Ding Dong The Iron is Dead!


google image

google image

The news we have all been awaiting was announced and I must admit that I am a little sad about the death of an ironcon icon.   Yes, the Monopoly piece formerly known as “the iron” is now a thing of the past.  The voting is in and if you were out of the loop the following picture shows the different options that were proposed and voted on.

google image

google image

And the winner is …….the cat!!!

today show image

today show image

I guess out of the choices that would be my pick as I am sure it is many of yours but I must say that I am a little bit sad that the piece that I usually got stuck with ended up with as a child is now going to be eliminated from the popular board game.   I think it is definitely a sign of the times.  The iron is a thing of the past.  At least for some.  If you remember my post of a few weeks ago you know that it is still a very big part of my life (Click here to read my tale of ironing)

Change is difficult at times and I guess I will have to embrace it in this case.    I am just a little worried there will be a lot of cat and dog fights on the board from now on out.

Make sure you check out my blog next Monday—it is time for a give away!!!!  

Comments

  1. Do they still have the top hot? That was my fave. No one wanted to be the iron in my hood.

    • Yep–the top hat is still in there. If I am right the pieces now are the cat, racecar, Scottie dog, a shoe, thimble, top hat, wheelbarrow and battleship. At least I think that is what they are!

  2. No one ever chose the iron when we played either. I usually was the car but also used the hat and cannon. If I play the new version, I would most likely pick the cat. I am happy with the results since this is how I voted: out with the iron, in with the cat! MEOW!

  3. I just read about this yesterday and my first thought was this: Does that make my vintage Monopoly game more valuable?

  4. Amy Prentice says:

    I like the cat, however, I wish they kept the iron too. So many memories of playing Monopoly and yes, I often ended up with the iron too! At least when the kids and I played!

  5. Personally, I would have picked the robot! Sorry about the iron, my friend, but at least you got a cat…LOL xoxo, Diane

  6. Maybe they should have replaced it with a teapot.. That would have eased your pain sufficiently I would think..

  7. My first choice was the Diamond Ring. I’m sure the dog and the cat will iron out their issues, tho.

  8. I saw where they were making changes. How could this be? I liked that little iron that would glide around the board, collecting $200 for passing GO! The cat IS cute…My brother always took the race car.

  9. I have not played that game for so long, I can’t even remember how to play the game anymore let alone know what the pieces were. I am pretty sure ir was not an iron.

  10. I didn’t even know there was an iron – we are not Monopoly players in our house, or any board games for that matter! I like the kitty so. 🙂

  11. Hello! I am sorry it’s been so long since I’ve stopped by and I’m so glad to discover that you blogged about this topic! I’ve been wanting to talk to someone about it! I KNEW it would be the iron – just knew that would be the least relatable thing these days. I, like you, still iron at times…and need to today…bother. Enjoy your day – and your tea!

  12. This makes me sad. Why do we have to update a classic? I liked the iron! Although, I can see where this is going… Three years from now there will be a re-release of Classic Monopoly with the Iron included again. LoL

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

