Hip Hip Hooray! Food for All!


Today I am so happy to announce the results of Comments for a Cause for November!!! There are so many great causes and places to donate money out there but trust me when I say that this month my donation to Burrito Bikers in Charlotte, NC will be one of my all time favorites!!! I read about these folks in Taste of Home and started a conversation with Tommy Holderness about featuring them as my “cause” for the month. What these folks do is beyond delivering a hot burrito to folks who may be hungry.   They are making a connection with people and building relationships.  How awesome is that.   Anyway I am happy to say that I got 253 comments this month on posts and that means $127  be donated to the Burrito Bikers to use however it is best needed!  Hip hip hooray to all of you who are helping me support all of these great causes.  To top it off I have made a lot of great connections with folks who “get it” and who are doing something wonderful in their community. THANK YOU Burrito Bikers!

It was hard to come up with just one charity for December to donate to but I had to make a decision!!!   My family (the Brown side which now includes the  Brown, Archdeacon, Chiles, Morris, and Youman families) has donated to a charity for the past several years instead of doing a gift exchange.  I fought it tooth and nail.  I love to shop.  But once we did this I realized the error of my ways.  It is THE best thing we could have done. Each year we select a charity and each year the amount that is donated grows.  Pretty amazing.  The powers that be have not finally decided yet what our recipient will be quite yet but I am guessing it is going to be directed toward some type of food bank .  There are so many people now who need a little extra help and food is one way we can contribute.  So this month I am going to designate that all Comments for a Cause donations go to the West Ohio Food Bank.  This agency is an Affiliate  of the Feeding America organization which I have donated to in the past. Since I am currently relocated in Ohio and will be for a bit longer I felt like this was where I should give.  Join me this month in thinking of someone who does not have a full tummy tonight….comment often!!!!And thank you!

A few facts about the West Ohio Food Bank follow:

Population Served
Number of counties served: 11 Total pounds of food distributed annually: 6,185,115
Types and numbers of services agencies distributing food
Emergency: 61 Soup Kitchen: 11 Shelter: 5 Residence: 57 Day Care: 1
Multi-service: 11 Senior: 22 Rehabilitation: 3 Youth Programs: 6 Other Programs: 27
Basic programs being run (i.e. CK, KC, produce, job training)
Prepared Foods, Fresh Produce, Back Pack, Purchase Program, TEFAP, CSFP, Mobile Pantry, Nutrition Education, Eligibility Counseling, Food Stamps, Senior Brown Bag / Food Box Distribution, Reclamation, Senior Congregate, Utility/Heat Assistance
Comments

  1. Beth Ann, I applaud for doing this…it’s such a thoughtful thing to do and I’m sure that the people on the receiving end are very appreciative. I love to comment …so I will be doing it often during this month!!! It’s so lucky that I love to read all your posts. 🙂

    • Thanks, Susi!! I totalled up since I started doing this in April and we have donated over $900 to various things because of this comments for a cause thing and that is really thrilling to me! PLUS I get to meet great folks along the way like YOU! Thanks so much! I still can’t imagine anyone loving to read my posts but hey—I am happy to have you along for the ride!

  2. It’s great to give locally during December. In the spirit of the Christmas season, I’m trying to give something every day. Trying would be the operative word here.

    • Ann, that is such a great idea!!! To give every day is an awesome goal!!! I think I need to follow your example!!! Good for you and thanks for the support and the idea!!!

  3. Your generous heart, humbles this mere mortal. God Bless.

  4. Ps. That Burrito looked delicious, I’m now sorry I just ate.

  5. Thanks, Beth Ann! I’ll do my part. 🙂

  6. Yay! Awesome results!!

  7. Congrats on that nice donation to the Burrito Bikers group! I actually did well last month too and donated $119 to St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital. The food bank is a good choice–my charity for December is the Cleveland Pregnancy Center and am excited about donating to them. Hope you get lots of comments again this month!

    • Thanks, Karen!!! I am happy that you did so well also!!! Great news for ST Jude’s and great charity for December!!! Thanks again for the great idea!

  8. Helen Brown says:

    You know how I feel about the Food Bank so I will be sure to add to your comments. I am also pushing for it to be our charity this year. I have visited the one in Youngstown and it is unbelievable how much food comes in and goes out to so many people. God bless all who help those in need.

    • Yay!! I agree!!! I think that is a great place to donate! Maybe we can all do our own local food bank –that one year we did Feeding America but maybe instead the local one would be a good one!!! Thanks for commenting!!

  9. Christine Grote says:

    Good choice. We donate as a family instead of a gift exchange now, too. I love it.

