I Have a Feeling It Is Friday!


It’s Friday and I am back on the blog hop with Hilary over at Feeling Beachie —joining in for her Friday Fill In’s!  This week they seem a bit challenging for me so we will see what I can come up with!!!!

This week’s statements:
1. When I __ I ___
2. It is pretty funny that ____
3. It may be strange but ___
4. How ______ made me ______

My Answers:

1. When I shower I face opposite the shower head—-I hate water in my eyes.
2. It is pretty funny that I have lived in my current home for the past 5 1/2 years off and on but it still does not really feel like the town I live in is home.
3. It may be strange but it is just who I am.  🙂
4. How I react to seeing blood made me realize that my early wish to be a nurse was just not a realistic one.  

Thanks to Leslie from Time Out For Mom for those last two statements!!! They made me think!

Yesterday’s post about the Tom Hedin Family is one that I want to keep in everyone’s minds.  If you missed it please click here and it will take you right to the post.  I know that they really appreciate all the prayers and good vibes we can send their way.  

followfriday_edited-2-1 (2)

Comments

  1. I couldn’t be a nurse either. The better half loves documentaries that show surgeries. I have to close my eyes and say, “Tell me when it’s over.” I do this in horror films as well during the gory scenes. It’s all the same to me. Happy Friday!

  2. OK, your answer to number 2 bothers me, so I have to ask why you don’t especially feel at home in your new community?

    Also, I couldn’t be a nurse either. It’s not that I can’t handle the sight of blood, but I just could not handle broken bones or surgery or…you get the picture.

    An update from Nina: She got Tom’s first medical bill, which was $20,000 for the 50-mile air-link helicopter ride to Hennepin County Medical Center. Yikes. Can you imagine getting that size of a bill as your husband lies in ICU and not even a week after his horrible accident? The financial need for the Hedins to pay those medical expenses will be great. Thanks for all you and your readers are doing, Beth Ann.

    • Don’t be bothered by my answer!! I am fine with it. It is just different here. It is not transient like most of the other places that we have lived and while people are very nice it is very hard to be let into their circle because they have been in the same town forever and already have a tight circle of friends Add to the fact that we are not around a lot and it makes it more difficult to make those friendships.
      I could not imagine getting that bill…..I hope she knows that a lot of medical stuff can be negotiated. It sounds as if they have friends that might have some experience in all the hospital stuff so hopefully they will be able to use their knowledge to help get through all of that.

      • I understand the difficulty fitting into a community because I felt the same when we were married and I moved to Faribault 30 years ago. Neither of us grew up anywhere near the area, unless you call several hours away near. When we started attending the church of which we are still members, a woman took us under her wing, inviting us to gatherings at her house, etc. Randy also joined the church ball team. If not for our dear friend Joy and that ball team, I wonder how long it would have taken us to feel at home in a town where seemingly everyone (except us) grew up.

        This taught me an important lesson: To reach out and embrace those who are new, as I did just yesterday when I saw two faces at church that I did not recognize. Such welcoming can make all the difference. Knowing you, I’m pretty certain that’s exactly what you do.

        • It is what I do!!! I try to do that to anyone who comes into the company that Chris works for because I know exactly how it feels. I don’t think if you have never moved you can understand the isolation. I am fine with it—have moved enough in my life to adapt but it makes me know that I need to make the effort for others when they come in and I try if I know about them!!!

  3. I couldn’t ever imagine being a nurse in a hospital and dealing with all kinds of bodily fluids. A ta doctors office I could probably deal… I think, some of us are just not cut out to do a job like that! I also had some issues with the answers this week. Maybe I shouldn’t have done it so late! 🙂

  4. jaynepevans says:

    ewww, the sight of blood make me pass out. I don’t do well never mind. Let’s just say I wasn’t cut out to be a nurse. My mom was a great nurse, but her 3 daughters did not get the nursing gene.

  5. I don’t think I would make a very good nurse either. You did OK when I fell and saw all that blood, you took good care of me.

  6. I’m right there with you on the blood thing, sister. The shower is the complete opposite for me. I love the water in my face. Xoxo

  7. We live in a small to medium size town too and even though we built the house from the ground up it still dosen’t feel like home to us either. We still don’t know where we want to move to, but this place is just too big with my mother being gone. Love the writing prompts you do, I should really start checking out Hiliary’s prompts and doing them on Friday.

    • You definitely need to go over to Hilary’s! I never managed to actually link up today because I was traveling and didn’t get to that actual part but I did answer them!!!

  8. ahh… love your #3

  9. I can’t imagine having to find a vein and drawing blood from someone, no nursing for me, either! I thought everyone showered that way (face opposite). Except for people in soap commercials…

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

