A Few of My Favorite Things


I am a giver.  I like to share. Ask anyone.  If I have a great thing that I find I feel like I need to share it with you.  I don’t run ads on my blog and I don’t do anything to promote a product for compensation but when I find something that I love I like to share. So today I am going to share a wonderful product that I found — on a website called Gadanke. Go on…click the link and go on over there.  I will be right here when you are done!

Isn’t it fabulous??  I love her idea that we all have stories that need to be celebrated and written down.  I have started two of my own and have several others to give to others and the beauty of these is that they are so unique and require so little effort to actually use.  There are “prompts” and words of wisdom scattered throughout the unique booklets.  My first “She” one is about half way filled up and I added larger rings to accomodate all of the special cards and notes and mementos that I wanted to include.  My prayer one is not as over stuffed by choice—I am not adding extra stuff to it like my other one. 

Some day I will take pictures of my filled up one and see if she will include it on her website.  But until then I am going to continue to fill it with my thoughts and ramblings and be happy that I found such awesome journaling tools that work for me.  Check out Katie’s video below:


Leave a comment today on this post and not only will it count towards Comments for A Cause but it will also put you in a drawing for your very own Gadanke journal!!!  Compliments of me.  Because I am giving like that!!!  (last day to comment will be May 14th, 2012) 

Comments

  1. Wow…this is a twofer…comments for a cause and a chance to win…how many comments can I leave?

  2. Let me try this comment again…thank you, WordPress! The journals are very special indeed. Someone I adore who is a very caring and sharing person much like yourself…in fact, you two could be twins…recently sent me a special journal. I know whoever wins this contest will enjoy their journal as much as i am enjoying mine and will be very grateful just as I am. ♥

  3. Becky Miracle says:

    These are so neat and another “so you!”. Keep sharing your cool finds. I enjoy seeing all the wonderful things! Oh the wonders of the web!

  4. Helen Brown says:

    I agree journals are important but some are not too interesting–mine.

  5. You are so sweet… always giving freely just to put a smile on someones face. I love this idea. I still have some of my old journals from years ago. To this day I sometimes write in my journal. Just for me. Plus, I like the fact that there is a German connection. Hubby and I would so love to have an apartment in Berlin. We love it there.

  6. I have never been the journalling type because: 1) I felt there would just be too much pain in my journals; 2) I had so little privacy, I would be afraid someone would find them & read them. But I like the idea of this kind of journal with the different prompts (the food example she quoted in the video brought back a flood of memories for me) & the different textures. You find the neatest things Beth Ann.

    • I just think it is such a great tool and you could use it however you want. There is one for your home, a blessing one, wedding one, the list goes on ! So whoever ‘wins” gets to choose!

  7. Thank you for sharing this, my grandma kept a journal her whole life, I am sure she never thought how much joy and comfort they would give to us. I also love the idea of the different questions she poses.
    I just found your site a few weeks ago and I love to hear your thoughts. Thanks for sharing!

    • Missy, Thanks so much for the comments and for following!!! These are just such a neat thing and I am happy to share so you are officially in the drawing!!! Good luck!

  8. Oh my goodness! I am screaming because I have a very special friend that NEEDS this. I went right over and bought one and am crossing my fingers that I win! 😀 Thanks for sharing this beautiful site!

    • Did you buy the “She” one for her??? I love mine and it is such a great gift idea!!! Keeping my fingers crossed for you, too!!! I want you all to win. Spread the word–the more the merrier!

      • I wanted to get the “She” one but the “Become” one had more of the direction I think she needs at this point. So funny too because our pastor has been preaching about writing “our” story in God’s creation. 🙂

  9. Gosh, this sounds really, really cool! I think it would probably be helpful as I try to tell more of my story. I hadn’t thought to address food, for example, but I’m sure I have stories about that to tell. Great post, Beth Ann. Thanks so much for sharing this!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • I know–the food thing is a neat thing, huh?? Hadn’t thought of that either!!! These are just really neat things and I had to share!!! Good luck!!!

  10. I had thought to address food when I was interviewing people for genealogy, but only because I read about it somewhere. The books looks nice. I am a sporadic journal-keeper and would like to discipline myself to be more regular. I have about five very nice journals all with about 3 or 4 entries each. So many things to do, so little time.

    Cute idea. Thanks for sharing it.

  11. Those journals look very nice! I love how the pages in them are mis-matched, just like our lives, just like our friends…yet all contained in one book, one world.

    I didn’t mean to get too deep! I’ve always thought that I should journal, but have never made the time.

    • Oh Maggie—you definitely should!!! I think you have a lot of creativity and this would be another great outlet!!! Thanks for the comment!! Keeping my fingers crossed for you!!! 🙂

  12. These are cute, and so practical! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Oh, what a fun idea. I know how much you like those jouranals. I will toss my hat in the ring for an entry. I’ll bet your journal is amazing! You are so darn crafty and crative. What a nice give away.

