An Unlikely Combo


I am always trying new recipes.  The problem is that with just Chris and I and half the time, just I, it is hard to cook in appropriate quantities.  As a result I end up eating said food for the entire week so hopefully it is a good recipe!  This past week have tried a couple of new recipes that I LOVE so I thought I would share. The first is a bit odd—I will admit but we both loved it and it is definitely a keeper.  Hang in there with me and give it a chance!

Paul Qui’s Brussel Sprouts

2 pounds brussel sprouts, halved       4 TBSP olive oil        Juice and zest of 2 lemons

salt                           6 basil leaves, torn             1/2 chili pepper chopped (optional)

Sweet Chili Vinegar: Mix 1 cup sugar (I subbed Splenda, 1 cup white viengar, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 1/2 tsp crushed dried red pepper, 1/2 head garlic minced in a saucepan , cook over low heat until sugar dissolves.)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a baking sheet toss sprouts with olive oil and 1 tsp salt.  Roast for 35-40 minutes until outer leaves are crispy.   While  hot place sprouts in a mixing bowl and stir in 1/4 to 1/2 cup sweet chili vinegar. Stir in lemon juice and zest. Add salt to taste and garnish with basil leaves and chili peppers if desired.   (I halved the recipe and used lime instead of lemon and it was fabulous!!!)

Recipe number two is not as unique but has my favorite combination of salad items.  YUM

Tomato, Olive, Mozzarella Salad with Basil Vinaigrette 

1 can large black olives, cut in half                3 cups cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1 cup fresh mozzarella pearls, cut in half or use regular fresh mozzarella cut into pieces

1/2 cup vinaigrette dressing ( I used Newman’s Own Olive Oil and Vinegar)

1/2 cup torn fresh basil leaves               salt and pepper to taste

Drain olives and mozzarella while you cut tomatoes in half.  Place tomatoes in bowl. Cut olives and mozzarella and put in bowl.  Wash basil and dry , chop or tear into small pieces.  Mix into dressing and gently combine with tomato mixture.  Season to taste and serve immediately.

Comments

  1. Helen Brown says:

    Both of the recipes sound delicious but it is hard to make some of these things for one person. That is my problem.

  2. I love Brussel sprouts but cannot get the rest of the fam to it them. Maybe if I try this new recipe they’ll give it a chance. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I will be trying both recipes. I adore Brussel Sprouts and Cherry Tomatoes! I have even attempted to make Mozzarella Cheese. It kind of worked but was pretty tasteless. I will be trying it again though. Thanks for all the yumminess!

  4. These both look great, Beth Ann. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  5. I love broussels sprouts! always looking for new ways to enjoy them. and also olives so I will definitely try the 2nd one too.

    • I think you will love both of them if you like brussel sprouts and olives. The second one was really a great summer day salad idea—-i am going to be making it a lot since it is so easy!

  6. Thanks for sharing. I’m not a big olive fan, but hubby would probably like that.

  7. Two of my favorites! I made brussel sprouts about a month ago,..same way , roasted in oven. I ate them for several days…and that salad is delicious. Thanks for encouraging all of us to eat fresher and healthier! Looking forward to more!

  8. I might come back for that second recipe. It looks good. I’m having fun clicking through all your tabs.

  9. Brittany says:

    Oh my goodness, both of these look SO YUMMY. My list of “things to cook someday” is getting longer… 🙂

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

