Exercise? You Betcha!


I am not an exercise fiend.  I wish that I was.  I wish I liked to sweat but quite honestly it is not my thing.  Even if you call it glistening it still is not my favorite thing.  When we lived in Australia I walked the beach by the Coral Sea (yea, I know–pretty cool) every day.  It got to be really really hot at times but it was such a great work out and I loved it.  Coming back to the land of not so temperate weather in Iowa was difficult to put it bluntly.

Chris and I have a house that has an exercise room.  Up until this spring it was more of a storage room.  I decided that it was ridiculous to have it not in use and Operation Fix It Up went into high gear.  I cleared out all the stuff other than the stuff in the closet and got to work cleaning and painting.  I decided on a really bright color since the room has no windows and yellow is motivating–right?

It has been several months since the project was completed and we have not used it as much as we should but it is such a great space now and to be in the room with motivational sayings and pictures that we have taken of places we have been is so much better than staring at 4 cream walls of nothingness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Could you exercise in a room like this??? Come on over!!!

Comments

  1. Catching up AGAIN on all the blogs I haven’t read recently. Like the idea of an exercise room. When my husband was alive we had one and used to exercise in the evening watching the news. Now I just blob in a chair to watch it.

  2. I hate to exercise, but I remember when I used to do it, it felt so good when i was finished. Unfortunately, now bad knees, bad back, bad shoulder. I hate to sweat! If I had an exercise room like this I might be motivated to exercise again. This looks nice!

  3. I’m not the type to exercise inside. I have to get outdoors and feel the air. I wish I could exercise indoors since I could stay in shape year round. That’s my problem I get in shape, it gets cold, I get in shape, it gets cold….

    • I know what you mean about the fresh air—–I am a walker and sometimes that is the only way for me to get the exercise in. But walking in bad weather does not suit me…..bah.

  4. I may actually do exercise in a room like that. But I much prefer to be out and about… walking, biking, etc. I’m not a fiend either but it’s gotta be done.

  5. I don’t know many people who like to exercise, including me. But I love how you’re trying. Those motivational words on the walls are just so clever. How did you do that?

    • I have a Cricut and debated doing them myself—THEN I found some Groupon coupons for a couple of wall decal places and decided that the time and cost and effort and mistakes I would have made making them myself with the Cricut would just not be worth it so I bought them online! 🙂 It was much less stressful. I can do small projects but not huge ones like this. And this post got misposted…..I accidentally posted it early. Ah well……two in one day won’t be the worst thing I do, I guess!

  6. Oh yes, I want in that room. much.
    Jillian Michaels kicked my butt today. Doing the 30 day Shred video to shake things up a bit.
    She is tough! But I need her to be.

  7. Helen Brown says:

    It is hard enough to go into my dark, dreary, dirty basement but my daughter shows me how beautiful hers looks now. It is so nice and neat. I am proud of you!

  8. I hope your effort to fix up, paint up, and spruce up your exercise room pays off and you spend many happy hours there. 🙂

    The key to exercising, I think, is to do it first thing in the morning before the day gets away from you.That used to work for me. I don’t do that anymore, and never seem to find the time to exercise.

  9. I’ve found if I put on my exercise clothes as soon as I get out of bed, I am more likely to get the exercise done. It might not be right away, but it works for me.

  10. Very cool room! Yellow is a fabulous color and Ithe inspirational words are…well, inspirational!

    I’m not much of a machine person…yoga and yardwork keeps me fit.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

