If I Really Wanted to Be Happy I Would…..


A couple of weeks ago a sermon that I heard really hit me.  To the point of actually taking notes in the margins of the bulletin which does not happen all that often.  I guess I was paying attention.  Or maybe it was because the children’s sermon involved a smiley face.  Or maybe it was the title of the sermon “Laughter as God’s Grace”.  Maybe it was the day.  Maybe it was the way the wind was blowing that Sunday morning but for whatever reason I loved the message that sunny warm Iowa morning.

There were many take aways that day and lots of scribbles that I am trying to decipher two weeks later.  Here is my list:

1. We are what we are because we are following a script of our life.  That script can change and probably should change every once in awhile.

2. Normal life is a balanced life.

3. Joy is the will of the Lord for us!

4. If I really want to be happy I would……..(this might be a good Follow Friday Fill In for Hilary!)

It made me think a lot about my life and the script that I have been following and yes–it most definitely has changed but there is a constant—love and happiness.  I strive to live each day to the fullest and full of love and positivity.  It seems to be a little easier these days than maybe 6 years ago but maybe I am maturing?? One can only hope.

If I really wanted to be happy I would……..embrace each day for what it has to offer.  Never miss a chance to tell someone that I love them. Say thank you more often.  Be grateful for every second that I have on this earth.  Love lavishly.  Take time to thank God more often for the blessings in my life.  Drink more tea. Find more opportunities to be in service.

I would love to hear how you would finish the sentence.

If I really wanted to be happy I would……

Comments

  1. I had to chuckle when I read “Drink more tea.”

  2. Oh, my goodness, another similarity. Occasionally I also take notes in the margins of the bulletin when the pastor delivers a particularly memorable sermon. This one you noted sounds like a good one with advice most certainly worthy of taking to heart.

    Also, just have to say that smiley faces were extremely popular when I was a teen. I even had a smiley face bulletin board in my bedroom. I wish I still had it. One of the few things my mom didn’t save. 😦

  3. This is an interesting post. I’m not sure how to answer that question. I’m fairly happy most of the time and try to keep my positive outlook on life. I’ll have to think some about it and get back to you… but drinking more tea would definitely be a part of it!!! 🙂

  4. THIS! This right here makes me happy. Positive, uplifting and encouraging – and I just love that about you. You’re a light! 🙂
    I was thinking about this too the other day. There’s another mom in our church that always seems to bring out that “why can’t I have it all together like her” feeling in me; which is terrribe because I know deep down we don’t see someones’ whole story on Sunday morning. I was talking about it with another mom – wondering if I was missing something, “spiritually” speaking, and she just looked at me and said, “yes, she is a lovely lady who certainly seems to have it all together and you my dear can be such a fine mess, BUT — when was the last time you saw her smile?” And I really had to stop and think. No, I rarely see her truly smile. Or laugh out loud. And that just made me kinda sad.
    What would make me really happy — is people seeing past my “mess”, and seeing that there is a well of joy inside! 🙂

    • Yay!!! Glad that I made you happy today!!! It is funny sometimes how others see us. I had a mother of two young boys come up to me in church and tell me how much she admired me because my boys were so well behaved…..HA! They were also teenagers at the time and hers were elementary age and there is a huge difference. She thought I had it all together—she said that. I didn’t and I don’t but I try to learn from situations!!! I know there is well of joy inside you!!! And I would think that most people see that also—it shines through even if your life is a mess which I really doubt that it is!!! 🙂

  5. Following a script?? Here is one for Hillary’s post. If your life was a movie, what genre would it be? Comedy, tragedy, documentary,docu-drama, HORROR, science fiction, musical, the list goes on and on. Oh, I forgot fanatasy, I think that fits your life, you are living a fantasy life..God Bless you.

  6. Helen Brown says:

    I have my down times, don’t we all? I just think of what a good life I have had, parents who loved and cared for me,, a wonderful loving husband, four smart and kind chldren, six grandchildren that I love very much even if I don’t get to see them often, happy marriages in the family,so many good friends, pretty good health, and a lovely place to live. These things I cherish and make me happy.

  7. Continue what I’m doing–I’m very happy right now.

  8. I’d sit down with this stack of unread books and forego housework until done reading them. 🙂

  9. I would go back to school & learn a new trade so I could get out of the rut I am in with my current employment opportunities which are slim to none. I want to work, but I’d like to write more! If we could afford it, I would certainly take the plunge to begin writing full time.

    • I wish you could take the plunge too, because I think you are a great writer and what a joy to make a living doing something that you love! Sorry you are in a rut but maybe one of these days, right?

  10. I *am* happy. 🙂

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

