Skewered Halo Blog Party


Let’s celebrate today in another way!! Brenda Youngerman has done it again with her latest book—Skewered Halo. She is sponsoring a blog party today and it is gong to be fun!!!!  She even has cupcakes for us on her blog!!!  Thanks, Brenda!!! Read all the reviews here!

How often do we say words that hurt others in our lives???  Hopefully when we do it is unintentional but in the case of Diane in Skewered Halo, Brenda Youngerman’s latest book, the words that her sister spoke to her when she was young stuck with her the rest of her life.  Those words followed her and shaped her life.  They haunted her. The words spoken were horrible and hateful and totally wrong.

When Diane goes away to school she tries to leave her past behind her and become her own person but it seems that trouble follows her everywhere she goes and happiness remains elusive.  People come in and out of her life and questions are raised.  What is the real story?  What is going on? The mystery around Diane and her life and acquaintances swirls madly and the reader is left wondering how this story is going to unfold.

As is typical with Brenda’s novels the characters are real and the story is compelling.  Once I started the book I  seriously did not want to put it down.  I wanted to find out what was going to happen next.  Brenda has such a gift of writing books that have a deeper meaning.  This is no different from her other novels in that regard. This is my favorite of Brenda’s books so far and it leaves me wanting more…..hopefully she will deliver another Fiction with a Purpose novel soon!

Comments

  1. Sounds like a good one. And she’s self-published right?

  2. Your review has certainly piqued my interest. I’ll order a copy—-not today, but someday. I’m writing it down so I don’t forget.

    • This is her 7th novel and the best one of the 4 I have read, in my humble opinion! Hey, comment on my other post today to get into the giveaway!!!! 🙂

  3. Helen Brown says:

    I have never read any of her books but I am sure I would like them.

  4. What a great review! Thank you so much!
    I am so glad you enjoyed the book! Poor Diane 😦
    Make sure to come on back and enter the raffle!

    • It was a great book!!! Glad you like the review!!! I didn’t want to give too much away!!! I think I entered the raffle—-I did all but the Goodreads, I think…..if I did it right!

  5. What a great review. having read the book I agree 100% with you Beth Ann. I can’t wait to read some of her others!!! 🙂

  6. I am so far behind in my reading, I will never get caught up in time to enter here. But I like the recommendation!

  7. What a great review you’ve done for our friend! It’s amazing that we are all so moved by her novels. I look forward to displaying them all proudly on my shelf eventually. Keep em coming Brenda!

  8. Sounds like a great book! Now I have something else I want to read. Thanks so much for the recommendation!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  9. Well, that’s a pretty good tease. I’ll keep it in mind. My to-read list is very long right now. Thanks for sending book recommendations my way.

    • Hey Christine—I didn’t want to give away toooo much!!! It is well worth the short time it would take you to read it!!! Brenda is a really neat lady and I am so happy to have found her!!!

  10. Sounds interesting–love the cover!

  11. This was also my 4th book to read….and I want to read them all.

  12. Popped over from Brenda’s blog to read your review! I knew I wouldn’t have the time to read the book to participate in the party, but love your review of it! I’ll have to check it out soon. Right now I’m reading Disrupted Lives by her and enjoying it very much! Hope you took a cupcake at the party 🙂

    betty

    • Thanks for stopping by, Betty! I think Brenda is a pretty neat lady and a great writer and I am so glad that I found her!!! Thanks again for coming over and leaving a comment here! Great to meet you!

  13. Thanks for sharing, Beth Ann. I also have more books to read than time to do it!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

