River City Sculptures on Parade–The Final Post


This week I have been sharing the sculptures that are featured here in Mason City for a special exhibit that the city is hosting. The sculptures are on display, voting is taking place and most of them are actually for sale also.  It was a fun afternoon checking them all out and snapping some shots of them.  Chris’s brother, Carlton, had fun walking the tour with us and checking them all out.  We all picked our favorites and on Monday Carlton turned in our official ballots at the library .  Now we wait until September to see what the People’s Choice will be.  My previous posts here and here show the first selections.

Audrey from Minnesota Prairie Roots also did a photographic tour of a similar sculpture walk and there was one sculpture in common.  I am going to let you figure out which one it was!  Click here to go to Audrey’s post that features the Mankato walking tour —she had several posts also and the links are included in this selected post.

Now without further delay—the remaining sculptures featured in the River City Sculptures on Parade!

Circle of Friends by Karen Crain

Circle of Friends by Karen Crain

 

Appropriately situated in front of our library

Appropriately situated in front of our library

 

P1130369

 

Joy of Dance II  by D. E. McDermott

Joy of Dance II by D. E. McDermott

Kinetic Weather Disturbance Ensemble by Douglas Walker

Kinetic Weather Disturbance Ensemble by Douglas Walker

 

Our church in the background

Our church in the background

 

Info plate at Music Man Square where the next statue resides permanently

Info plate at Music Man Square where the next statue resides permanently

 

Carlton posing with The Music Man by Paul Rieffer

Carlton posing with The Music Man by Paul Rieffer

 

Pilgrim of Peace by Feliz Velez

Pilgrim of Peace by Feliz Velez

 

Red Dress by Shohini Ghosh

Red Dress by Shohini Ghosh

 

P1130382

 

 

Hands Held High by Gregory Mendez

Hands Held High by Gregory Mendez

 

Sand Hill Cranes by Gregory Johnson

Sand Hill Cranes by Gregory Johnson

 

P1130387

 

P1130388

 

 

Fish Story by Martha Pettigrew

Fish Story by Martha Pettigrew

 

Carlton fit in nicely with this sculpture!

Carlton fit in nicely with this sculpture!

So there you have it!!!  Which one was your favorite??? Mine was the Circle of Friends but it was not one that was included in the voting so I settled for my second choice of Kinetic Weather Disturbance Ensemble.  Chris chose the Fish Story and Carlton the Dice.  How about you?  If you could vote which one would be your favorite?

Comments

  1. This will not come as a surprise to you. I choose “Circle of Friends.” I want it. For my backyard. Thanks for the fantastic art tour and the shout-out, Beth Ann.

  2. I think I would have chosen “Natural Wonders” from your second post. To me it shows the imagination and promise of youth.. The detail in all of these works is incredible. Blessed is the artist who sees beauty in all things.

  3. I also would have chosen Circle of Friends but since it wasn’t a choice, I would go with Natural Wonders that I chose from your last post. Joy to Dance is also quite delightful. What fun to wander through these sculptures with you.

  4. Was it the scratching dog? Natural wonder was my favorite. Circle of friends is lovely. I suspect the execution of The Dancers and The Sandhull cranes was challenging. Weather Disturbance was FUN.
    Thanks for sharing.

  5. Circle of Friends is the one I’d pick, though the Kinetic Weather Disturbance Ensemble and Sandhill Cranes tied a close second.

  6. I love the circle of friends one, as well. There’s just something about seeing a child read… I love it. 🙂

  7. Circle of Friends was my pick from this group of pictures. Is that the one you expected me to pick?

  8. Rachael says:

    I liked a bunch from today! Circle of friends, Joy of Dance, the Weather Ensemble, and the Sandhill Cranes! We get Sandhill Cranes at the Reservation too- they are so beautiful and have such a distinctive call!

  9. Circle of Friends!!!!
    I liked Red Dress too.. 🙂

  10. Circle of Friends was definitely my favorite & so rare to now see a child with a book. It is very appropriate to have it in front of the library. If your town was going to purchase one that’s the one I would like to see.

    • I love that one, too, and it was not included in the voting. I am hoping that it is going to stay but not sure what the deal was that it was not to be considered. Makes me think it is out of the running for some reason. But it is definitely my favorite!

      • Thank you all so much for your comments about my sculpture Circle of Friends. It means a lot to me to hear how it touches everyone.
        Perhaps I can shed a little light on why it is not included on the vote. The City sets a limit of $15,000.00 on the purchase of the peoples choice award. The cost of my piece is much higher and so it can not qualify for the award.
        I do hope this piece will inspires someone in Mason City to figure out a way to keep it there.
        Sincerely the artist Karen Crain

        • Karen,Thank YOU SO MUCH for the comment and for the info about the sculpture. I suspect if I had done a little digging I could have figured that out all on my own but how wonderful that you stopped by and left a comment!!! I am thrilled and it is absolutely my favorite. When my husband looked at it he said “I bet that was you as a little girl” and he is right! I love to read and this sculpture just embodies everything wonderful! You did such a great job and we are so privileged to have it outside our fabulous library! Thanks again! I, too, hope that we can keep it in Mason City !!! Maybe a little fundraising is in the future???? Thanks again!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] the Sculpture Walk that they have installed this year.  I blogged about it here and here and here!  It took me 3 posts to show them all and many of you commented on the beauty of what the artists […]

  2. […] year I did several posts on the local River City Sculptures on Parade in Mason City.  I loved each and every sculpture that graced our city and told everyone I could to […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

