10 Things I Know Are True


 

1. Everyone has a story There is no doubt about it in my mind.   You may not “think” that you have a story, but daggum it, you do.   You may think that you have a boring and mundane life but I can guarantee that if you and I sat down to talk I would be able to get “the story” out of you that makes you you.  It is a gift of sorts.  Out of the most insignificant and inconsequential things come stories and truths.  Give it time to develop.

 

2.  Most people just need someone to listen to themYep, that cashier, the librarian, the mail carrier and the random person in the mall—they all have things going on and sometimes they just need to tell someone about them.  It may not be your idea of what you were intending to do that day but if you stop and take the time chances are you will learn their story from number 1.

 

3. The past is the past.  Too often I think we dwell in the past and let it make excuses for our actions in the present.  I do not discount the importance of the past.  It does shape us to be the individuals that we are today but at some point it is up to each individual to take responsibility and stand in the present without blaming the past for our problems today.   Grow up!   Be who you are meant to be today—not the person who uses the past to make excuses .

 

4.  Smallness is not just a  stature thing.  The people in life that I have observed who are happy with their lot in life and content are most frequently the ones who have experienced the world outside of a small circle.  In other words, they have lived.  They have allowed their minds to embrace all kinds of ideas and thoughts and are not limited to always thinking that they have it all figured out.

 

5. Life is better lived big.  I truly believe that the limitations that we have are merely the limitations that we place on ourselves.   We can be bigger—we can live bigger and by bigger I mean a fuller and more complete life.   Sometimes it is difficult to push ourselves but in the end I do believe that it is what we were born to do—push ourselves to be the bigger and better version of ourselves.  Push the envelope.  Punch into the clouds.  Go the distance.  Be all that you can be.  (My apologies to the US Army on that one.)

 

6.  A little compassion can change a person.  How many people do you know that go through life just being sad and alone?   Opening a door for someone, leaving a spot open on a bench so someone can have a seat instead of taking up all the space, leaving a little extra tip—these all can turn the tide of someone’s day.  Just looking someone in the eyes and wishing them a nice day is a simple enough thing to do and can make that person feel like they are important.

 

7. Older folks are a gift.  They are a wealth of knowledge and experience that we should tap into.  How many times I have had a conversation with an octogenarian and later thought how wise they were and how much I learned from a short exchange.   Many cultures revere their elderly and they have high places of honor.  That should be the norm and not the exception.

 

8. A good belly laugh is good for whatever ails you.  Sometimes laughter is just what is needed.   Even in times of sadness and sorrow the body needs to experience laughter and not just a chuckle–that full rolling belly shaking laugh that brings tears to your eyes.  You know the kind I am talking about.  The kind that happens when best friends get together and relive old experiences that were most likely better left in the past!

 

9. There are songs for every occasion.  If you are feeling it there is absolutely a song for it.   It never ceases to amaze me how much music is a part of my life and of my memories.  The simple opening strains of the theme from The Summer Place bring back memories of a hospital gown with little chicks on it, waking up and wondering where my mom and dad were when I was in the hospital for pneumonia when I was very young.   The Hallelujah Chorus reminds me of being woken up on Saturday mornings in my childhood to do our chores.   There are so many memories associated with music and so much of my life is wrapped up in lyrics.   That, my friends, is a wonderful thing.

 

10. You can make a difference. I truly believe this.   If you want to make a difference you can.  It does not require riches or fame.   It does not require a huge blog audience (though that might help!).  It just requires YOU to take action on whatever is on your heart.  If it is to stop bullying in schools–formulate a plan with your local school.  If it is to clean up the environment—-start recycling and carrying green bags to the store.   If it is to help children who don’t have shoes to wear—buy a pair of TOMS.  If it is to improve the lives of animals who need some tender loving care–volunteer at your local animal shelter.  There is always a place that YOU can make a difference.

 

Comments

  1. This was a good post. I completely agree with you on the first point; everyone has a story … an interesting story.

  2. Great list…my favorite is live big. I try to do that. And I love to laugh.

    • I would say you do live big from what I have seen and I love that!!!! I limit myself too much!!!! And laughing is so good. My husband is so good at making me laugh daily.

  3. What a wonderful post and truly words to live by. Thank you for this.

    • Thank you, Lisa!!! It just came to me that I should write those down. There are more….there will be more installments, I am sure!!! 🙂

  4. I quite agree that this is a wonderful post—-and I should copy it and put it on my refrigerator door! Live big is great advice!

