Epic!


mayflies

Epic: : extending beyond the usual or ordinary especially in size or scope

I believe that there is much in the world that is epic.  There are a lot of people that I think could be called epic.  There are a lot of situations that could be deemed epic.  There are a lot of places that are no doubt epic.

Take a look around today.  What do you see that would qualify as epic?   In light of recent events I would have to say that I find some human behavior to be epic.  The law enforcement officer who took 2 gallons of milk to a family during the Boston “shelter in place” for their toddler.  The truckers who take pets cross country to their new owners.  My friend, Bernie, who writes over at One Mixed Bag who participated in World Book Night 2013 (which I knew nothing about until she posted about it–next year I hope to participate!)   You can read her story here.   How about Billy Ray Harris, the homeless man, who found a diamond ring that had dropped in his change cup and returned it??? He is now reunited with his family as a result of that news piece.

I am on a quest.  To find epic stories.  To talk to epic people.  To push the envelope and maybe even write about epic things that have escaped my realm of consciousness.  Can you help me???  I would love to hear your stories.  If you know of someone or something please do not hesitate to let me know.   I would love to hear all about it.

Oh and by the way—-the picture at the top of this post is of epic mayflies that come yearly to Lakeside, Ohio–usually when we are there for a week in June.  Enlarge the picture by clicking on it if you dare.

Comments

  1. Your generosity is EPIC ❤

  2. Good luck finding epic stories. Sadly I don’t have one, unless you count playing red ball with Miles for hours each day.

  3. I guess, that picture is epic too. Wow. That is a lot of flies. If I think, or see, or hear something – I’ll shoot you a message! 🙂

  4. What a great project to undertake. I will need to think on your request.

    I agree with Nina on your generosity.

    Those are mayflies on that house? I just thought it was in need of paint. Love that house, BTW, especially the porch.

  5. I don’t have anything “epic” to share at the moment but seeing that house photo reminds me of the Mayfly invasion/hatch that happens here each year. Actually, La Crosse is the site of the most dramatic invasion. Many hatches are so immense they can be observed on satellite!!!! The downtown lights are shut off and the city trucks put the plow blades on to clear the streets and the bridges over the Mississippi River!!! Until one actually sees such, you can’t believe the quantity of bugs!!!!! Probably “epic” but happens most every year in June.

    • That is it exactly!!! Happens in June on Lake Erie and it is crazy to see!!! I will have to google La Crosse and see the pics—I am sure there are plenty. The scoop them off the dock at Lakeside with snow shovels and that doesn’t touch em!!!

      • Yup, and the smell of “dead fish” is totally gross!! I used to work in downtown LaCrosse and on the mornings after the hatch the city would send the crew’s around to scoop/shovel them off the walkways! Thankfully, it only is for a couple of days!

        • Thank goodness! It seems like we have missed it the past couple of years at Lakeside when we go for a week in June which suits me just fine!!! They are annoying although everyone keeps reminding me that they are a good indicator that the lake is healthy …..to me they are just gross.

  6. Your heart certainly has epic proportions. ❤

  7. Your pic reminds me of the fish flies that I used to see for about 1 week every year when I was spending time at a cottage in Grand Marais, Manitoba. The cottage would be covered with them & they were everywhere – then they were gone as suddenly as they came.

  8. I think your Comments for Cause is epic!
    my mom and her sisters are pretty close to epic. when their brother separated from his wife, in a fit of rage she burned all his clothes (she has some mental “issues” let’s just say) – even his winter boots: everything down to his last pair of underwear for goodness sakes. As soon as his sisters heard – they immediately pooled their money, got the credit cards fired up — and took him shopping for a whole new wardrobe. didn’t bat an eye, complain….nothing. just did it. Oh…except my one aunt who stayed behind at the house to clean from roof to cold cellar because the soon to be ex had ransacked the place. But the really amazing thing about my mom and her 6 sisters? I’ve seen them show up at a complete strangers house to offer the same help. Honestly, they’re like a tornado when they set their mind to something: but in a totally good way. They are true givers.
    Oh my. I enlarged the pic. cannot unsee. 🙂

    • That is an amazing story!! Thanks for sharing!!! I love it and yes—that is indeed epic!!! I love it!!! And sorry I burned your retinas with my mayfly pic!

  9. What a great idea! I wondered what was all over that house. Yikes!

  10. This is an epic idea, Beth Ann! I hope you find more epic stories. There are so many people out there doing great things.

  11. When I went to Lakeside in June for the first time I was told the Canadiann Soldiers might be there. I found out they were not the soldiers I had expected.

  12. Something epic is watching a mother give birth to her child and to being able to share in that beautiful moment as they get to see each other for the very first time. What an awesome experience to witness.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