  10. We are soooooooo happy that you chose our organization to highlight during the month of December. It is with the generosity of individuals such as yourself that help to make our mission possible. We would also like to take this opportunity to invite anyone to stop by and visit our facility to take a tour and learn a little history about the food bank and the programs that we currently provide. No appointment is necessary and we can accomodate weekend visits. Hope you can make it.

    • I am so happy that YOU are happy!! Hopefully we can make a small difference in feeding hungry people! I would love to come visit the facility myself—hopefully I can make it there in January!!! Thanks again for the comment and feel free to spread the word!!!

  11. The West Ohio Food Bank does such wonderful things for Northwestern Ohio. I had the pleasure of touring the facility and learning what they do for our community. The amount of people they are helping is unreal. During the holidays many people are thinking about what gifts to give to their families but don’t forget about those less fortunate as well. The hungry can be your co-workers, neighboors, and friends!

    • Samantha–Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! I am very pleased to be able to connect with the West Ohio Food Bank this way and know that each person that takes the time to make a comment this month will be making a small donation toward feeding the hungry folks in Ohio. It is amazing to me how in this world of plenty we still have so many in need. Blessings to you and your family this Christmas! Come back anytime and comment!!! 🙂

  12. what an amazing idea!!

    • Amanda–thanks so much for stopping by!!! I am very excited about this month! The neatest months of contributions have been the months when I have had people like you who are excited about the charity come on over and comment. It makes it more personal than just writing a check somehow ! Thanks again and come back often!

  13. Thank you so much for doing this awesome deed! I pray that people will take a few seconds out of there day and do their part! I also pray for the people who are getting the help, that they wouldn’t go hungry this holiday season. Also that they would recieve love from some one and realize that God loves them unconditionally! May God bless you, Beth Ann and everybody who is leaving comments to help raise the money! You will be blessed beyond belief just for helping even a little bit!
    My ultimate prayer is for everybody to give their hearts to Jesus Christ, to reserve an eternal seat in Heaven! That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.-Romans 10:9
    God bless, Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year 🙂

    • Kristy, Thank you SO MUCH for your sweet comment and for taking the time to do it!!! I am just happy that I have found some of the best “causes” out there to donate to this year. I have been doing this for 9 months now and each month I get a little bit more excited. What makes the difference is the personal connections with people like you who believe in the ministries that I am highlighting. Thanks again. Blessings to you and yours!

  14. Thank you so much for choosing the West Ohio Food Bank as your charity this month! Until I started working here a little over a year ago, I had no idea just how much of a need there is right in our local community. To see how much & how quickly our programs have grown, just in the past year, has been absolutely amazing! Our one program, known as our Backpack program, started with just the local schools in Lima City, but now has branched out to 10+ schools in the surrounding areas in just 1 year! The need is out there & I am so happy that people like yourself are taking the time to address this problem & to help make a difference in many families’ lives. Thank you for your kindness in helping all the organizations that you choose. May God continue to bless you.

    • Alicia–thank YOU so much!!! I am excited when I get to “meet” folks associated with the different charities that I choose! That is the best part!!! The Backpack program sounds like a wonderful way to reach out in the local schools and I realize just how much need there is out there that is yet to be addressed. Thank YOU for all that you do!!!!

  15. Janet Schueler says:

    What a wonderful idea! West Ohio Food Bank serves the Attica Community Food Pantry. Each month, we provide food and personal items for over 50 families in the Attica area. We would not be able to give the amount of food with out the help of WOFB. Christmas Blessings to you and your family.

    • Janet, Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!!! Everyone associated with WOFB has been absolutely wonderful and I am blessed to be involved in this small way! Merry Christmas!

  16. Community UMC has been a long-time supporter of the West Ohio Food Bank. Millions of pounds of food over the last fifteen years have been distributed to folks in need here in Northwest Ohio thanks to all of the business, professional, and church partners who step up as a part of our annual Harvest for the Hungry food drive. Thank you Beth for joining with us, and so many others, to eliminate hunger in Northwest Ohio.

    • So happy to join the ranks of those others, especially those at Community UMC, who support this great food bank. The Harvest for the Hungry food drive is such an awesome thing and I am excited to be a small part of this important ministry!!!

  17. What a great charity choice…..the West Ohio Food Bank has grown into a fantastic facility to help hungry people in northwestern Ohio!! If you can, come to visit on either the packing days or delivery days for “The Big Drop”….once in January and once in February. You can see the many church people from all over the area packing boxes of food items; or you can see the many other volunteers distributing the boxes to the needy (even if it is cold and snowing).

    • Michele!!! Thanks so much for the drop in and the comment. The Big Drop sounds awesome and if I can I will try to be available for that!!! I would absolutely love to be a part of that!!! Come back and comment often—I have lots to say–not always profound but I usually find something to blog about!!! Merry Christmas!

