Friday Fun



Each week, Hilary at Feeling Beachie lists four statements with a blank for you to fill in on your own blogs. If you want to join the fun and come up with four fill in’s of your own, please email them to her at feelingbeachie@gmail.com. If she uses them, she will add you as co-host to the hop! This week’s co-host is Beth Ann from It’s Just Life  (Hey–that’s me!!!)

I would LOVE it if you could please help me spread the word about this hop…. So, please tweet, FaceBook share, and add the linky to your post…

This week’s statements:

1.       I never ___ when I ___

2.       I used to __but I stopped

3.       My favorite picture of all time is of _______________

4.       When it gets dark I think about _______________

My Answers:

1.       I never drank alcohol or smoked when I was a teenager.  (That one will make my mom happy!)

2.       I used to drink sweet tea by the gallon but I stopped.  (Now I use Splenda.)

3.       My favorite picture of all time is of of my husband, Chris, me and my dad at our wedding.  All time favorite.

4.       When it gets dark I think about people who are homeless.  Especially when it is a cold night.  It makes me sad.

Comments

  1. 1. I never drank or did drugs when I was a teenage. (Like you.) Still don’t, however.

    2. I used to rearrange furniture on nearly a weekly basis, but I stopped.

    3. My favorite picture of all time is of my father and I, taken on our last birthday together.

    4. When it gets dark I think about snuggling in bed with a book.

    Hope you have a great weekend, dear Beth Ann.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Actually I never had a drink till after college, come to think of it—maybe I should go back and change that!!! Love your answers, too, Kathy!!! I keep finding out more we have in common!!! Happy Friday!

  2. thanks for co-hosting! I love the picture of you, chris & your dad… I used a wedding picture too…. I was a very good teenager too – did nothing but go to school and worked…

  3. Congrats on the co-hosting! I never drank or smoked during my teen years. Actually I didn’t drink really until after college.

  4. I love sweet tea but try not to drink it too much. And Splenda is good. I like using that for sweetener too. Your wedding picture is so cute. It’s such a moment.

    • When we lived in NC it was a staple for me….but then one year I gave it up for Lent and then decided that it was not that great for me to keep drinking it. I still have a couple glasses when i visit….

  5. How sweet that you think of the homeless at night. It’s easy to sit back and look at the stars when you have a home to go in to when it gets cold. Gives me something to think about.

    • I just realize daily how much I have and how little others have…you know??? And I know that many homeless are there out of circumstances beyond their control and that is what makes me sad.

  6. um, #1….yeah. sorry mom 🙂

    Ah, sweet tea. love it. but I also started making a more old fashioned country kind of sweet tea. I put teabags in a mason jar, and then let it sit out in the sun all day. You can add lots of sugar if you choose, but I have grown used to that summer brewed taste and only add a bit, along with some cool water, ice and lemon. yummy!

    • Haha! Well it wasn’t meant to be a confessional! :-). I used to make tea that way a long time ago……I am trying to learn to drink it with no sweetener and sometimes it works!!!

      • The tea you make in a jar, we always called it sun tea & it is my favorite kind of tea. Up here in Canada we call your drink iced tea, but I quickly learned when I went to North Carolina to ask for sweet tea if I wanted to be able to drink it!
        BTW I re-blogged your post today to try to get commenters for Hilary up!

  7. That is a great picture, Beth Ann. I was the same way with sweet tea!

  8. Helen Brown says:

    That is one of my favorite pictures also. The love shown in that short moment was just wonderful.

  9. love, love, love that picture… I too was a good girl — what went wrong?

  10. Love your wedding pic – so beautiful! Please come by my blog; it’s all about healing from stress: http://www.//traumatoolkit.blogspot.com. If you know anybody that needs healing, my book just came out this week! The Trauma Tool Kit: Healing PTSD From the Inside Out

  11. I can’t say I didn’t drink or smoke in high school, but I’ve been a former smoker for 22 years! (More than twice the years I did!) Yes, I’m a;ways proud to tell how long I’ve been away from them. It was the day my brain woke up and gave me a slap! LOL

    As far as alcohol, I drank a little less in high school than do now, which is not a lot. As a first generation American, wine with water or soda to drink at dinner was okay, never enough to get anyone drunk anyway. But alcohol just wasn’t a big deal.

    The photograph from your wedding is fabulous and so special too!

    A large box of Splenda is a staple in my house for hot cocoa and breakfast/snack cakes.

    • Nani, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment! Good for you for giving up the smoking! That had to have been a really hard thing to do but you did it!! Yay!!!

  12. Loved your answers, Beth Ann, and you gave us some really great fill-ins this week. What a sweet picture from your wedding. I love his hands on your face. I didn’t drink tea at all for years, but lately I’ve been indulging in sweet tea again. I missed it. I think you have a wonderfully tender heart. I can’t say I think about much of anything besides what concerns me when I lay my head down. You make me ashamed for being so self-absorbed. I wish I could say I never drank or smoked in my misbegotten youth, but I’m afraid that I did. If my Daddy ever knew, he never let on. He passed on a few years ago. I wonder if he knows now. I hope not.

    • Denise–thank you for your sweet comments! I am sure you are not self absorbed at all! I think most of us have things we wished we had never done–all part of growing up! Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  13. I loved your questions (and answers). I used to drink Splenda too until my friend turned me on to the all-natural sweetener Stevia.

    Your new follower (you gotta love these hops!)
    Megan
    http://www.mondaymorningmusings.me
    http://thebehavioralchild.com

  14. Reblogged this on benzeknees and commented:
    This is quite a fun thing to do & they are always looking for extra members to act as co-hosts. Why not give it a try?

  15. 1. I never criticize when I think before speaking.
    2. I used to eat too many potato chips but I stopped.
    3. My favorite picture of all time is one of my mother.
    4. When it gets dark I wonder what dreams will invade my mind tonight.

  16. Benzeknees sent me.

    Love that pic of you and your Dad. So much love.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

