A. “Pink” Mullaney of Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, who recently died. She left quite a legacy, as noted in her obituary.

For example, Pink advised going to church with a chicken sandwich tucked inside your purse. To feed the homeless.

Feed the hungry, kiss babies, visit those in nursing homes…the list of Pink’s empathy and care for others is lengthy.

She also offered practical advice on shoeing away possums (use a barbecue brush), reuse of panty hose (tie up the toilet flapper, for one) and a place to keep your car keys (under the front seat).

You simply must read Pink’s obit. Click here. I promise you will laugh and cry and reflect on how you live your life.

View original post 257 more words

Comments

  1. Beth Ann, I am blessed beyond measure to be among your friends. You cannot imagine how many times you have positively made my day with your uplifting words of encouragement. You are the best.

    Thanks for reblogging my post and sharing the stories of Pink and Barry with your readers.

  2. Personally, I’m hoping my obit says: He died of old age and self-indulgence. But I will surely, never be mistaken for these good and generous people that were mentioned in your reblog today of MRP’s post.

  3. Oops I meant MRP’s post.

  4. Ooooops again that was MPR’s blog. 3rd time’s a charm.

  5. Not often do you see such an interesting obituary. I read all the comments about Barry. How blessed are the people who knew and loved him.

  6. What a FUN Obit. And some very sound advice! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Joanna graham says:

    What wonderful people they were and I’m sure they are making an impact in heaven. What a nice tribute to some very giving souls. They give me hope to be a better person. Thanks Beth for sharing

    • Weren’t those just the best obits? I really think their families put some love and thought into writing them and they really showed who they were in life. I had to share it from Audrey because they were such great examples on earth of what we all should be striving for. Plus 200 pounds of cheese? Seriously? 🙂

  8. Thanks for sharing this Beth Ann! I used to help people write obits for their loved ones when needed. Loved the cheese!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

