Fortunate


I have a passion for saving fortunes from fortune cookies.   I cleaned out my wallet and found 11.   Not surprising since we usually share Sunday dinner over at our favorite Japanese/Chinese restaurant–The Lantern.   I thought I would share them with you today!   These are some of the “better” ones I have saved.

1. Ask not what your fortune cookie can do for you but what you can do for your fortune cookie.  (I promptly ate it –that is what I could do for it.)

2. Your sparkle will never fade. (Must be that crown I keep wearing.)

3. You are talented with your hands.  (I actually think this one belonged to Chris and he turned it into some sexual thing if I recall correctly.)

4. Your love life will be happy and harmonious.  (Coming up on 30 years of marriage so I would agree)

5. You will be called upon to help a friend in trouble. (Hope my cell phone is on.)

6. Give a hug to someone who needs one more than you.

7. Romance is about to blossom.  (I was with Chris when I got this one…..)

8. No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.

9.  If you’ve got it, flaunt it.  (Somehow this just does not seem like a fortune to me.)

10.  A short stranger will soon enter your life with blessings to share. (I am keeping my eyes open for little people—so far–nothing.  )

11. You will become a great philanthropist in your later years.  (Probably my favorite one thus far!!!)

Have you ever gotten a fortune that has changed your outlook or do you have one that you carry around with you?  I would love to hear!

Comments

  1. You are a great philanthropist. That one for sure is coming true.
    Fun post. Thanks. You made me smile.

  2. I love fortune cookies–the whole notion of text contained in cookie–a paper piece of sweetness.
    Great idea for a post, Beth Ann.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Hi Beth Ann – you’re right! That is a funny coincidence that my fortune cookie post from earlier this week was Freshly Pressed today! I love fortunes, too, and have been known to save some of the good ones 🙂 Here’s wishing you many more of those (the good ones), and thank you so much for checking out my blog!

    • Thanks for stopping by!!! I am so envious of anyone getting Freshly Pressed!!! It is my new goal!!! But not sure how to achieve it—I usually just ramble around about boring mundane life things! 🙂 Glad to meet you and happy to find yet another blog to add to my ever growing list of “must reads”. 🙂

  4. You’re already a great philanthropist!!!! 🙂 I love getting fortune cookies and usually keep them. But they land in the depths of my purse never to be seen again… I may just start putting them into my wallet and write a similar post soon. We end up going to this great little Chinese place at least once a week!!!!

  5. I love fortune cookies! I used to keep them, but the better half found some and asked if I kept it and I felt silly. Take pride in your collection. Don’t be a wimp like me. One of has to be strong and if you can’t tell, it ain’t me.

  6. Helen Brown says:

    I have gotten some very interesting ones but I never have kept them for any length of time. I probably should have kept them to see if any of them came true.

  7. Those are always fun to read. I don’t eat much Chinese food, but we went to a restaurant after church with friends. I put mine on my inspiration board since I liked it so much: Look forward to great fortune–and a new lease on life. I have been blessed beyond measure with new blogging friends, and my blog has taken over my life! lol

    • I totally understand what you mean about the blog taking over your life. Not necessarily a bad thing but you have to learn a balance, I guess!!! 🙂

  8. Hey you have interesting fortunes! I think I may have to switch restaurants because mine are not nearly as creative as yours! 🙂

  9. Hello, I just found your blog and I love it. I have taped a fortune to the back of my phone when I was debating whether or not to leave my job,. ‘Now is the time to try something new. You will benefit’
    And I did and I have:)

Trackbacks

  1. […]   It’s been awhile since I did this so there are a lot I have accumulated since my last post here where I listed some. I think some of Chris’s have gotten intermingled with mine but that is […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

