Showers and the Amazon


Thanks to all who made comments on my blog this month!!! It was a another great month and I am happy to announce that I will be making a great donation to Operation Shower as promised!  During May I got a total of 456 comments on my blog and 24 on my Facebook page on my posts so I will be making a $240 donation to them by buying things on their Babies R Us registry and having them shipped to them!!!  Shopping is going to be fun!!!!  So thanks to all of you for this wonderful gift that we are giving to military families!

My “cause” for June is a little bit different.  Our youngest son, Aaron, works for Cisco in Raleigh Durham and has a mentor, Lew, who he thinks a lot of.  Lew has been there for Aaron and been a very positive person in his life and we are grateful for that!   Lew and two of his daughters are going on a trip and “we” are going to be a part of it!!! This is an exerpt from Lew’s email asking for support:

I have the fantastic opportunity to take a community service trip along with my daughters, Amy (23) and Angie (17) to remote villages on the Amazon River in Brazil. We will take teams by boat from the city of Manaus along the river to deliver various services including well drilling, construction, vision, medical, dental, vacation Bible school, women’s and men’s ministries, hygiene education etc. I’m looking forward to the people that I can help and the lessons I will learn through this work.

Lew and his daughters will go going with an organization called Amazon Outreach–below is their information:

Organization Mission:  Amazon Outreach is a non-profit, interdenominational mission organization formed to support Brazilian churches and other organized ministries in spreading the gospel message of Jesus Christ throughout the Amazon River Basin. We have partnered with indigenous churches in Brazil that are seeking unreached people in villages along the river (in some of the 33.000 unreached villages along the river who have never heard the Gospel). Amazon Outreach takes Christians from every walk of life to participate in short term mission trips through various ministries along the Amazon River. These include medical, dental, eyeglasses, evangelism, water well, construction, children, men’s and women’s ministries. By meeting physical needs, we establish relationships with the villagers, opening the door to share Christ’s great love with them.  

So together we will be helping to fund a huge trip for the Thorne Family Mission which is going to be an incredible experience!!!  Thank you in advance for your support!  Remember that for each legitimate comment during the month I will donate 50 cents to this mission !!!!

Can’t let Friday go by without joining in Hilary’s Friday Blog  Hop.  Hop on over there and sign up and join in the fun.  Here are the questions and my answers for the week!

This week’s statements:

1.       I always ___when I___

2.       ___ is very hard for me to do

3.       Whenever I eat ________, I want to _____________.

4.       If I ruled the world, ____________ wouldn’t exist and everyone would _______.

My Answers:

1.       I always cry when I am at a wedding.  Sigh.  Can’t help it.

2.      Staying up late at night  is very hard for me to do

3.       Whenever I eat chocolate, I want to keep eating more and more and more and more….

4.       If I ruled the world, hunger wouldn’t exist and everyone would take care of each other .

Comments

  1. Congrats on the comments. I’ll try my best to help this month as well. I can stay up late, but then I am a bear in the morning…you’ve been warned.

  2. I’m a chocohalic too. Once I start I can’t seem to stop. It’s terrible. I cry at weddings, too. When my MIL got married I was maid of honor for his wife and I had to stand on the little stage with them… it was so hard not to cry. I kept looking around and anywhere but them.

    • Oh I am so with you on the wedding thing—–I don’t know what I will do when our boys get to that point—-I may need drugs that day!!!! 🙂

  3. Count me as another who thinks highly of Lew Thorne– he is an awesome man of God and I am very excited to see what God will do in and through Lew and his daughters in the Amazon. We covet the prayers of God’s people as we prepare to go and share the love of Jesus with the people we will meet in Brazil

    • Tyson, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment!!! I am thrilled to be a very small part of what is sure to be an incredibly wonderful thing for both the people going AND the people who they will meet and minister along the way!! Thank YOU for stopping by and supporting Lew and his family on this wonderful trip! Come on back anytime!!! I am always blathering on and on about things! 🙂

  4. A fantastic cause to support!
    I am such a romantic sap too at weddings. And an interesting aside – the only weddings I did NOT cry at….the couple were divorced several years later. hmm…perhaps I should have said something???

  5. I LOVE this cause….. and so there with you on staying up late at night… but then again I am up very early in the morning and I am way too old to burn the candle at both ends.

    Have a great weekend

  6. Helen Brown says:

    I will be glad to help in your choice of support for Lew and his daughters. It sounds like a great way to help others .You do not take after your mother as your mother works better at night than in the morning hours.

  7. Showers and the Amazon seems like a very worthy cause Beth Ann. Good Luck to them.

  8. $240 sounds like a great donation. Congrats, Beth Ann. And next month’s cause sounds equally awesome. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thanks, Kathy!!! I gotta get the shopping done for it!!! I meant to get to it first thing this morning but time got away from me. Still have to catch up on your blog and read chapter 2!!!!

  9. Jacqueline says:

    I’ll be on the boat with the Thornes– and I’m packing chocolate! Thanks for your support of us floatin’ Christ followers! Gloria Deus!

    • Jacqueline–Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting on the post today!!! I am very excited to be a small part of supporting the Thornes on their mission!!! It sounds like it is going to be awesome and if you are in charge of chocolate it is sure to be a success!!!! 🙂

  10. I also cry at every wedding but for probably very different reasons…:-)

  11. Dear Beth, this is Lew’s wife, Diana. Thank you so much for being such a blessing to my wonderful husband and daughters. I am so proud of them. They are going to be the hands and feet of Jesus along the banks of the Amazon. I can’t wait to hear of the miracles they will encounter as they walk in obedience to our Lord and Saviour. God Bless.