    I often need to remind myself that although I am happy in my life, I can do and be more. It isn’t over until the fat lady sings—and there’s a song for every occasion! Thanks for this great post!

    • That is a good one, too!!! That is so totally true that there is always more to do!!! i hope the fat lady does not sing for a long time!!!! Thanks for the sweet comments!!!

  5. big pink fluffy and glitter heart this! to live big….sound my “barbaric yawp”! so great.

    I used to love taking taxi’s because then I could practice my interview skills and get their story. or get them telling stories. always made a trip in traffic nicer for both of us.

    • Aw, thanks!!! My hubby told me he really liked it this morning, too. Sometimes I get it right. 🙂 Taxi drivers are the best, aren’t they? There was a guy in the library yesterday who I know had a great story but I couldn’t find him and situation myself so I could have a convo with him. Rats.

  6. Well said – I am familiar with all these truths and I humbly agree. There are of course so many more but these are a good place to start. Nice post! ~ Barb

  7. LIFE 101…Professor: Beth Ann Brown
    Should be a required sociology course at every college, everywhere…
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this Beth Ann, it must have taken quite a bit of your time to do such a great and thorough job..

  8. I love this, Beth Ann! Thanks for sharing these truths–all very, very important!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thank you so much Kathy!!! I just was kind of on a roll when I was thinking about this yesterday so I am sure there will be another post sometime to continue the thoughts!

  9. SO… when are you writing a book about all of the stories you have heard???
    This is a great list

  10. This is a beautiful post about things we should all be focusing on! Another thank you for reminding me about the important things in this journey!!

    I struggle with number ten because that crazy thought process of “I am only one person so what can I do?” get stuck in my head. I am going to kick those thoughts out and absorb your advice! 🙂

    See why I am so thankful for your friendship and blogging? (These above encouragements were the exact reasons you were the first blogger KYSSed!) Hugs!

  11. Beth Ann, that’s a beautiful list. I so agree with belly laughs… except with I don’t just get tears in my eyes, I start snorting!!! And #7… so true. I spend time with my 86 year old neighbor daily and the stories she can tell are amazing… imagine growing up in NYC in the 30 and 40! AMAZING, I tell you.

    • Snorting is great!!! That is a true sign of a good laugh!!! I would love to meet your neighbor. I remember you saying you had coffee every morning and I think that is Awesome!!!!

  12. Helen Brown says:

    All your ten truths are very good ones for us to follow. Some I do try to follow but it isn’t always easy,

  13. Love it Beth, nice job and very true!

  14. These are wonderful, Beth Ann. I so agree with #9. So many times I’ll hear or read something and say, “That reminds me of a song…” Then I am begged not to sing. Never fails, but I don’t let it stop me. lol

  15. Great post Beth Ann, looking forward to future installments. I agree with the suggestion above, I should print these out & stick them on my fridge for inspiration.

  16. I love this post. Most of it sounds like things I would have written myself! Just today I held a door open for an older lady, and it brought a smile to her face, and then a man opened a door for me which I appreciated and thanked him for. I also volunteer with animals and it makes me feel really good to be doing something good!
    Also, laughing is very important, as you said!

  17. It’s always been my dream to reach out and do something for charitable institutions but have been stopped by the feeling that there isn’t much I can do. Your blog simply inspire me. Dropping by from SITS!

  18. What a wonderful list. I especially like #8 – a good laugh has the power to brighten anyone’s day!

  19. Love this! All so very true and such important reminders.

    Happy SITS day!

  20. anotherjenb says:

    Love this post. These are all just so TRUE! I write a lot about the last one on my blog. Everyone can make a difference!

    Happy SITS Day!

    • Thanks for stopping by and sharing some SITS love today!!! I feel so special and am promising to check out everyone’s blogs who comments–but maybe not today! 🙂

  21. anotherjenb says:

    Love this post. These are all just so TRUE! I blog a lot about the last one. Everyone can make a difference!

    Happy SITS Day!

  22. This was such an inspirational post and a great way to start my day. Happy SITS day!

  23. What a wonderful post, and I have a friend who I definitely need to share this with. 🙂 Stopping over from SITS. Happy SITS Day!

  24. WOW, what a list, really makes you think. I like living big and giving compassion, so tryue.

  25. ashleyinnc says:

    What a fantastic list. I found myself nodding along to each and every one of them. Thank you for sharing that. 🙂
    Happy SITS day!