  18. that is a very noble and generous plan. you have all my support.

  19. Beth Ann — This is awesome what you’re doing! I just wrapped up my own food bank fundraiser ($1,115 donated from my blog readers). I’m so excited that they dug deep in only a week’s time and we could make something great happen for people for Christmas. I’m rooting for you and your amazing effort. Go girl, go!

    • That is incredible that you did that!!! I totally missed out on your efforts!!! Gotta pay more attention to my bloggy friends!!!! Thanks so much for your support and your cheering me on!!!! Love it!!!!

  20. trisha helton says:

    Thank you so much for helping others in time of need! You are a very thoughtful person and God will bless you in so many ways

  21. Thanks for supporting WOFB. In my 12 years of food pantry work, the folks there have been wonderful to work with.

  22. Thanks for supporting the WOFB. We recieve a delivery in Wyandot County – about an 1 hour east of Lima, because of the sacrifice of volunteers who go and pick up the food and bring it back to distribute it monthly to dozens of needy families in our county. It is such a blessing to see people willing to work together and serve those in need. Thanks to you Beth Ann for your contribuiton to making the world a better place!

    • Jim, Thanks so much for stopping by!!! I know that organizations like yours take a lot of organization and willing hands to help out, especially at the holidays. I must admit that I get pretty excited when I know that people who need it are being served ! Thanks again for all that YOU do!

  23. Misty Landwehr says:

    I am the executive director of Pioneer Christian Ministries Food Pantry, and I appreciate this Food Bank they are always willing to work with you and for you and always trying to make things more efficient. I have to say that it has been a great pleasure working with these people. I am so thankful that someone took the time and money to donate to this organization. It is wonderful and thank you.

    • Misty,
      Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! It is people like you who understand the mission and importance of getting much needed food to those in need who are the ones who need to be thanked! Your work goes far beyond the actual distribution of the food—you touch people and that is what is the awesome thing. Thank YOU!

  24. cat dunson says:

    this is a very important cause for the West Ohio Food Bank. They serve many people who are struggling in these counties in West Central Ohio. They are a very deserving non-profit and have great people working for them!!!!

  25. thank you so much for your generosity to the West Ohio Food Bank. untill my husband started working there 3 yrs ago i didn’t know of the need in our community. most people don’t think of the amount of food that goes in and out of the food bank every day feeding our community again thank you for your generosity

    • Mel—thank YOU so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. I love all the folks I am meeting that are associated with the Food Bank! It is an awesome group of folks, I can tell!!! Thanks again and Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  26. Hello
    I think what you are doing is great!!!Thank you,thank you ,thank you from my heart for i know first hand what the West Ohio Food Bank does for all these communities.God Bless

    • Thank YOU, Ina, for taking the time to stop by and comment. Love getting to know some of you folks associated with WOFB! Happy to be a teeny part !!! Merry Christmas!

  27. Paul Caskey says:

    Thank you so much for this great Christmas gift! I have worked with Ottawa food pantry for a short time, and have learned so much about the needs in our area. WOFB has helped us help others. This is what our world needs now, people helping one another. Thanks again!!

  28. Super idea. Can’t wait to tell my family about this idea. As a board member for the WOFB, I know this idea and support will go a long way for our community. Thanks.

    • Teresa!! Thank you so much for the comment and for stopping by!!! I am so excited to be helping to support WOFB! What a great place it is!!!! Merry Christmas!

  29. Antonio Rodriguez says:

    What a great cause. I’m so excited you are doing this. Keep up the good work!

    Antonio

  30. Howard Jones says:

    Beth

    What a great cause! Thank you for supporting the West Ohio Food Bank.

    Sincerely,
    Howard

  31. What a great idea, Beth!

  32. Melissa Meyer says:

    I think the West Ohio Food Bank is doing great things in Ohio. Thanks for supporting them!

  33. God Bless You!

  34. Thanks for your contributions to a wonderful cause. Also, thanks to Bryan Bucher for introducing me to you blog. I now have someone new through whom I can travel and eat vicariously.

  35. What you are doing is wonderful! Thanks!

  36. What a wonderful idea! And such a great way to help others …

  37. This is wonderful. I’ve seen firsthand how the WOFB helps some of those who would otherwise “slip through the cracks” – thanks for your generosity and care.

  38. Christmas is over…..but the needy could use help all year long!! Thanks for your willingness to help others.

  39. Wow you are a very special person to care so much,

  40. Lots of people do small things to help others, but I like that this is ongoing and always before us. Thanks Beth Ann! You rock!

I love your comments--each one makes me smile and makes a difference for Comments for a Cause! Thanks!