  14. artsynina says:

    Her journals are adorable, and so are you. You are one of the most generous people I have ever ‘met’ 😉 And PS, I’ve noticed how often you are getting up here to pick up your world travelling husband. You need to squeeze me in to one of your MSP visits! (and then I won’t have to put ‘met’ in quotation marks anymore, hehe)

    • I thought about you last weekend when we were at the Westin but it was a short birthday celebration kind of thing but I definitely DO want to meet up with you sometime!!! Hey–I am pimping your Etsy shop on my blog on Monday so make sure you check back! 🙂

  15. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

  16. Love the one you sent for Harper!

  17. These journals are beautiful. All too often we fail to record our thoughts and special moments, thinking we will always remember them. Of course, we don’t. Thank you for the encouragement to do so.

  18. Oh I love these ❤ I have the 'become' one and am enjoying every second of filling it up! I've a wish list for more though… :p

    • Suzie–thanks for stopping by and commenting and now you are officially entered into the drawing!!! Stay tuned and come back anytime!!! 🙂

  19. I love these journals..the Love where you Live one is a great wedding gift!

    • Kim, Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!!! You are now officially in the drawing!!! Come on back anytime—I post about every day so there is always something I am going on and on about! 🙂

  20. Angie Center says:

    I’ve been wanting one of these journals for some time now. I'[ve just been putting it off. Maybe this is the push I need. I’m fascinated with her approach! Thanks for a chance to win! I so want to give one of these to my mom as well. Great Mother’s Day gift!

    • Thanks, Angie!!!! I am very excited about this and guess what—even if you don’t win this time come back on the 15th because I have been given a super secret code for a discount that I will post that day!!! Yippee!!!!

  21. It’s great when one person is so inspirational to others like Katie is. I love her journals too and also felt compelled to blog about the idea of celebrating your story…. (you can read it here if you’re interested http://www.letterfromthenetherlands.blogspot.com/2012/03/gadanke-celebrate-your-story.html).

  22. Sandy Bowers says:

    I would LOVE to win one of Katie’s journals. I’ve been reading her website since the days of her kitchen remodel in Germany.

  23. BethAnn, I like the idea of a place to put little trinkets, treasures, and thoughts. Also inspired that you actually did it! I am officially throwing my hat in…maybe I will follow through!

  24. I love this! We got the “You Are Loved” journal for our baby boy and it already holds so many sweet little moments. I would love to add the wedding journal to our collection to hang on to those memories as well, before I forget everything because of sleepless nights and days filled with a toddler. 🙂

    • So glad you know of these great journals, too! I just sent one to my niece for their baby girl and think that they are all pretty wonderful! Good luck!

  25. serenanog says:

    I love Katie’s journals. I love her passion for them, too! Thank you for this giveaway. 🙂

  26. Honestly, the video is soooo long I didn’t watch the whole thing, but I get the drift 🙂 My daughter (age 17) would love one of these!

    • Consider yourself in the drawing—-the video is long but it is such a neat story I figured it was worth it and you always can click off it!!! Glad you took the time to check out my blog and even happier that you left a comment!!! You are officially in the drawing!

  27. Thanks so much for the chance to win. Neat blog! I’ve been wanting one of the baby journals for a long time. 🙂

  28. love life says:

    looks really great! I would love to collect my stories in such a journal!

  29. Launa Bustamante says:

    I love her idea’s! I would like to get one (or two) but I’m having a hard time deciding which one. I too am like you, I love to give stuff away. Especially to unsuspecting recipients.

  30. It looks nice but I have to actually see one in my hands to appreciate it 😉

  31. Amy Prentice says:

    These journals look awesome Beth Ann…..I was hunting a wedding present and I think I found one to put in the basket I am making!!! I may have to order one for me too!!!

  32. Bernie talked about this give away on facebook. I have never journal but have often thought of doing it. Mr Bernie is my husbands nephew. They are great people!

  33. OOOOHHHHHH how did I miss this when you posted it???Thanks for telling me in time!
    I love this idea!!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Thank you!   Teapot Tuesday will return next week as usual!!!  Dont’ forget to check out my post here to get in on a Giveaway that I am doing on my blog!!! Share […]

  2. […] don’t forget my giveaway of a Gadnake journal…. head over to this post to find out about it. Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailRedditDiggStumbleUponLinkedInPrintLike […]

  3. […]  forget my give away of a great journal (your choice) –go to this post to find out the what and how!!!!   Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailRedditDiggStumbleUponLinkedInPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  4. […] forget my journal giveaway!!!  Check out this post to see what I am talking about and leave a comment to be entered into the drawing for a journal of […]

  5. […] forget the Giveaway of the Gadanke journal—go to this page and leave a comment and you are in the drawing ! Winner announced on May 15th along with a […]

  6. […] day for the Gadanke journal giveaway—go check out this post and leave a comment to be in the drawing. Winner announced TOMORROW! Share […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