    • Yay!!! I think we must have a lot in common if you were nodding along to my list!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and for the SITS love!! I am all warm and fuzzy today!

  26. So much truth and beauty in this post. Thanks for sharing.

    I would add just one thing, to the first one you mentioned. Everyone’s story matters!

  27. What a fabulous list, Beth! I like your style. I really resonate with your words here and have added you to my Google Reader. I like what you are doing with the Comments for a Cause thing too. What a great way to help people in need and build community at the same time!

    • You should really check out my blog post today. I was just writing about a lot of these concepts!

      • I promise I will get there…..I will…..I have only a few more comments to reply to….and then I will get to your blog and read your post and comment!!!!! Be patient!!! 🙂 Thanks again!

    • Thanks for adding me to your reader!!! I feel very honored!! I am meeting so many great folks today and I promise that once this all dies down I will come visit each and every blog!! I imagine we have a lot in common!! Thanks for taking the time to comment!!!!

  28. I really enjoyed your post. Those are great tho.gs to remember! Happy sits day!

  29. Wow, what a wonderful post! I especially like #9 and that so much of your life is “wrapped up in lyrics.” That is such a beautiful way to put it.

  30. I love your post! I believe in all those truths. So uplifting! Happy SITS day!

  31. Yes, all are so true! There are so many wonderful moments in life, that if we are not careful, we might miss them. Love your post and Happy SITS Day!

    • Thank you so much!!! There are so many great moments that slip by because we just are too busy!!! Trying to remember to take the time! Thanks for stopping by!!!

  32. Nice post. I like your philosophy, so positive. Keep it up. Enjoy your SITS day!

  33. words of wisdom. Thank you!

  34. Such an encouraging post … and I completely agree that music is powerful. It truly speaks to our hearts when we don’t feel like we can communicate our feelings and thoughts.

    Enjoy your SITS day!

    • I agree about the music—it is no wonder they use music therapy with patients with dementia as well as with folks with autism. It pulls in something deep somewhere where other communications do not work. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  35. What a wonderful post encouraging post. I really enjoyed reading this! 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 (ok, all of them!! Haha) hit home for me!
    Awesome blog! Happy SITS day!

    • Thanks, Pamela!!! I am so happy to meet all of you guys today and so grateful for this chance to find some new bloggy friends!!! Thanks for the comment and for the sweet words!

  36. Amen!

  37. Awesome post!! It’s so true – we ought to respect our elders more than we do!

  38. what and inspirational list, so full of wisdom. Found you from SITS.

  39. I don’t know what happened to my first comment, so I’ll comment again.

    What a great, inspirational list and so full of wisdom. I found you on SITS.

  40. A wonderful post with such a positive and warm tone. I really like the idea of 10 Truths. They are good for us all to remember. Happy SITS Day!

  41. thebusymomsdiet says:

    I love numbers 6 and 8! Compassion is key for understanding others and laughter holds me together. Happy SITS day!

  42. These are very true, especially #1. You never know what a person has been through or what they might be going through at any particular moment. It’s important to remember

  43. This is so true, especially #1. You never know what is going on in someone else’s life, so it’s best to give people the benefit of the doubt. I have to remind myself of this sometimes, but it’s important. Happy SITS day!

  44. These are great! I agree very strongly with #6 in particular. A generous tip, a smile, etc – these things make a big difference and are so easy for us all to do.

    (PS – visiting from SITS – happy to have found your blog!)

  45. Hello! Visiting from SITS!!! Great post!! =)

  46. Everyone has a story. That’s part of the reason I enjoyed working in property management, met lots of interesting people!

  47. This post is so true! I especially agree with the laughing cures what ails you. Seems like humor can diffuse so many situations. Also agree about the music – I hear songs and I’m immediately transported. That’s a feeling I love. Finally, your words on compassion and wanting to be heard really said it all. Clearly you struck a nerve with me!!

    • Hope it was a good nerve that I struck! Thanks so much for stopping by, reading and taking the time to comment! I know everyone is really busy so your willingness to do that made my day!!!

  48. Thanks for your blog. There us so much wisdom in what you have written.
    Hannah P.S.
    Join the fun, submit a cute photo or funny photo to my website contest. Then encourage your friends to vote and watch the results to see how many viewers vote for your photo. NO entry fee. $2,000 of prizes annually. http://www.FunnyPhotosContest.com.

  49. I only just found out about your blog, but I’ll make sure to stop by again. Wonderful post and I hope you’ll have a great week!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Ten Things I Know Are True […]

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

