Teapot Tuesday of the Most Unusual Type


I am always trolling Ebay and Etsy for different types of teapots.  I think I hit the jackpot with this 6 spouted beauty!!!  I was thrilled to find it and even more thrilled when it arrived.  I asked the seller a bit about it and this is what was posted on Etsy for the back story.

This vintage Chinese white porcelain teapot with six spouts was purchased from an Iranian in Peshawar. Only one of the spouts actually works; the others are purely decorative and make this teapot extremely unique. A great collector’s treasure.

Size: 6″inches high x 8″inches long(handle to end of spout) x7″inches wide

The repeative decals(or at least they look like decals)of the beautiful lady and young boy might just be Iranian, as the teapot came from Iran. Why not? Even though it was found in Peshawar. And by the way, it is in excellent working condition with no chips or other damage.

I am thrilled with this recent acquisition!   It is positively one of the most unusual ones in my collection.  Have you ever seen one like it?

P1130418

 

 

P1130419

 

P1130420

 

P1130421

 

P1130422

 

 

 

P1130425

I had no idea where Peshawar was located so I went to my second best friend to Google–Mr. Wikipedia and found the following info:

Peshawar (Pashto: پېښور‎ Pex̌awarHindko: پيشور PishōrUrdu: پشاور‎ PishāwarUrduAbout this soundpronunciation(help·info)), also known as Pekhawar, is the capital ofKhyber Pakhtunkhwa (formerly known as the North-West Frontier Province),[2] and the administrative centre and central economic hub for the Federally Administered Tribal Areas of Pakistan.[3] Peshawar is situated in a large valley near the eastern end of the Khyber Pass, close to the Pak-Afghan border. Known as “City on the Frontier”, Peshawar’s strategic location on the crossroads of Central Asia and South Asia has made it one of the most culturally vibrant and lively cities in the greater region. Peshawar is irrigated by various canals of the Kabul River and by its right tributary, the Bara River.

Peshawar has evolved into one of Pakistan’s most ethnically and linguistically diverse cities. In the last three decades, there has been a significant increase in urban population, in part due to internal migration of people in search of better employment opportunities, education, and services, and in part because of the influx of Afghans and other people displaced by military operations and civil unrest in neighboring regions. Peshawar is the major educational, political and business center of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

So now you know!   Let me know what you think of this one!  ““““““““““

 

 

Comments

  1. Jury’s out on this one!!! Great addition to your ever growing collection, though!

  2. I absolutely understand why are you are thrilled with this unique find. It’s as much a work of art as a functional teapot. How many teapots in the collection now?

    • It was just such a neat work of art in my eyes. Once I found out a bit about it I had to have it. I have been strongly encouraged to build a spread sheet with all my teapots and that is on my to do list…….gotta get Chris to do the template since he is Mr. Excel and I am not. I am probably up to at least 175 now…..maybe more????

  3. 175 teapots. did I read that correctly?

  4. I was wondering how you could pour a “cup” ….with 6 spouts. but I guess they thought of that too. I love the uniqueness to this one. and comes with interesting history too. a nice addition.

  5. Joanna Graham says:

    very interesting tea pot. I might be confused for a moment on which spout to use. Another unique addition to your collection.

  6. Russian roulette to find the working spout?

  7. It is a good thing that only one spout is functional as it may be hazardous to your guests if they all were.

  8. That is a very unique tea pot and the back story is so interesting. Love it!

  9. Unique, for certain! I thought maybe you could fill several cups at once! 😉 What a nice piece to add to your collection.

  10. What a great teapot to add to your teapot collection. so different.

  11. Becky Miracle says:

    Well you certainly did a great job of finding a unique one this time! I like the many spouts, even if there is only one actual working spout, not sure I like the many pictures, but the history is very interesting. I cannot believe you have that many…no wonder there has not been a repeat yet! Keep’em comin’ ! Love seeing what Teapot Tuesday will bring.

    • Thanks, Becky! As with any collection once people know you collect something they think of you when they see one. I have so many people who send me pics of teapots they see when they are out shopping! Love it!

  12. WOW!! What a find. This is indeed unique, exotic and mysterious. I love the connection to the Middle East. You have a wonderful collection. Did you say about 175?

    • I did—-I really need to count them and get them all recorded, don’t I? Then I would know! My son just brought me back one from Israel so my “foreign” collection is growing.

  13. This one is truly unusual–kind of wild! I’d like to see a picture of where you store your whole collection.

  14. I think it is pretty dang interesting and definitely unique AND it called to you. That is what collections are all about. I think it is a great addition to your teapot collection!

  15. I love the picture from the top looking down at the spouts pointing up! Very cool! 175 pots? Well, you will always have a pot when you need it….!

  16. Rachael says:

    I’m a little tea pot short and stout,
    Here is my handle, here is my spout,
    Here is my spout,
    Here is my spout,
    Here is my spout,
    Here is my spout,
    Here is my spout….

    Doesn’t work quite as well in the song but a very interesting idea for a teapot!

  17. Wow!! that is one strange teapot!! It might spill the tea

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

