I’m So Vain


I never thought I was vain.  I really didn’t.  But I am sad to report that I am among the worst offenders when it comes to being overly concerned about my appearance.   It is weird.   I have tried to find the perfect haircut over the years that lends itself to always looking right with a minimum amount of fuss.

Let’s do a quick tour of the Looks of Beth Ann.

Baby Beth Ann 

During grade school aka The Very Awkward Years I sported several different styles ranging from long and stringy to pixie cut.   Here are a couple samples of what I could find.

Then came high school and trying to figure out who the heck I was.

Clowning around with my brother, Mark!

College came and I got another new look.

Marriage and babies followed and the decade of the perm was in .  I hung onto that look just a little too long.

Then there was a brief stint at being a biker babe clad in leather–all to raise money for a church –it was not a good look—I was way too blonde and it was way too short.

At one point, when Chris and I moved to Iowa, we figured that this was a good look for us.

Last year on a trip to the beach I thought I had finally hit upon the right look for me!

This past week I was whining to Chris that I hated all my pictures that I had on Facebook and especially on my blog.  I really wanted a good one where I looked happy, had a nice smile and had a good hair day.   He made the magic happen and I finally have a picture I absolutely love.

This one is going to stay around for a long time.  I may never change it.  I am still vain but at least I have a decent picture now.

Comments

  1. I read once that a woman’s hair is her answer to Silly Putty. The older you get, the better you look.

  2. I love that picture…. And baby beth ann was the cutest.. how ever did you get your hair to go up like that?

    • My mom and dad called it my Dairy Queen hair!!! I imagine it was before hair products were all the rage but somehow it stayed! It is my favorite pic, too!

  3. I love that picture…. And baby beth ann was the cutest.. how ever did you get your hair to go up like that??

  4. I noticed the new picture on the sidebar and thought it was a great one. I have to say I like the short hair biker do as well… but maybe I’m biased because I keep my hair short. And I think every one of us is a little vain in some form or another!!!! 🙂

  5. The short hair looked very good on you, so does the current do. BTW We all some vanity hidden deep down in us, we just don’t like to admit it.

  6. Helen Brown says:

    I think most of the hair styles are fine. It shows you care about your looks and I don’t think you need to call yourself vain.

  7. baby Beth Ann is too cute!!!!! I love seeing the picture and what a transformation. You always looks beautiful in all of those pictures and love the hair style! you rock!!

  8. Do you think Chris could hook me up with a decent pic? lol It took me 50 years to come to terms with my curls, and I’d like to destroy the evidence of my perm decade. You’ve always been beautiful, no matter what was on your head.

    • Maybe, Patti! My son is always good at taking portraits because he just keeps clicking and does not let you pose and sometimes those are the best but I just made Chris keep taking them till I was happy. It only took a couple takes this time so it must have been meant to be!!

  9. You know what, Beth Ann? The one thing I noticed most out of all those pictures was your million-dollar smile. You have a naturally beautiful, sincere smile! Everything else fades by comparison!

    • Well what a sweet person you are, Sweaty!!! Thank you! I actually had a man in our one church growing up who called me Smiley. He called me that even the last time I saw him before he passed away several years ago. I was always very self conscious because I had a chipped front tooth (Now THAT is another story) and buck teeth until the braces in high school but I guess I still managed to smile! Must be because I am usually a happy person!!! Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  10. That was fun seeing how your look changed through the years. The last one looks very good! I liked your college and perm pics too though. With me, my mom always wanted me to have curls but I preferred the straight hair. I did have perms though too which kind of made me look like a poodle.

    • I think the perm look was okay during the time I wore it but it needed to go. It was kind of what you did then, you know??? I had one really bad perm which was just frizz city and did nothing right and that was the beginnings of the end!!!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