    • Diana, Thank YOU so much for the sweet comment! When Aaron sent me the email about the trip we had already decided to donate and then I thought it might be a great way to spread the word a bit by making it my Comments for a Cause for the month. I am sure that they are all going to have a life changing trip and I must admit I am a bit envious! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment. I had made a typo with your name but noticed it and got it fixed! Sorry if it wasn’t fixed when you guys read the blog for the first time!!! Aaron speaks so highly of Lew and this just was a great chance to give back a bit to someone who has been so wonderful to our son!! Blessings to you!!!

  12. Beth I’m blushing! Thanks so much for your kindness, charity and supporting this Thorne Family Mission to the Amazon. What brilliance “comments for causes” is.
    So – i confess, I too tear up at weddings and love chocolate. Now I’m wondering how on earth will I get through our daughters weddings and what does Brazilian chocolate taste like?
    Blessings!
    ~Lew

    • Lew–no need to blush!! You guys are doing something so amazing and incredible. You will never be the same after this trip. I hope you will share with me when you get back !!! And I bet the Brazilian chocolate is amazing!!! :-0

  13. What a wonderful opportunity. My girls (now grown) were quite involved in mission trips through high school and then into college. When my eldest went on a mission trip to Paraguay, I had to look on a map to see where that country was located. The traveled by boat to remote villages to teach bible school.

  14. I tend to tear up at weddings as well. There’s just something about it that no matter who it is, even if it’s a fictional wedding on TV, it’s so special!

  15. I can’t stay up late anymore either…

  16. Thank you for making a difference, Beth Ann.

  17. The Thornes are awesome! appreciate Lew’s leadership and servant’s heart!

  18. Michelle Willix says:

    Thank you so very much for helping the Thornes go on this mission trip. It truly is an incredible opportunity to minister to God’s people. The Thorne Family are close personal friends and this is the way they live their lives … encouraging, serving and spreading God’s love where ever they go. Lew, Di, Amy, Angie … praying for your trip. We love you all.

    • Michelle, Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. I hope to meet this awesome family in person some day!! Everyone raves about them so I am sure the reviews are all right on target! Thanks again for coming over and commenting! It means a lot!

    • Hi! I am blessed to work for Amazon Outreach and actually get to go with Lew and his daughters on this trip. I’m from Dallas so I have never met him but can’t to get to know him and the girls. Thanks so much for your contribution to this wonderful ministry! Next time you will have to come with us! 🙂

      • Phyllis, Thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to comment! I know you have a busy week ahead of you and I am so excited to live vicariously through all of you! I am very excited to find out about Amazon Outreach and you never know—it just might be on my bucket list!!! Thanks again for all that you guys are doing in the name of Christ!

  19. Jason Fielder says:

    Exciting, Go get Lew and Lady Diana. I am jealous for now but will be returning to the field on day myself…..

  20. Great cause for June! Godspeed to Lew and his daughters. Thanks for your generosity, Beth Ann. I know those military families will be so blessed!

  21. It’s amazing to me that you are willing and able to continue making such generous donations. Good for you.

  22. Danie Rademan says:

    I have know the Thornes for many years and have shared many a good moment with Lew. We have served together in our church in South Africa and I have appreciaterd his encouragement and advice as a young faltering christian. I have fond memories of those times and use the experience and advice till this day. Apart from sharing Life in a church we had the common bond of having been brothers in arms. I value his resourcefullness and “can do” attitude. I have no doubt that the Amazon will be different place the day they leave the Amazon.

    • Danie, Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! I am so excited to “meet” all of these great people that are friends with the Thornes!!! I think that they must be an incredible family judging from the comments here!! Thanks again for taking the time to comment. Come back anytime!

  23. Graham & Sheryl says:

    Yay, go Thorne family…..we know you will be an incredible blessing to everyone you come across on this trip and we pray that it is the trip of a lifetime for you as well…..chock full of incredible memories that you can talk about for years to come….we love you guys….NYC Thomas’ xx

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting!!! I am so loving getting to meet all of these great people who either know the Thornes or who are associated with Amazon Outreach! What a great bunch of people!!! Thank YOU!

  24. I know Lew, Diana, and his 2 girls very well, and this could not be given to a more precious family. This trip has truly changed lives in the past, and I can’t wait to see how it changes lives this year. Blessings to the Thorne family!

    • Nancy, Thanks so much for stopping over and taking the time to leave a comment !!! It seems to me that Lew and Diana have heaps of great friends who support and love them in this great ministry! Come back any time!!!

  25. Bob Willix says:

    I love the Thorne family: it’s been exciting to watch Lew and Di’s journey: we’re still trying to teach them proper English, of course, but somehow I don’t think the “southern” tongue is going to every be their main speech pattern!

    • Bob, Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment!! I am thrilled!!! Good luck with that whole “teach them proper English” thing! I have a feeling you are fighting a losing battle!!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] “we” supported the Thorne Family trip to the Amazon through Amazon Outreach.  My June 1st post tells you all about Lew and his family and his connection to our family and why we wanted to […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

