What Does It Mean When Your Husband Sends You An Article Entitled “How To Make a Baby”?


Bear in mind I am 52 years young.  I do NOT want to be with child.  It would mess up my free wheeling lifestyle.  When this article appeared in my inbox I must admit I was a little taken aback.  Maybe a little more than a little.  How could I interpret this random email from my dearly beloved????

A few questions later and he explained that it was just a good article about two gay ladies (well that just sounds weird!) two lesbians who wanted to be moms–together.  The article is well written and a great view into their lives and what it entailed to become the proud parents of a beautiful and well loved daughter.  You can read the article by clicking on this link.

What Chris thought was interesting was that it brings up the questions about how children who are to be conceived can be “selected”.  In this day and age with all of the medical and genetic advances it is easy to isolate and identify genes and characteristics that are dare I say—desired.  We are on the verge of having designer babies.  Maybe, dare I say it, on the verge of playing God.  I struggle a bit with this.  While I think all parents want a healthy and  happy baby and one that fits most easily into their own family makeup is it right to pre select qualities?  Where does it stop???? That is what causes me a tiny bit of concern.

When I had our first son I did not even have a sonogram.  With the second who was born in 1988 I had one sonogram.  I had no testing that I recall (though my memory does not serve me very well) to determine if there were any abnormalities.  What a hard decision parents have these days when presented with all of the information that can be gleaned from medical testing.  Perhaps my opinions are colored a bit also by the fact that we have  incredible Carlton in our family with Down Syndrome who brings us much joy.  I could not imagine life without him.

So NO–a million times NO!  I am not expecting nor do I plan to be expecting.  My husband, as usual, was just giving me blog fodder.  Which I now pass graciously on to you.  After all—we had two and got it right both times—we knew it was time to quit while we were ahead!  After all were’t  they adorable?micahandaaron

Comments

  1. Designer babies…it would be nice if my left shoulder wasn’t higher than my right shoulder. it makes wearing dresses difficult since it never hangs right.

  2. yourothermotherhere says:

    They are indeed adorable, but if they were too quiet in the other room, I’d go check. They both have those innocent\mischievous faces!

  3. designer babies – doesn’t surprise me… love the picture! Especially your little guy. that suit is priceless!

  4. Joanna graham says:

    Great post! I struggle with this issue too. I would have welcomed any child that was born into our home with open arms no matter what the circumstances. Making children “perfect” before they are born sure puts a lot of undue pressure on everyone involved. It is truly a decision I do not support. Enough said, have a wonderful week
    Joanna

    • It is one of those things that each person can only decide for themselves, isn’t it?? I would love welcomed any baby but I understand that not everyone could handle a child who had severe medical issues. Have a great week!

  5. Designer babies? No.

    Your eldest looks just like Chris. I bet he hears that all the time.

    They are both adorable, absolutely adorable. And look how dapper they are all dressed up.

    • That was an Easter picture—at Chris’s folks house in front of the secretary that we now have in our house!!! Aaron looks ornery, doesn’t he??? 🙂

  6. I think my initial response would be “How to make a baby what?”

  7. That is such a good picture of both of the boys. I had four children, not even knowing whether I was getting a girl or boy. I was blessed wilth two of each. Now, people can find out so many different things before they are born. Times have changed.

  8. It’s incredible what medical science can do now. I wonder where it will all lead. It’s a little bit scary to think about frankly!

  9. When we get into the topic of picking/choosing children’s qualities (designer babies), I start to get a little panicky. Unfortunately, some people would take this way too far – “I want a petite baby girl with blonde hair & aquamarine eyes. She should have a slightly upturned nose & beautiful pink pouty lips & if I don’t get what I want I’ll sue you!” We should love our children for who they are not for what we can make them. When I was expecting my daughter I didn’t have any ultrasounds so she was a surprise when she finally arrived (8 days late).

  10. Those guys are adorable! I agree with you on this issue. How did we ever get to this place in “creation?”

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

