Teapot Tuesday: Blooming Tea and Cookies


Today’s offering is a clear glass teapot designed specifically for blooming tea varieties. If you have never had one of these blooming teas you are missing out on a wonderful thing!   I brewed up some Peach Blooming Tea from Teavana in my beautiful glass teapot (also from Teavana) and thought I would show you a few pictures showing the steps.

P1130031

 

Tea is just starting to receive the hot water.

Tea is ready to receive the hot water and bloom!

Starting to bloom as soon as the hot water hits it!

Starting to bloom as soon as the hot water hits it!

 

View of tea blooming in the teapot

View of tea blooming in the teapot

 

Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

P1130041

Tea ball after brewing

Tea ball after brewing

Cup and Teapot--all ready to share!

Cup and Teapot–all ready to share!

What a nice combination!  Since I know that those cookies look so tempting I will add the recipe below.  I am not a real cookie addict but by golly—these are pretty darn wonderful if I say so myself!  Let me know if you try them!

***************************************************************************************************************************************

Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 cups + 2 TBSP all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup salted butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, at room temperature
  • 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 16 wrapped caramels, cut into 4 – 5 pieces
  • sea salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Mix flour and baking soda in a bowl and set aside.

With an electric mixer or stand mixer with a paddle attachment , cream butter and sugars together. Add egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and mix well.  Gradually add the flour mixture and stir until dough forms.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  Do not over mix the dough at any point in the process.

Chill dough for at least 30 minutes (or up to 5 days if you can wait!) in the refrigerator.  Drop by tablespoons (I use an ice cream scoop) on an ungreased baking sheet.  Press a few pieces of caramel onto the tops of the cookies. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are slightly browned.  The centers should be soft and puffy.  Sprinkle each cookie with sea salt while they are warm. Cool and enjoy!

++My baking time was closer to 15 minutes and I kept dough in the refrigerator until I was ready to put them on the sheets and in the oven.  These are really yummy.

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. The blooming tea is a new one on me. I’ll have to bookmark your cookie recipe for later. I am trying to undo the damage the last months, and years really, have done and started back on weight watchers. I’ll have to try to erase those cookies from my mind for now. 🙂

    • Sorry about the cookies, Christine. Not sure how many points they are but I, who am not even much of a cookie eater, fell in love with them. The combination of sweet and salty and chewy is yummy!!! But the tea makes them even better!

  2. I’m printing off that recipe right now, to bake sometime when one of the kids is home. I try not to bake otherwise, although I very much love baking. Maybe I’ll try these for our next bible study. Yes, that’s it. No need to wait longer.

    • They are so good, Audrey. I would not have predicted how much I love them. I made them to send to Carlton for his birthday and am putting the rest in the freezer till Chris comes home. I will have to ration them….

  3. I have a similar clear teapot from teavana that I use for my loose leaf tea. I love it. The cookies sound pretty yummy and I think, my kids would enjoy them a lot! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • Aw…we are teapot buddies!!!! I love the clear look!!! It is a really neat way to watch your tea leaves unfurl! The cookies are delightful. Let me know if you try them!

  4. I have to admit that blooming tea looks kind of scary. But if it tastes good….
    Thank you, Thank you for the recipe!! After the craft show this weekend I hope to try them. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

    • The tea may look scary but it is yummy. Not as yummy as the cookies, though. They are really really good. I think you will love them if you like that salty caramel mocha coffee!!!! Let me know if you try them!

  5. I had no idea about blooming tea! So pretty in the glass pot and the cookies look wonderful. I don’t bake often, but I will add them to my cookie list. My teen is crazy about the salty/sweet combination!

  6. I have 4 different varieties of Blooming Tea just waiting for the perfect clear glass teapot: that I cannot find anywhere!! gggrrrr. It’s on my list. permanently. Love this.

  7. Was this the teapot you bought in Canton when we went shoping? Seems I heard about it then. It sounds interesting. I think I must try your cookies receipt but the problem is, I will need to eat some. I love cookies way too much.

  8. They look yummy!

  9. I’ll take a cup with two, heck why not three, cookies.

  10. We are going to make those cookies! They sound like Pepperidge Farm’s Lexington Cookie but they look lots lots lots better.. 🙂

  11. This is scary, I also have a clear glass tea pot for blooming tea!! Is there no end to what we have in common? Thanks for the cookie recipe.

  12. Mmmmm…. I’m not a caramel fan, but the cookies sound yummy. I may have to pass the recipe to the bakers in my house. Mmm….

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

