Life is Too Short


Life is too short.  Life is just too short when I think about it.  I read someplace a quote that has stuck with me.  Life is too short not to stop and watch the world go by sometimes.  I wish I had come up with that one and I can’t even give credit to who did at this point but suffice it to say it has stuck with me for awhile.

Life is too short when I think about all of the things that I want to accomplish.  I want to write an actual book.  I want to see my boys be happily married and have children of their own.  I want to have “Grandma Camp” like Jane Testerman always did with her gang of grandchildren.  I want to go to Africa.  I want to make a difference in this world.  I don’t necessarily want to amass wealth and riches but I want to be able to be generous with what we have been blessed with.  I want to have more friends than I have now.  I want to be a part of a really dynamic outreach.  I want to read all of the books that I have on my Kindle and many more.

I want to stop and watch the world go by.  I want to experience it.  I want to be immersed in it.  I want to be totally in love with the experience and the journey that I am on.  I want to love without boundaries and limitations.  I want to collect memories in my heart that will carry me through the tough times.

Life is so short.  I want to cherish each day.  I want to live it to the fullest.  I want to love.  I want to slow down and let life happen to me and around me.

What about you?  Do you think life is too short or are you tired of life at this point?

Comments

  1. This is a lovely, lovely post, Beth Ann–and we have lots of the same goals! No wonder I love your blog!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. I absolutely, totally agree with you. But the only way to accomplish those things is to be a participant AS you watch the world go by. Be there for all of it. I should print out this post and laminate it!!

    • Ann–that is very true!!! Participation is vital!!! And I am so honored that you liked it enough to think about printing it out!!! That totally made my day!

  3. I am actually glad life is short because I really look forward to my eternal home. All the hassles, injustice, sickness, frustrations, crime and just day-to-day problems are only temporary and those of us who know Jesus have SO much more to look forward too. While here, my focus is to lay up treasure in heaven and set my mind on things above (Col. 3:2). I can honestly say with the apostle Paul, “For me to live is Christ, but to die is gain.” (Phil. 1:21)

    • I understand what you are saying but at the same time I wish my life was longer so that I could do MORE for God. That is kind of the underlying theme there—I have another piece I wrote that someday I will post about that same thing!!! The more time I have on earth the more time I have to show others what a great God we serve!

  4. I think life is too short, or better yet, that life goes by too quickly. THere never seems to be enough time to do everything you want to and everything you have to. that is why we have to try to make the most out of every day….. A friend of mine once said, live everyday like it is your last. one day it will be and you will be prepared… very good advice….

    I also think if you dream of something (writing that book) just do it…If you don’t you will always wonder what if… I know I always dreampt of writing and I worked on mine from 10/11 – 3/12 and i have 300+ pages…. I don’t know what I am doing with it yet, but at least I know I did it….

    • I have heard that same advice and I do try to do that. I try to live so that I will have no regrets. I am writing and have a start at least which is something. My “book” will be more of a collection of things I have written about on my blog most likely and then some. We shall see……

  5. That’s such a thought provoking and lovely post and I agree with you… life does seem so short at times and move by us with the speed of light. Sometimes, I wish I could stop time for just a little bit so my kids don’t grow up quite as fast as they do. I look at my son and can’t believe before long he’ll be driving a car… what happened to my baby???

  6. You are so right, Beth Ann. I looked like a bobble head as I read this, yes, yes, yes! You ARE making a difference in this world. Blessed to be a blessing is my prayer, too. Grandma Camp sounds like so much fun. 🙂 I’ll be visiting mine for a week soon, will have to take “Camp” with me.

  7. Lovely ideas, especially I would love to find a nice place outdoors, under a tree, where I could read to my heart’s content & glance up from time to time to appreciate all the beauty around me.

  8. BethAnn, I couldn’t agree more…we share several goals too!

  9. Helen Brown says:

    Time goes too fast for me right now. I thought I would get a lot done when I retired but I seem to always be too busy to do everything I want to. After a day like I had today I know I have way too much to get done before I leave this life,

  10. Oh man I think of this every day…so many books, movies, and countries. And then there is the little stuff: sunsets, romantic dinners with my better half, walks with my dog, watching my wonderful cat…I could go on and on

  11. Life is absolutely too short. Like you, I want to see each of my children happy and in love with the right person. I want grandchildren. I want to take them tot he park and buy them stuff they don’t need and spoil them and return them to their parents…ah, yes, there are so many things. I want to enjoy life and live in the moment…when you do live in the moment it is priceless…been there, but not for a while…adding it to my list.

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

